9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 470

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
[http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79784]JL 9/25[/url]

We are back in green and trying to surf but seem to hitting the dips at the moment. Waiting for the rise. Put on the BOS and now they are starting to shake. I hope he goes up soon. Has had good bit of food. Mostly LC. Gave him 1 spoonful of HC about 15 minutes. Waiting for reaction.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 eyes ??

With that BG this early in the cycle, I would test again in about 20 minutes. Hope the HC helps him up or at least surf.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54 ??

That's okay. I think I'd like to see the HC bring him up just a little more. How about another teaspoon?
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54 ??

surfing = staying at a certain range of numbers for an extended period of time. ( If you were asking what surfing is, of course)

"Surfing the greens" is what you hope to see, where JL stays in the 50-70 range for a while. So you feed as needed, but not too much, in order to keep him in safe numbers for as long as he'll stay there. Too much food, too many carbs, and he starts climbing. Fifties are perfect! It is when they show up early in the cycle that you need to pay close attention that he doesn't decide to keep on going down. If he goes below 50, then you break out the gravy and HC food. Right now, the numbers look great. You can test in 20-30 minutes. It'll take that long for the food you've already given him to show up as BG on your meter.

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54 ??

Thanks you two.

DH - who was working at home today - gave me this wcr today. Around JL's +7 he apparently got a wild hair and started thunderously (my word) running up and down hall. He must have done this multiple times cause DH cannot be moved when working. Anyway, DH finally decided to visibly check out the situation. JL had a dingleberry stuck to his hiney... JL was running in attempt to dislodge it. JL will often run with excited relief after he poops. I guess he thought if he kept running it would go away. After DH removed it and gave JL a snack, JL went to sleep.

From time to time, JL has a bad habit of trying to eat the carpet off of a scratching post? Has anyone else experienced this. Post now removed. Why was he doing this?
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54 ??

There is a condition called "pica" that can appear in cats:
http://pets.webmd.com/cats/guide/unusual-cat-cravings
What caught my eye is this part:
Medical problems: Cat pica is also associated with feline leukemia and feline immunodeficiency virus, and it may be triggered by conditions like diabetes or brain tumors.
Interesting reading.
Did you ever treat the post with catnip? It might be something as simple as that rather than "something wrong".

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

+3.75 45. Gave another spoonful of HC food. BOS starting to rust..
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

It's okay. You may want to give just the gravy from the HC, that's where most of the carbs are anyway, and giving just the gravy is better so he won't get too full, as you may be feeding and testing and feeding and testing for awhile.
Hope you have some chocolate or some ice cream for yourself.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

I guess I can try and reduce his dose again. This 45 is with food..

What happens metabolically when kitty starts to think about healing process? How do I know it is healing and not too much insulin? Probably an idiot question about now, but curious..
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

Shannan,
They're made of stainless steel....they never rust!


I just realized this is the first time you've given a full dose on a green PS number. Dyana sent me a message saying you get this too:


Test again in 20 or 30?

Carl
 

Attachments

  • bos.jpg
    bos.jpg
    4 KB · Views: 783
  • _BOS award5-1.gif
    _BOS award5-1.gif
    494.4 KB · Views: 791
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

What happens metabolically when kitty starts to think about healing process?

This might help?
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Remission
Proposed Mechanism for Feline Diabetic Remission
Steve and Jock propose the following mechanism for remission in diabetic felines. This hypothesis relies on three premises:
1. Damaged feline pancreas can regenerate in 8-12 weeks, as livers are generally already accepted to do.

2. Hyperglycemia temporarily suppresses most insulin production in cats (as per Hodgkins and later also Rand[citation needed]).

3. Glucose toxicity plus amyloidosis permanently damage pancreatic beta cells[8]

If these three are all proven, then a mechanism suggests itself:

Beta cells are originally suppressed by some transient condition (such as high steroid dose, insulin resistance or overly high carbohydrate diet).
Consequent insulin shortage causes hyperglycemia, which by premise 2 suppresses beta cells and stops insulin production, keeping condition diabetic.
Glucose toxicity, by premise 3, damages pancreas, including newly regenerated cells, and prevents recovery.
Insulin therapy + low-carb diet keeps blood euglycemic for 24 hours out of 24 over a few days allowing insulin production to resume, though insulin resistance from damaged tissue remains.
Continuing euglycemia from insulin therapy and low-carb diet allows oxide-injured tissue to heal, reducing insulin resistance, leading to reduction in insulin dose.
Long-term euglycemia from Insulin therapy + low-carb diet over 8-12 weeks stops toxic oxidization of regenerating pancreatic cells, allowing more undamaged beta cells to produce insulin.
Required basal insulin supplementation drops to zero when newly-regenerated pancreas gradually reaches about 50% capacity, though bolus supplementation may still be needed in high-carb diet -- so no such diet should be attempted.
Pancreas, if unstressed by further blood sugar spikes, may continue to recover lost capacity as new cells regenerate.
Proving this mechanism might require studies to prove premise 1 and reinforce premise 2. Premise 3 is adequately shown, and the conclusion, that a low-carb diet plus careful slow-acting basal insulin supplementation, slowly decreased over 8-12 weeks, produces remission in more than half of newly-diagnosed cats, is shown by Rand & Marshall.
Note: According to Dr. Danielle Gunn-Moore and (she says) Dr. Jacquie Rand, these points "clearly describe the currently accepted hypothesis for DM remission in cats".
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

Carl & Bob said:
Shannan,
They're made of stainless steel....they never rust!

