9/26 Gracie +11.5 223 PMPS 252 +2 287 +4 243 +6 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25919

Recap 9/25:
AMPS 324
dosecrease to 1u
+2 295
+4 275
+6 261
+10 265
PMPS 271
+3 261
+5 261
ni ni

Good morning on this beautiful Sunday morning!! I've enjoyed reading your condos this morning...lots to learn.

We are finally seeing some yellows and I'm happy with Gracie's AMPS. :thumbup hoping for some blues today. We will be watching her closely
since her dosecrease yesterday....

Time for ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) and the morning paper!! Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 Question

Quick question please to help me understand.

In the stickys it says for newbies
Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot values, a reduced dose might be wise

Can someone explain this to me please? We just gave Gracie a dosecrease to 1u yesterday. I asked last night about what to do if her AMPS was
around 200 I was told to shoot 1u for anything above 150 as long as I was comfortable doing so. That made total sense to me as we're finally seeing
some better, more consistent numbers. I often reread the stickys and don't understand the one above for this situation. I don't know why I would have
considered giving her a lower dose even tho her AMPS this morning was 100 below yesterday's. I know..ECID...but I am hoping someday I can
help others as you all are helping me.

Thank you!
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 Question

I would say that info is probably used with someone who is using Lantus and posting here for a week. It presumes that pre-shots are in the high numbers and/or there is no one around to provide some input.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239

Thanks, Sienne....well, we haven't had any numbers over 400 but would you believe we have only been here a week...she started Lantus Sep 18!! Time flies
and it certainly seems like a long time ago. I get what you are saying though...if she'd been in the 400s and then I got 220, I might want to consider a reduced
dose for the same reason that Grace had problems the other day....BG is falling, liver might react to that, and giving same dose might cause a bounce. Is that
right?

Thanks, Michelle...hope you have a great day and some cat napping :-D
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239

I know, Pat....I'm trying to learn patience with this :lol: :lol: :lol: It's that overnight gratification mantra of the new century that's got me :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

DH and I were talking about how flat her line is but I guess in reality isn't that the goal...a flat green line?? It's hard for me to pick up her nadir but maybe she
will give me a nice, smooth blue line and then a nice smooth green line :razz: :razz: Hope springs eternal :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239

nice amps and i'm putting money on the blues today marjorie.
i watched the rest of SNL last night...before K.G. laughed myself to sleep.
it is a beautiful morning here too, feels like the beginning of summer
tom's bg's were back in the pinks this amps, but i'm less freaked out about it since we got a green yesterday. it's just unusual for us to see pink :evil:
updating my ss slowly...makes my eyes crossed after about 20 days worth :lol:
i'll be out today but will check on you later...give me those blues gracie :-D
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239

Morning Marjorie. Nice lower yellow amps Gracie - you can get to blue from here! :RAHCAT Majorie, I've been meaning to tell you how absolutely adorable Gracie is. Love her pics - that little round face and big eyes - I just wanna kiss her! So give her a kiss for me please! :-D
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239

Woooo....she fell faster than I thought...guess we are headed for blue/maybe green? Ok...so should we test at +3 or +4? Also..she seems kinda grumpy/grouchy
today..so unlike her...but she is eating. I typically feed her 2 tsp LC after her test as she is a hungry girl so she's eating that now.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 NOW WHAT??

good, you did just what I was about to suggest, a little low carb food. Can you test in 1/2 hour to see where she is going? Cool. :smile:

Don't worry about the "newbie" rules anymore. Those are more for the people who don't test much or who we don't trust to stay with us and post if they need help. There's no reason why you can't shoot low because you test a lot. You've also been looking at other condos so you can see how people handle situations.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142

Lori...thanks for the post and keeping up with us....Gracie definitely in the blues today. Looks like the beans are gonna be busy today...so much for football DH :lol: :lol:
Did you watch Weekend Update on SNL?? It was HIIILLLLAAARRRIIIIOUUUSSSS. Sorry about Tom Tom...man what is up? Vet trip? Maybe his teefies are worse?

Anne...thank you....Gracie is a little snugglebunny...she's tiny..in fact, our 5 mo old kitten is as tall as she is; she's low to the ground and PLLLUUUSSSHHH. Yes..I kiss her all the time. Hope Muffin will get better soon!

