9/26 Michael amps 304 +4 341 pmps 336 + 2.5 308

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304

Good morning, Paula! ~O)

Have you been using the same vial since Michael was diagnosed in March? If so, that's been about 6 months, and I think that's probably pushing the "limits" of the insulin. I don't recall seeing where people had good luck using insulin that was older than that. (Hopefully others can chime in with their experiences, though.) We were fortunate that Jersey went into remission while she was still on the first vial, so I can't personally say that the new vial will be more potent. From what I've read in others' posts, though, the new insulin typically does pack more of a punch.

Shelly Jersey looks so much like my martin (who is playing on the rainbow bridge) that I have to take a second look. (Martin was Michael's brother, litter-mate, companion, and best friend. Michael & I miss him very much)
Jersey is a very pretty cat who has a very pretty name.

Thanks, Paula. It's so hard when they leave us. I still get teary-eyed sometimes when I think of kitties who left me many, many years ago. They're just such a huge part of our lives. And there's just something about those black-and-white kitties, isn't there?

I hope Michael puts on more dress blues for you today (or even a blue dress)! ;-)
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304

Thanks, Shelly.
He was diagnosed in March, but didn't start the insulin until mid April of this year. ( he was on pills which didn't work.) So it has been almost 6 mos that M has been on insulin. I will get a new vial next week.
I wish he would regulate. I'm very worried about neroupathy setting in. His hasn't lost much weight,it has been staying around 14.8 lbs., but I notice he is losing muscle mass around his hips. Any thoughts :?:
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304

And when you do a dose increase you may not see results for couple days due to the depot needing to fill.

Maybe instead of a vial you could get a pen.
There is a coupon that makes the cost only $25, maybe someone that has done this can post a link to the coupon, and the steps on the correct way to proceed. I have read that some people run into problems with the coupon being told that is only for humans.
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304

ryanms3030 said:
I have been getting Lantus pens at Target who has been selling me a single pen at a time and honoring coupon from the internet so it's been costing $25 each pen so price is not a problem. Worlds better than $200 per vial I was paying every 3 months.
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304

Darin, Thanks for all the info!
Michael is showing (I think) the beginning signs of neuropathy. When I metioned this to the vet she didn't seem overly concerned. The more symptoms I read the more he shows. A vet appt. is in order. Hopefully she will give him a b-12 shot without running a bunch of tests.
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304 +4 341 pmps 336

Michael has been in the pink all day. Wish he would get tired of it.
Any thoughts on B-12 injections for cats with neuropathy :?: side effects :?:
Michael is showing early signs of neuropathy.
Thanks
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304 +4 341 pmps 336

I echo Shelly on having patience when waiting for a dose increase to kick in. Paws crossed Michael heads down soon.

For neuropathy, the recommended b12 is Methyl B12. Zobaline is what is recommended. It's also available at Amazon, just take a look to see which one is cheapest when you order.

There are some ideas for getting cheaper Lantus here. You could also PM Chris/China - she recently found a good price at a Canadian pharmacy that ships to the US.
 
Re: 9/26 Michael amps 304 +4 341 pmps 336

Wendy, thanks for the info.
The vet wants M to have B-12 injections 1Xwk for 6wks. I will ask her about the Zobaline.
About Lantus. I can't decide whether to use the pen or vial. The vial I am use to. The pen, I am a little
bit afraid of it. It looks to me like it would get air bubbles in it (after viewing the video on it) and you would have to disgard it. I didn't quite understand the video. do you inject air into the pen before you draw
or not :?: .
With my challenges, I might have a problem trying to do it right. Any thoughts :?:
Paula I-)
 
It acts just like the vial and is more economic, pen holds 3ml and the vial holds 10ml, with the pen you should be able to use to the last drop. The vial, such as in your situation may be running out of steam and now you have to throw money away.

Dont think of the pen as anything but a different looking vial. Essentially it is a vial in a pen body.

Mine has an air pocket in it, I just recently read in another thread that air tends to enter through the puncture site, it was recommend to keep it up right, I keep mine in a glass.

When you do get another vial/pen I would really keep an eye on his bg's, cause the new will be of full potantcy.
 
the main thing to know with drawing up a dose is that you never inject anything into the insulin itself. the problem with my pen wasn't that it had an air bubble in it, it was that i had accidentally let the syringe contents suck back into the pen. I don't remember now if punkin's numbers got wonky with that pen - i'm thinking they might have, and that was why i stopped using it and then used it for the video. It's been a long time.

With difficulty with your hands, though paula, i think you might be happier if you stick with the vial. When you start a pen you can get this negative pressure that wants to pull the dose back into the pen for the first little while. Once some gets used out of it that stops. But until it stops it's a little disconcerting.

The vit B12 injects can really help a cat. It doesn't help with neuropathy, but it can make a huge difference in their overall feeling good. I gave punkin the B12 shots once a week for several weeks, then gradually increased the time between shots til they were once a month. I kept giving them once a month for the rest of his life.

The Zobaline that Wendy linked for you will help with the neuropathy, though. You don't need a prescription for it. Just order it off of one of the Amazon stores. They are tiny pills and they take a little while to work, but people have reported having the neuropathy reverse and the kitty go back to walking on their toes again. It's not too expensive and i want to say people report that it takes a couple of months to work.
 
Julie, when you talk about the negative pressure, I could start to feel that when I used a few of the terumo thin pro's, but never noticed it with the Walmart brand syringes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top