9/26 Tiggy AMBG 32 +1 86 + 4 130 +9 308 PMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

Tiggy really surprised me last night and this morning. the last night drop wasnt a total surprise as he has done that before, but what amazed me was he dropped again afterward. I tested at PMPS+7 last night and since it had been 2 hours since his HC and post the +6 mark, I assumed he would surf or increase. So I went to work and left DH to manage.

Boy was I wrong!! 5 hours later at AMBG he was only 32! No idea how much he dropped prior to that. Showed no symptoms that DH noticed anyway - not even particularly hungry. DH then gave HC and knowing him, gave more than needed as well. Wonder if this was all because I increased by 1 full unit??

Now I expect a big big bounce for days. Tonite he gets a dose decrease.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/26 Tiggy AMBG 32 +1 86 + 4 130 +9 308

Yowza, Tiggy! :shock: Don't scare us like that! I would say that going from 5 to 6 units seems like too big of an increase. I don't know if there's a guideline for where you can start to increase by 0.5u. Ugh on that bounce, I hope he comes down soon.
Liz
 
Re: 9/26 Tiggy AMBG 32 +1 86 + 4 130 +9 308

Wow that is a fast bounce. I guess Tiggy was tellling you what he thinks of 6U? Maybe one good thing from this is that perhaps you won't need to go back up to 9U?

DH did a great job with this, you are so lucky he can help with that. Fortunately Tiggy doesn't seem to get symptomatic on those numbers thus far. Neither does Chip.

But my question is does Tiggy let you know when he goes that low? At nearly the precise moment Chip drops below 40 he always lets me know, he'll even wake me up.

I can calibrate the meters on it since Chip asks for food with a certain inpatient tone at that same point. We've developed really good communication.

So the new dose is 5.5U and see where Tiggy is in about 10 cycles or so? Unless the reduction doesn't hold.
 
Re: 9/26 Tiggy AMBG 32 +1 86 + 4 130 +9 308

DH is a great guy but I would like him to test a little more.. But hey, nobody is perfect.

Nope, Tiggy doesn't say anything. Sometimes he gets super hungry but last night and this morning he was totally normal.

Bounce/ impact of skipped shot/too much HC.. Wonder when he will come down. 10 cycles sounds good.. Maybe even I wait the 10 even if he drops low again within 6cycles as he had too many reductions too fast last time?i really hope he doesn't go way back up the ladder...

Chips numbers look great for the most part.. Can't seem to get below 2.25 though eh? Ever thought about trying lantus?

Wendy
 
Re: 9/26 Tiggy AMBG 32 +1 86 + 4 130 +9 308

Funny you mention Lantus. if I had affordable fresh Lantus always available I might switch back. :smile:

I've long had this regret that I changed Chip to Levemir before giving Lantus a chance.

I think 10 cycles is about right. Perhaps Tiggy should only have one full reduction every 10 cycles. It may be the depot attempting to earn that same reduction again and again for about that long.
 
I know, too far. I was planning to order Levemir from Canada when they were still doing that, but I decided I need to get it locally for the sake of viability.

Hey we have abundant cheap test strips, and a decent selection of affordable syringes. :-D
 
I don't know, I mean the pens last 30 days out the fridge right? In the fridge it's 6 months, if my math is right that's a factor of 5. So 2 days shipping out the fridge is 2 weeks lost viability? And at 5 pens for $100...
 
Lantus likley holds up better from what I've seen. But there seem to be issues with Levemir.

I see many changing FlexPens more often than SoloStar pens.

With Levemir it's difficult to know if your pen is good or bad. Unless you cat is well regulated, because of the lag between the dose and the action.
 
Zoiks on that AMPS this morning! That probably was the jump to 6 units. You were getting in the 70's with 5U. With Neko, I hang around a dose a little longer if it's getting her into 70's. Think about what nadir you want Tiggy to have, and dose to get there. At one point you were talking about doing the 3 drops below 50 or one below 40 for earning a reduction. That's another possibility.

In Canada, Levemir is a bit more expensive than Lantus. $120 for 5 cartridges instead of $100 for Lantus. I've read than opened Lev cartridges last 42 days and I did get a bit more than that from Lantus.
@Dale - I border hop and get cheap strips too. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top