9/26 Ozy PMPS-55,+1-89,+2-92,+3.5-122

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345

It's an epidemic. I'm calling on the Low Numbers Fairy to pay us a call.

558333767_113065.gif
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345

I hope Ozy clears the bounce soon. Hopefully you can take advantage of it and do something for yourself.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121

We went out for a drive to a newly opened state park....and got caught in rush hour traffic on the way home. I don't think I am every leaving the house again.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

He is at 65 and he is falling... What should I do?

And I fed him. Maybe I shouldn't have.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

Yes, I can stall. Every time I shot anything close to this low he went below 50 and this is a new reduction as of today.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

Remember, no food for two hours before the shot. If the number is falling, or too low to shoot, then wait 30 minutes, dont feed or shoot and retest in 30. You want to see if it rises without food.

But now you fed and have to wait for that to wear off. If you do stall for 30 minutes it could just be the food... Sienne.. how do you feel about a reduced dose or even a skip? S

Wendy
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

don't sweat it.... you'll know next time.... :mrgreen:
it's always a learning experience here. dontchaknow?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

Thanks, Sienne. That is what I will do. Sorry for the trouble.

We went out today... our first outing of more than three hours since he was diagnosed. He was so high this morning (358) when we left and then was 121 when we returned...
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

Donaleen, you and Ozy are doing great! I try to follow along but everything is moving so fast!

Just wanted to pop in and say hi while you are waiting for +13. :thumbup
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

Hi, Dale! Thanks. Isn't it all Ozy, though? All I do is try to keep up. I am amazed by his numbers in the last few weeks.

Did you see that I took him to the chiropractor and it made a huge difference? He walks better and is more engaged with the rest of us. I think it was mostly the laser treatment.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

I know how you feel Donaleen! China earned a reduction last night with a 33, and then bounced to 218 this morning...and at PMPS was 69...I really expected her to bounce even higher, or take a little longer to clear it, but she had something else in mind.

I had to stall for an hour to make sure she was headed up before I shot too, and will be sure to get some other tests in later since she routinely nadirs late in the cycle.

Good luck with Ozy tonight! If you decide to shoot, we may both be having PJ parties!!
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-65 Shoot this???

donaleen and Ozy said:
...Did you see that I took him to the chiropractor and it made a huge difference? He walks better and is more engaged with the rest of us. I think it was mostly the laser treatment.
Saw that, isn't it great! Ozy is close in age to Chip. He might be part raccoon (or thinks he is?) but I just don't like to see Ozy feeling bad. Glad that apparently helped.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55 Shoot this???

He has dropped 10 points despite the fact that I fed him an hour ago...isn't this odd?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55 Shoot this???

Hmmm...that is interesting, but it may also be good news and saying Ozy's pancreas is producing insulin!

Since you just did a reduction, the other possibility is that you're still seeing some shed action from the higher dose
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55 Shoot this???

To me, that shows that his numbers were still dropping when you fed him, and might have dropped even lower had you not fed him?
You still haven't shot, right?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55 Shoot this???

Sit tight. I'm asking for a 2nd or 3rd opinion, but I can't say "SHOOT!!!" based on these numbers. If it was .5u, I might say "OK, shoot and I'll stay up with you", but I still can't wrap my head around shooting 2.75u on a mid-green number myself... I don't know that it makes a difference what the dose is, but in my mind, it sure seems like it matters. :lol:

Let's see if we can get some more experienced eyes to take a peek?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Has it been 1/2 hour since your last test? If so, could you retest again and see where he's going?

Carl - shooting low is a state of mind and knowing your cat. Take a look at Pepper (&Nancy)'s SS time for shooting large doses on low 50's. Not something I'd do if I didn't have idea where he is going next.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

I did test again at +1.5 and he is at 58. No change, but at least not falling.

There are three instances when I shot close to this low and in every case he went below 50.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Wendy,
I understand, know your cat, and yes, a state of mind. Just that my mind never had to go there with PZI (although I did shoot green numbers a couple times with Bob, but they were small doses).

That's why I ask for 2nd opinions when this kind of question comes up. :smile: Thanks for popping in!
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Donaleen,

Are you able to stay up tonight?
Do you feel comfortable shooting this low?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

I see a couple of options. But first, Ozy just earned a deduction so wouldn't be earning another one tonight so he has nothing to prove. Another thing, you've already delayed 1.5 hours, so that does act like a partial reduction already for this cycle.

option 1 - wait 1/2 hour and see where he is going. This works if you can afford to be 2 hours off schedule. His food should be wearing off and you'll get a true picture of where he's at.

option 2 - shoot his new dose and feed him higher carb food. Not necessarily HC, but if you had MC or some 8-10% LC around. This preserves the shed and the delay you done already does act a bit like a reduction already.

other options are to skip or shoot a reduced dose.