Libby...will recheck on hour and let you know. So now my adrenalin is pumping :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 HELP PLS

excellent!

You fed LC, do you want to add a little gravy to that? These are perfect numbers, but that will slow her down a little since it's early in the cycle. Just a teaspoon on top of her regular LC would be good, then test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 Another ?

How about a little MC gravy...just a little? I want her to surf and not mess too much w/ a good number.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 ??? again

One question....how do know what her current dose is going to do if we "feed the dose" and try to bring her numbers up and how will we know tomorrow
what this dose is doing for her??
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 ??? again

Gracie -- you just got your first green!! Woo hoo!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
You are doing an incredible job Marjorie. Keep up the good work.
I'm still new at this so I don't feel qualified to give dose and feeding advice, but you have some great help in your condo today.
What I can tell you is that when Achilles first started giving us greens I was nervous. Now, it's exciting and rewarding. It's what you want. Try to enjoy it. :-D
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 HELP?

Thanks, Eva....very scared right now because she has dropped so fast. Wish I had your BOS.

Feeding MC gravy...recheck in 15 or 30?
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 HELP?

this is good, the MC should be fine. The idea is to teach her to surf right here. Most cats don't surf at first, they bounce, but we'll try. Hopefully she'll flatten out in the 70's. See you in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 HELP?

Gracie's saying "Look what I can do!" Ok baby girl, that's far enough, no giving mamabean heart attacks! You're doing great Marjorie!
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78

Thanks, Anne. Yes...mama running on coffee and no breffis yet.

Libby..thanks...I appreciate you hanging with me. I'm scared witless :lol: :lol: Thankfully DH is here and Gracie is as cool as cucumber. BTW, the grouchiness
this morning was due to her little brother DH tells me. I really hope she surfs here....what a day that would be. So much for her flat lines, the little devil. My housekeeper calls her a chupacabra....said very lovingly. :twisted:
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78

78 is nothing to be scared about... although I was a complete wreck when I got my 1st green. Have a look at Punk's SS --> see all the green... it's OK. You will learn to love them. :-D
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 MORE HELP

Ok...more MC or do we do HC now? Interestingly, the Contour has always been about 20 over the One touch ultra mini so the contour is reading 87 and one touch 66.
Thanks for help.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 MORE HELP

what % carb is your MC? I would probably give a little HC gravy. Just a little, a tsp or two. The drop has really slowed, now surf, Gracie!
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 NEWS FLASH

*&#&@!! DH made a list of MC foods and went shopping the other day...and we had them in the MC stack that I was feeding gravy from.
When Libby asked what amt of carbs...I went back and checked and instead of getting the Friskies carved tuna/chicken, he got the
prime fillet which is 19% so we've been giving her HC. Geez...I hope she does not bounce big. HOLY CRAPPUS.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 NEWS FLASH

easy to do, marjorie...i was totally screwing up binks pm cycles feeding what i had for some reason...decided was in lC/mc range and it was HC

course he wasnt running green numbers on it...be interested to see what the advisors have to say,..
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 NEWS FLASH

no worries, but that is good to know.

If she bounces, it's not because of the food. She'll be bouncing because she is not used to low numbers, it has nothing to do with the food. I suspect she will bounce high because she hasn't been this low in a long time. It's part of the process, they all do it.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 +4 60

Ok...now I'm getting scared :lol: :lol: Should we add Karo...oh, one other thing. We did take our one touch mini into the vet and compared it to
her Alpha Trak on one of our civvies. He read 60 on the ultra touch and 80 on her AT. So I'm wondering if the ultra touch is reading low...I've heard
the Contour is accurate at lower numbers.....how do you know because it seems to me that at 60...a difference of 20 is big in what you decide to do???

Should we retest in 15 or 30? Gave her more HC
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 +4 60 HELP

it looks like she is surfing! Either some MC or LC might keep her here.

Human meters do tend to run a little lower than AlphaTrak (up to 30 points at low numbers). Our protocol is designed knowing that most of us use human meters.
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 +4 60 HELP

I think you should test how ever much you like! :mrgreen:
When you get your first greens, it can ease your mind to test more (if cat allows).


