9/26 Olive AMPS 594/ She's doing beautifully despite it

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-25-olive-amps-301.235908/

She's now 356+3 and Olive, despite her high numbers is doing fantastic! She had us cracking up this morning at +3. I had gone to bed right after her injection to catch some sleep until +3 and she came into the bedroom and sat on the floor at the foot of the bed and looked at me wanting her food she always gets at +3. Next thing I know she comes closer and is halfway up the bed on the floor and stares at me and the vocalizes. Next thing I know she's sitting on her haunches and pawing at the bed and vocalizes. She had us smiling. Next thing we know she's jumped onto the bed and comes right up to us and stares like "I don't seem to be getting through to you...I want food and I want it NOW." It was hysterical. Since she ate she's been flying through the house happy as a lark and vocalizing as she does. It absolutely warms our hearts to see her so happy this morning.

I've also decided on a new game of trial and error when it comes to her food. I want to test a theory. I've made 2 batches of food. One I've called FHC which stands for First Half of the Cycle and is a 50/50 mix of Raw/DM. I will give this ratio for the FIRST HALF of the CYCLE. The other batch of food I call LHC which stands for LAST HALF of the CYCLE and it's a mix of 75% Raw to 25% DM. This is the ratio I'll give for the entire last half of the cycle. I want to see if by feeding these ratios at their given times will effect her BG rises and drops. So I will stick with this testing period for 2-3 days and see what happens. I'm also wondering if an insulin increase might not be needed. She's on 0.5 (half unit) and I just wonder if her levels would stop peaking so high at injection times if her insulin was increased, but it might be too soon to really know yet. Now that she's for positive getting the proper insulin amount each day I know it will take a little while to see things work as they should have been all this time. She's only been receiving the injections via the Relion syringes since the 2nd cycle on the 22nd. Already I'm seeing her numbers doing better after those first 3 cycles in the black.
 
Food experiments can take a couple weeks to see results, you may not be able to make a conclusion after a few days.

Love the vocalizing!
Oh, okay. I didn't know that. So I'll continue this food experiment for at least a few weeks then. Would this hold true for her insulin amount as well during this trial period? I ask because I'm just wondering if she's getting enough insulin since she's always bouncing so high at the end of the cycle that I'm not remotely able to shoot at a low number.
 
Would this hold true for her insulin amount as well during this trial period?
No, just follow the SLGS guidelines on holding the dose for 7 days before evaluating it. You are right that it does look like she's not getting very good duration.
 
Back
Top