What would you feel comfortable with?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

I can do any of the options. I want to do the one that is best for Ozy.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

It is now 2 hours past PMBG and he is at 55, down 10 points from PMBG.

So, what is the BEST thing for Ozy?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

We must be at or about +14. That sounds like you've already done that extra half hour delay. If he's still surfing or gone up, I'd give him his regular dose. Just feed some of his meal and reserve the rest for later. You might want to feed higher carb later if you have it.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Sorry, missed your last post. Looks like he's been at or about 55 for the last 1.5 hours? How long ago did he eat and how much?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

donaleen and Ozy said:
It is now 2 hours past PMBG and he is at 55, down 10 points from PMBG.

So, what is the BEST thing for Ozy?

thanks
donaleen
The best thing for Ozzy? IMHO, to not lose momentum, and to keep the depot from draining. So if you are okay with it, then shooting and feeding like Wendy suggested would be best. And I can stay up for a couple hours if you need company. ;-)
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

It's been 2 hours and 15 minutes since he last ate. He ate his regular meal of Wellness (1.5 oz).

Yes, I can shoot and keep him safe. He has gone from 4 units to 2.5 in the last few weeks, earning a new reduction every few days. I know how to keep him going. I think he isn't as affected by food as some kitties and yesterday I gave him 2tsp of food and .5 tsp of maple syrup. That brought him up. Did it cause his bounce? Do not know.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Shooting now.... 2.5 units, two hours and 10 minutes late. Will also feed him a little higher carb (his food with maple syrup added). How much food and how much maple syrup is the question.

And thanks Wendy and Carl for being there with me. And thanks for offering to stay up Carl. Very kind of you.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

just a couple of drops of syrup and light on the food...you don't want to fill him up now in case you need him to eat later
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Half a meal's worth? In case you need to feed later and want him to be hungry.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Laughing..... he is always hungry. But, yes, I fed him a small meal. Thanks for being there. It's nice to have the support. I appreciate it.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

You're welcome. :smile: I don't have to work until Sunday, so no problem with a late night. I don't really have to be anywhere until tomorrow night at 7 when I go count turtle eggs. ;-)
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMBG-65,+1-55,+1.5- Shoot thi

Was the food he had over 2 hours ago part of his regular PM food? Just wondering if what you feed now is above and beyond what he's expecting. We do want him to be a little hungry for later. I'd just put a small drop of syrup on. You don't want HC, just a little higher LC.

A favor to ask on the SS. Your PMPS is now 55. Could you put the rest of the numbers stacked in the +11 slot? That'll let people reading the SS know that you delayed and by how much. List it as 65@12; 55@12.5;58@13;55@13.5

And congratulations on that shot! That's mighty fine shooting. I've only gone as low s 64.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-55 (delayed 2 hours)

Tomorrow is an easy day for me, too. How does one count turtle eggs? Where do you find them to count them is what I mean?
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-55 (delayed 2 hours)

donaleen and Ozy said:
Tomorrow is an easy day for me, too. How does one count turtle eggs? Where do you find them to count them is what I mean?
Oh, well, three days after a loggerhead nest hatches out (you can tell because there's dozens of tracks and a hole in the sand where most of them got out), we dig up the nest by hand. Then you count all the hatched eggs, and the unhatched ones and occasionally there are one or more babies down there that didn't make it out with the rest of the crowd. So you set them down on the sand, and get to watch them crawl to the ocean. That's how I get all the baby turtle pics I have posted on my Flickr page. Those were all "stragglers" found during nest inventories I've been to this summer.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-55 (delayed 2 hours)

Wendy... the food at PMPS was his normal meal. The food at +14 is also pretty normal since I usually feed him before I go to bed, which is usually about now. His next normal feeding is in about three hours. I am trying to feed him six meals, one every four hours except I cheat a little at night so I can not get up as many times.

I will change the SS as requested. I didn't know what to do....


Carl, fascinating about the turtles. I did spend some time on your Flickr page. Wonderful photos.

thanks again for the support
donaleen
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-55 (delayed 2 hours)

Nice shooting, Donaleen!!! :thumbup
I'm sure you'll do fine.
You've been doing so well with Ozy going low lately.
 
Re: 9/26 Ozy AMPS-345,+9.5-121,PMPS-55 (delayed 2 hours)

The cool thing about nest inventories is that they are open to the public. I get to see lots of nests, and momma's and babies, since I live here near the beach. But for most visitors, it's a once-in-a-lifetime" experience. You never really get used to it or take them for granted - at least I haven't over the past 9 or 10 years - but there's nothing like watching a person, especially a child, "light up" when they get to see a baby turtle for the first, and maybe only, time of their lives. It's a pretty special thing to witness.

So you're planning on what, a +1 and +2?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top