? 9/26 Eleanor Dose Help, dropped low

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...dose-increase-amps-256-6-274-pmps-264.165607/

I asked yesterday about increasing to 3.75u AM 9/26 because the 3.50u wasn't doing anything, then same cycle she dropped low. I had to delay her AM shot this morning. I reduced her to 3.25u.
I have no idea what to do about the dose. I don't want to keep her at 3.25 when 3.50 wasn't good, but she did drop to 41 on the 3.50u. That could have been from the subq fluids or who knows.
I am completely wiped out, sick, and consumed with worry about Eleanor.
I haven't updated the SS yet, I know it's hard to tell what going on without the numbers being in the SS, but if anyone can offer advice I would be so grateful.
9/25 PMPS 264
+3 187
+5.5 102 sub q fluids
+7 43 HC
+7.25 41 HC
+7.5 60
+8 90
+8.5 102
+9 132
+11 131
9/26 AMBG 141 stalling
+14 151
+16 171
+18 135 re 146
+20 200 shot 3.25u AM shot turned into PM shot
+3 193 threw up
+6.75 236
 
Last edited:
Julie, can you add the blue question mark prefix to your post? It will get more eyes as it will show quickly that you need a question helped:bighug:
 
If she dropped to 41 on 3.5 then you'll need to keep her at the 3.25 dose for a while. I'd hold the dose for the 7 days per SLGS. Yellow isn't horrible Julie and you need to be able to rest for your own health. It's better she's a little high than too low. Sending lots of vines and prayers for you both.
 
I feel like she would not have dropped to 41 if I had not given her the subq fluids with a BG of 102. I'm pretty certain a similar low happened a couple years ago after fluids given on a lower BG number, but I can't locate the info in my notebook.
I also feel that her numbers have been way too high on the 3.50u. I don't know, I'm so tired.
Eleanor seems to feel fine since her vomit at +3. Good poop, no ketones, played a little bit. Ate.
 
Id try to take the rabbit out and see what happens..mine over the years either do well or puke their guts out on rabbit..no real in between, one or the other ECID has been my experience.
Just my two cents as a fellow Lupus gal, I would go with that 3.25. You can always go up in a week following the SLGS if you need to.

In the mean time that gives you several important things
It gives you a chance to get some essential rest. If you push beyond where lupus lets you a hospital stay will really not help Eleanor! Nobody cares for her like you do.

It also gives you a chance to focus on with a more rested brain, what is making her throw up, sleuthing out if it's food and how to deal with that.

And it also hopefully will give you a chance to actually relax with Eleanor and spend some quality time, play like you said she is doing.
That's so important for healing for both of you.

If you don't get some rest you will be up against that exhaustion wall, and good decisions are never made while pushed up against that wall...this regrettably I know from past kitties. Lupus takes no prisoners as you well know, it's all about trying to slip it for a bit, and that unfortunately has to include restorative rest..we go down to rest kicking and fighting because there is so much we need to see to, but it's ok, we do a better job handling things if we take that rest...

Just my two cents..take what helps, toss the rest..:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm still amazed you care for Eleanor the way you do by yourself when you are in a bad flare..:bighug::bighug:her numbers show that you do it well too...:bighug:
Big hugs
 
Id try to take the rabbit out and see what happens..mine over the years either do well or puke their guts out on rabbit..no real in between, one or the other ECID has been my experience.
Just my two cents as a fellow Lupus gal, I would go with that 3.25. You can always go up in a week following the SLGS if you need to.

In the mean time that gives you several important things
It gives you a chance to get some essential rest. If you push beyond where lupus lets you a hospital stay will really not help Eleanor! Nobody cares for her like you do.

Thank you Les, you are right. It's just so hard for me to flow with this.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...dose-increase-amps-256-6-274-pmps-264.165607/

I asked yesterday about increasing to 3.75u AM 9/26 because the 3.50u wasn't doing anything, then same cycle she dropped low. I had to delay her AM shot this morning. I reduced her to 3.25u.
I have no idea what to do about the dose. I don't want to keep her at 3.25 when 3.50 wasn't good, but she did drop to 41 on the 3.50u. That could have been from the subq fluids or who knows.
I am completely wiped out, sick, and consumed with worry about Eleanor.
I haven't updated the SS yet, I know it's hard to tell what going on without the numbers being in the SS, but if anyone can offer advice I would be so grateful.
9/25 PMPS 264
+3 187
+5.5 102 sub q fluids
+7 43 HC
+7.25 41 HC
+7.5 60
+8 90
+8.5 102
+9 132
+11 131
9/26 AMBG 141 stalling
+14 151
+16 171
+18 135 re 146
+20 200 shot 3.25u
+3 193 threw up
+6.75 236

Have you got anything for nausea, like cerenea, or , uhm, something callled odent something (help from anyone who know what the o drug is, please?P It seems pretty important to keep some food down her. I wonder if she's become dehydrated? That can cause nausea.

I'm looking now for some of our more experienced helpers. I think everyone was watching the debates.
 
I feel like she would not have dropped to 41 if I had not given her the subq fluids with a BG of 102. I'm pretty certain a similar low happened a couple years ago after fluids given on a lower BG number, but I can't locate the info in my notebook.
I also feel that her numbers have been way too high on the 3.50u. I don't know, I'm so tired.
Eleanor seems to feel fine since her vomit at +3. Good poop, no ketones, played a little bit. Ate.

Never heard of fluids affecting BG except in a good way-like if they were dangerously high. Karen is right, by the way, she seems to be in a good range now. Glad to see that Karen was on and helpful.
 
Have you got anything for nausea, like cerenea, or , uhm, something callled odent something (help from anyone who know what the o drug is, please?P It seems pretty important to keep some food down her. I wonder if she's become dehydrated? That can cause nausea.

I'm looking now for some of our more experienced helpers. I think everyone was watching the debates.
Oh darn it, I forgot all about the debates.
I did give her Ondansetron after she threw up, she wasn't acting nauseated
though.
Thank you Kathy.
 
Thank you Les, you are right. It's just so hard for me to flow with this.
It's hard for everyone. I usually take a nice long bath with a ridiculously trivial book, a glass of wine, and very soft music in the back ground. It's my best trick. Dunno what yours is: long leisurely walk, soppy tv movie, phone call to a dear friend? Whatever relaxes. you. Now might just be the time to employ it.
 
It's ok, it's part of the combo of this dance and a hard task master in the lupus. Letting go and rolling is really tough when you are worried you are running on half a tank in the brain dept and when every movement feels like wading thru quicksand....
So true.
I also feel I made bad decisions about my other cats, because I wasn't on top of things, I don't want to do that to Eleanor.
 
Feeling nauseated myself, realized I have not eaten today. Better get on that. I'll check back later.
I'll stick with the reduced dose of 3.25 tonight, I guess.
Sounds like wise thinking on all those!!:bighug::bighug:
Snuggle Eleanor for Me!:bighug::cat: She just looks so incredibly snugly in that picture!!:cat:

ETA: and that 3.25 for the next 7 days too right?:bookworm::):bighug:unless the experts tell you otherwise!:bighug:
 
julie & punkin (ga), post: 1788103, member: 3811"]I can't believe she got into low numbers last night. Thank goodness you followed your gut and tested her in the evening anyway. :eek: I really thought you'd be ok getting a good night's sleep in, but apparently Eleanor wanted your attention.

sending healing vines your way!

I couldn't believe it either. She makes no sense at all.
Do you think it could be because of other health issues, her BG just fluctuates as inflammation or whatever, fluctuates?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top