They never rust ... Excellent!!!

Goodness JL, don't go all crazy now, let things settle down a bit, ok?
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc ampa 210 PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45

Shannan,
On JL's spreadsheet, at the top left, it says "alpha trak meter", but on his profile page, it says "Relion Confirm". You are using the Relion now, correct?

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46

Too funny!!! LOL here. Obviously, I need more stainless cleaner.

JL had been on this train for almost 16 weeks. Maybe healing can happen for him.

Lisa, you know JL... He is a big drama king..
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46

I guess JL was tired of this dose. Congrats on the reduction and just keep doing what you're doing. Test and feed to bring the numbers up.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46

Yes, using Relion Confirm. Spent extra money on BOS ..... no strips. :idea:
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46

Glad to confirm you're using the Confirm ;-) On an AT, these numbers would be pretty scary since it usually reads higher than a human meter.
No strips? You mean for the AT (I hope)?
Did you give more gravy at +4?
Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46

I gave him some more food at +3.75. No more hc yet.
I have lots of strips for relion confirm. Ordered the 200+ last time. Have a few left for the AT. Will be testing again in a moment. Should have read "not strips".
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 5

+4.5 = 55, still surfing :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc PMPS 98 +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 5

That's great to see!



Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

+5= 40, gave more food. Ff gravy Lovers roasted turkey
Seriously, up, down, up, down? Did not realize he had a trampoline down in green land. Thought they were discarded at the gate.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

snorton said:
Seriously, up, down, up, down? Did not realize he had a trampoline down in green land. Thought they were discarded at the gate.

Trampolines are reissued when kitty insists on burrowing into the muck at the bottom of the green lagoon.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

It seems like when they go low early in the cycle, this can happen for a few hours until you get past nadir. Hoping this feeding pushes him up to stay (but not too far JL!)

The other thing to consider is that he didn't really drop a great deal. Yes, 40s and 50s are low but still safe, and they get your attention. But he started the cycle under 100, so it isn't like he's cliff diving like some kitties do. This is just a really good response to the dose.

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

Just got home from work. Must eat dinner and then if Carl needs to go, I can stay with you, Shannan.

BBL. Good work!
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

What will happen when he finds a school of catfish in that muck???

JL - Oh my, what big whiskers you have
Catfish - Better to scratch you with
JL = OMG, bong out of lagoon.

Hope it is a little jump, however, not sure what I will do in am if he stays in lagoon muck. I have to go to work tomorrow
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +2.5 50 +3 54+3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +6 40

He might not bounce to the ceiling. He's been under the pink floor for close to 24 hours. The more he lives on the blue and green floors, the more he gets used to it. And he didn't drop like a rock, it was a slow slide.

That said, if you see a red AMPS, my theory is all blown to hell and back! It won't be the first time my crystal ball fails. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

+6 - 57
Just trying plan ahead a little. Cannot be here to watch him tomorrow. He is relaxing right now. Enjoying the food crack.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

Shot time is 5am eastern?
We can send out PMs to the early birds to keep an eye out for updates. Dyana, I think, and probably Janie Jane will be up and about by then.

Nice that he decided to come up above 50. How long can you last tonight, Shannan?

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

I am going to try and get 1 more and then head off to sleep land. He has food in the kitchen, but will need to take his self in there. I have been spoiling him tonight. Dinner in bed.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

In my next life, I think I want to be a sugarcat, provided my beans are members of FDMB. Not a bad life!

I'll be around for the next update,
Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

+6.25=56
He is Holding for now. Sleep for me.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

Food out, right? Don't be afraid to set the alarm for a quick check...

I'll make sure to let people know to look for updates at AMPS time. Great job, Shannan (and Jean Luc!)

Carl
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +3.75 45 +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57

Whew, Jean Luc is really working that juice! Congrats on the reducie!
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 47

Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 470. Ketones appear negative.

1.5 or 1.25? I cannot be around to test him today.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 47

I just got a +11 of 473 on J.D. so are cats are playing on the same floor.

Um, you can do either. You can shoot the earned reduction now, if you want. Or, you can shoot through the bounce.

What would make you feel more comfortable?
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 47

Wow.... Maybe it is the change in season.
1.25 will make me more confortable as I cannot monitor. Hope J.D. comes back down.
I will start new thread. # is proably up as JL has eaten. Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 9/26 Jean Luc +4 46 +4.5 55 +5 40 +5.5 47 +6 57 +11.5 47

Shannan, well done last cycle! You could go with one last shot of 1.5u and do what we call "shooting through the bounce" and then take the reduction on the next cycle. This often helps clear bounces a bit more effectively.

Dyana - thoughts?

Hope this helps! Have the flu - back to bed.
Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top