? 9/26 Ivy AMPS 378, +2.25 221, +3 190, +7.5 146, +10 142, PMPS 151, +1 117, +2 198 Late Drop/Dose?

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-libre-3-84-4-79-contour-reduce-dose.281921/
Good morning.

Im taking reduction this am down to 2.5 units, per SLGS.
Ivy dropped low, for her, at pmps and then after insulin shot and continued to drop.
She stayed low all night until finally a bump up at +6.

She lingered in the “Lo” readings on the Libre all last night, cross checked severs times with ear pricks on the Contour meter.
*Lowest tested was 79 on Contour, so I lowered her dose for this am cycle.
This is the second reduction in 2 days.
Any ideas why she’s dropping so low, for her, all of a sudden?

Also wondering If I should reduce her carbs at this time? @Angela & Cleo your thoughts?
 
Good morning Staci!
Good luck with the reduction!
It must have been a stressful evening. I hate seeing "Lo" - I have seen it with Mikan a few times.
Every time, all my hair stands right up (so it feels) and I retest right away - usually ending up with some number, equally worrisome.
Hope Ivy settles down with the new dose! :bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
Good luck with the reduction!
It must have been a stressful evening. I hate seeing "Lo" - I have seen it with Mikan a few times.
Every time, all my hair stands right up (so it feels) and I retest right away - usually ending up with some number, equally worrisome.
Hope Ivy settles down with the new dose! :bighug:
Hi Kit, yep, Super stressful. Especially at 11 pm and 12 am, when you are already exhausted.
I retested also just to be sure and it was accurate. And she just lingered in the “Lo” reading for hours.
Hoping for a calmer day here. I hope you and Mikan have a calm day :bighug:
 
Congrats on the reduction.
Not sure what the exact reason could be but I suspect she's feeling better overall :cat:. Maybe having some freedom to roam around after getting the all clear on her leg is making her feel better.
How are the 5Ps, peeing pooping playing preening and purring?
It also could be that she's more carb sensitive than you thought. And lowering her carb intake may mean less insulin. Just stay the course and take reductions when earned with SLGS. :)
 
Congrats on the reduction.
Not sure what the exact reason could be but I suspect she's feeling better overall :cat:. Maybe having some freedom to roam around after getting the all clear on her leg is making her feel better.
How are the 5Ps, peeing pooping playing preening and purring?
It also could be that she's more carb sensitive than you thought. And lowering her carb intake may mean less insulin. Just stay the course and take reductions when earned with SLGS. :)
She’s definitely feeling better overall. You should see her go. She’s reclaiming her old spots now that she’s allowed to roam.
5P’s are good. (Purring like a Queen).
Poops have still been a little soft, I think from sedation last week.

Thanks for the advice. Much appreciated. Have a good day with Cleo :bighug:
 
+9 133
+10 142
I fed 2 tsp 12.5% to try to stop her from dropping as we get close to meal & shot time in 1.5 hours.

The past few days she starts a drop around +10 and then keep dropping to very low numbers after pmps. And that’s when she earned 2 reductions.
Is there something else I can do to keep her from dropping late in the cycle into pmps?

If she’s low at pmps, I’m concerned at shooting as she’s dropping, since she just continues to drop until +6 (midnight).
Any suggestions?
 
FYI, Numbers posted today are on her Libre, (therefore higher than handheld meter). However, she’s been dropping low on the Contour meter when double checked to earn reductions past few nights.
 
Pmps was 151 on Libre.
(While, not a low number, it’s a lower pre-shot number for Ivy, so I gave a half dose which came to 1.25 units Lantus.
I’m hoping to drain the depot a bit since we’ve had a couple reductions and the depot seems to be rocking her.
She is dropping at pmps lately dropping late in the afternoon. Then the entire first 1/2 of cycle she’s very low for her and I have to feed every 1/2 hour to keep her numbers up. She’s earned reductions on SLGS 2 times this week.

Is there something otherwise I can do to prevent that late cycle drop?

I’m hoping that tomorrow morning at AMPS she’ll be more stable.
Not sure if I did the right thing, but I figured a reduced dose was better than a skip.

I would love to hear if anybody has any thoughts, thank you.
@Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee @Gill & George @Bandit's Mom
 
HI Staci, I wouldn't consider her BG as dropping at PMPS because all those blues were within meter variance of each other. You've shot similar preshots, one just yesterday at PMPS with a larger dose. Next time perhaps you can stall without feeding and retest to see if the BG is rising on its own. No worries, just keep in mind that the 2.75 and 2.5 depot might still affect the first half of the cycle. Hope you get some rest.
 
HI Staci, I wouldn't consider her BG as dropping at PMPS because all those blues were within meter variance of each other. You've shot similar preshots, one just yesterday at PMPS with a larger dose. Next time perhaps you can stall without feeding and retest to see if the BG is rising on its own. No worries, just keep in mind that the 2.75 and 2.5 depot might still affect the first half of the cycle. Hope you get some rest.
Hi Angela, I know I shot the higher dose yesterday, but it dropped her low enough to earn a reduction. I am trying to avoid another very low night in limes.
And the issue is she drops immediately after pmps and insulin and just keeps going down.
I tried to stall a little tonight and she was just dropping so I decided on the 1/2 dose. When she’s in a downward trend she doesn’t usually come up until much later in her cycle.
But, good to remember stalling if needed.
I do think the larger depots are still in effect.
I guess we have to get past this cycle to see how she does. Hoping for some rest tonight, but assuming not.
Thank you.
 
Back
Top