9/26 Jude | AMPS 109; +3.5 98; PMPS 69; +1 48; +2 55; +3 51; +4 70

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
yesterday's condo

Have a nice day, everyone! Glad the weekend is finally here!

I accidentally left Jude's vial out last night :arghh: For some reason, this batch of syringes tends to have a lot of big bubbles after I draw the insulin, and so I've been leaving the vial out until I shoot in case I need to redraw, and this time I forgot it on the counter. I think I remember people saying that one night isn't usually a problem--am I right?

Safe surfs, kittens!
 
yesterday's condo

Have a nice day, everyone! Glad the weekend is finally here!

I accidentally left Jude's vial out last night :arghh: For some reason, this batch of syringes tends to have a lot of big bubbles after I draw the insulin, and so I've been leaving the vial out until I shoot in case I need to redraw, and this time I forgot it on the counter. I think I remember people saying that one night isn't usually a problem--am I right?

Safe surfs, kittens!
Hi Mary, so sorry about the vial situation! 😢
I’ve read it should be ok too.

(I like pens for that reason, in case a pen goes bad or it dropped and broke, I have more pens, instead of one precious vial. I don’t trust my clumsy self 😜)

Have a safe surf and a great weekend 😻💖🏄‍♂️
 
Nice start Jude! :D Sorry about the insulin. :confused: Hope you all have a great day, Mary and a wonderful weekend ahead.
 
Ahhh, huge bummer about the insulin. 🤦🏻‍♀️ Throwing another "as far as I know;" unless it was really warm inside (I know you're in "F U" level heat land, lol).
 
There were studies done on people who carry their insulin around all day and it showed that the bottles are more durable than we think. And some people travel on planes without it being refrigerated. I've left mine out overnight and dropped it several times and haven't seen a drop in efficacy from that.... The one I left out was getting towards the bottom and didnt need to last me that much longer. Hopefully its wasnt a totally full vial and you can use it all up in the next few weeks.
 
There were studies done on people who carry their insulin around all day and it showed that the bottles are more durable than we think. And some people travel on planes without it being refrigerated. I've left mine out overnight and dropped it several times and haven't seen a drop in efficacy from that.... The one I left out was getting towards the bottom and didnt need to last me that much longer. Hopefully its wasnt a totally full vial and you can use it all up in the next few weeks.
It's an almost brand new bottle; the good news is that I only pay $35/bottle, so it's not a huge loss if it loses efficacy.
 
Jude's PMPS sent me to the board to check on what to do with a lower than normal preshot :nailbiting: :p Even over a year at this FD thing, and I still get nervy with lower preshots (and I know 69 isn't that low, but it's definitely lower than normal for us). I shot. I always think of champions like @Seth&Bell, and that gives me courage.
 
I wonder if cats, like humans, can get cranky with low bg. Tonight the normally always gentle Jude got very irritated/aggravated with me as I picked him up to test at +3 (and left me with some nasty scratches). His bg is low, and has been all evening. I’ve been restricting his food to a couple tsps each hr because I’m worried he will get too full. He normally grazes and is allowed to eat when and what he wants, but I’ve been restricting tonight because of the low (and persistently low) numbers. So I’m wondering if this highly unusual behavior is a result of him feeling hangry. Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
I think your vial is working just fine! 🤣🤣. My Neko was not a good example to go by. With the acromegaly, she was almost always hangry, regardless of numbers. She'd often park in front of the fridge when low - good hint!

What percent HC are you using? It's early in the cycle so insulin effect is at it's strongest. Might need a little bit more of a carb boost.
 
I think your vial is working just fine! 🤣🤣. My Neko was not a good example to go by. With the acromegaly, she was almost always hangry, regardless of numbers. She'd often park in front of the fridge when low - good hint!

What percent HC are you using? It's early in the cycle so insulin effect is at it's strongest. Might need a little bit more of a carb boost.
I started off with a bit of 17-18 since he was in the 40s, and then I switched to 15 once he started going up. I was trying to limit the amount but still get the boost. At + 3 (after he scratched the dickens out of me), I went ahead and gave him a couple of tsps of 15 along with a good amt of his LC. He’s going up now—it’s well past his nadir, but I’ll keep an eye on him.
 
I started off with a bit of 17-18 since he was in the 40s, and then I switched to 15 once he started going up. I was trying to limit the amount but still get the boost. At + 3 (after he scratched the dickens out of me), I went ahead and gave him a couple of tsps of 15 along with a good amt of his LC. He’s going up now—it’s well past his nadir, but I’ll keep an eye on him.
Sorry for the extra work last night, Mary. Plus the scratches incurred.
I hope the rest of the night was manageable 🫂😻🌊
 
Back
Top