I see you were feeding HC during these greens? And still droppin, eh? This is good information for you to have! I think Gracie is suuuuuuuuurfin' :mrgreen: . Just a small snack (tsp or so) of lc/mc might be welcomed by her.

Whats your next number?
 
Re: 9/26 Gracie AMPS 239 +2 142 +2.5 91 +3 78 +3.5 66 +4 60

Ok...I'll let her surf. Giving MC. Will recheck at +5

THANK YOU!!! I could not do this without you Libby...my stomach is in cartwheels :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239+2 142+2.5 91+3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 !

she's still surfing (this is the same number as last time, taking into account meter error). More MC should keep her surfing. You're collecting great data today!
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239+2 142+2.5 91+3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 !

Ok...gave her some right after test. She is very calm, DH is calm, mamabean still slugging down syrup :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71

Ok...a little breathing room for mom. I am thinking I do not feed, recheck her at 5.5 and see if she'll surf this a while? Thanks...hope someone will be around still for a while as we're not even to +6 yet so not sure what she'll do.

Question: When she was at 91 and we gave her some LC, how do we know where this dose will really take her? Did you have me do that because
this is our first venture there (makes total sense). I was just wondering how you know what a specific dose does if you are feeding the dose to keep
her from dropping too low? Also...can we expect this same thing tonight?
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

In part, you feed to slow the drop. This was early in the cycle and rather than have Gracie drop quickly, which would surely produce a bounce, it's a means of slowing down the cycle.

Whether this can be expected tonight largely depends on what her PMPS is. Don't try to predict the future. Cats will definitely do just the opposite (sometimes, maybe, depending on their mood, the alignment of the stars, the barometric pressure, whether you fed them what they really wanted for dinner, etc) because they feel like it.
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

Great work this morning. You will get used to it and soon be disappointed in anything else. :-D I generally give a little LC or MC when I see a fast early drop, it gets a few more carbs into the system to slow things down. Controlling with food is confusing at first, just listen to Libby and Sienne. You'll catch on. Gracie and Binks are keeping her busy this morning or I should say afternoon now. :-D
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

Great info....thank you so much, Sienne. She did great, eh? I'm so proud of her. And thank you all!!
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

Sienne is right, when they drop that fast it can make them bounce really fast too. By feeding, you try to cushion the drop so hopefully they won't bounce quite as drastically. Cats that are new to these numbers tend to plummet then bounce. We want them to drop a little more gradually and try to teach them to surf. Usually they do bounce anyway, but if we repeat the process enough times then the surfs start to get longer and the bounces start to get lower and not last as long.
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

Thanks, Ann....I learned alot about controlling with food this morning...just hope I didn't overdo it...didn't know how Gracie would respond and she kept
dropping despite HC...what a ride Thanks for the nanner link!!

Sienne and Libby....thank you both so much...esp Libby while it was hot and heavy. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
What do you recommend for testing now? Should I get a +6 and then leave her alone until +11 or PMPS or let her rest now until a later time..pls advise..I want to
be sure I catch her if her numbers started to drop again. I will hope that this hasn't been too much of a shock for her system.
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 TEST SCHED??

+6 would be good. After that, depending on the number you might be able to let her rest until PS.
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +3 78+3.5 66+4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 ???

:shock: Wow. Catching up on all the excitement here.
With Gracie, it's still too early to tell how she'll respond to dosage changes and LC/MC/HC food.
At some point it will be less OMG OMG OMG and more like "*SIGH* Here we go again", and you'll have a better grip on how to deal with what she throws at you. Here's hoping she's not an unpredictable Drama Kitty!

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 +5.5 91 TEST SCHED??

f921e77e.gif
f921e77e.gif
f921e77e.gif
f921e77e.gif
f921e77e.gif


five stars for marjorie and gracie! beautiful cycle and awesome job managing the curve!
 
Re: 9/26GracieAMPS239 +4 60 +4.5 57 +5 71 +5.5 91 TEST SCHED??

Libby....will check at +6 (3 mins) and post. Thank you....this is me now:

Carolyn and Helene: Thank you so much for your support and encouragement. It means so much esp the first time we are doing this nailbite_smile Hugs to your kitties!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top