9/26 Loudogg AMPS 109 +7 66 +9 77 PMPS 86 +3 79 - Yoyo Lou

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
August 14, 2019 Condo

Hello everyone! I cannot believe how long it's been since the last time I posted. I feel awful for letting myself get pulled away from the boards for so long. :oops: Lou's been doing well, for the most part. He earned himself a reduction to 1.25u about a month ago, and he's been stubbornly hanging on to that dose. I'll be honest with you, I am SO tired of dosing off the line. I just want him to either earn a reduction or need an increase so I can dose on the line again, but he'll have good numbers, then lately these blues popping up. No real idea why. He's been within normal range, so nothing super worrisome, but still wildly annoying for a gal who'd love a change, haha.

Civvie Bella has now had 65ish days on the Denamarin. Unfortunately, vomiting has increase and is rarely caused by hairballs lately. She's even added some diarrhea to the mix. I've been monitoring the times that she's vomited and I've seen a pill, and they're usually within 2 hours of giving it to her. Obviously something's going on with her. I wouldn't be surprised if the pill is causing some stomach upset/vomiting on its own. We're not due to bring her back in for repeat bloodwork for another month. I'll bring her in sooner if the symptoms continue to worsen.

I hope you all are having a wonderful evening and your kitties are staying safe out there. Sending hugs and vines to any and all in need! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good to hear from you Amanda, and get a Lou report. You have heard of the "7 days in green earns a reduction"?

Sounds like Bella has some Gi issue going on. Vomiting probably means an ultrasound. Have you been monitoring her food/type of proteins she's eating? Just wondering if allergies are a possibility.
 
I'm glad Lou is doing so well. When I looked at Lou's SS I thought the same thing as Wendy - a cat earns a reduction if they stay in green for 7 days. Do you make sure Bella has food on her stomach before you give the pill? I hope you can figure out what is going on. Sending prayers.
 
Hi Amanda! Glad that Lou is doing so well !

I hope they get to the bottom of Bella’s problem. I have given Denamarin to my dog ,Ricky, two different times. Each time they wanted to retest his liver values 30 days later .

It’s concerning that she vomited a pull up after 2 hours . I would make the vet aware of that if you have’t all ready.
 
Well HELLOOOO Amanda! So good to see an update from you! I'm glad that Lou is seeing such great results...but I'm starting to understand what you mean about the 'same dose'.... if you have a chance look at Luci's SS - she's hitting some nice numbers mid-cycle...frequently...but that's it. Can't seem to shake her bad habit of visiting that lemon tree fairly regularly...

Perhaps as mentioned above you can 'try' for a reducie after 7 days in the green...I'd sure like to do that...but Luci isn't as accommodating as Lou.

Sorry to hear Bella is having such a rough time.

Would love to hear from you more often - but I understand...life can get in the way. Take care and sending you big (((hugs)))! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Amanda, nice to see you! Happy Lou's doing so well and sorry about Bella, I hope you can get that figured out soon. Sending vines to heal Bella. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hope you all have a really nice day! :)
 
Have you seen Lou go 7 days in green on this dose? I wouldn't be surprised if I missed it. :oops: He's never earned a reduction that way, and the longest I've noticed he'll go in all greens is 5 days. I would love if he'd earn himself a reduction, but he's been all over the place (although within normal range) lately. All I can do is fret that I'm not dosing him right, which is silly and exhausting.

Bella has always been a vomiter. Always. And we've been together over a decade. So vomiting has not automatically been something concerning. What is concerning is she's not really vomiting hairballs anymore, which indicates the vomiting is not for her "normal" reason. I haven't been keeping track of the proteins, but perhaps I should be. It's good info for me and the vet. She's never been a picky eater, and she's been turning her nose up at more varieties of food (mostly Friskies). There isn't always a rhyme or reason (like she refused beef for a few days and now has been eating it again). I've been giving Bella the Denamarin 2 hours after food, and an hour before the next meal. I think the research I did said it's supposed to be given on an empty stomach an hour before food to allow the supplement to absorb better. Stupid thing is the pill never seems to be digesting/breaking up in her stomach. The vet wanted her to be in the pill for 90 days before retesting, but the increased vomiting (generally at least once a week, sometimes twice a week). And that's only the ones I've noticed with a pill in the pile. It's increased in the last few weeks or so, so I was going back and forth wondering if I should contact the vet now or wait to see if it increases or gets better. It's always something, isn't it?
 
Back
Top