9/26 Chester's PMPS 400,+3=380,+5=383

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
I don't even know what to say about this amps. He got into the blasted kibble again. Everyday is getting more depressing than the previous one with the little man (and my dog's numbers are way up after being perfect yesterday). Chester is eating and feeling fine...I'm the one moping around.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25883
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422

That dry will do it every time I think hang in there it will get better for you not sure what the answer is on keeping him away from the dry since I do not know how you have things set up at your home come on down from the red floor Chester
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422

Hi Jaye,

I see you are getting discouraged, but honestly, don't be.
Dry kibble in the way happens, unfortunately, and then one day - poof! You'll see ;-)
There are ways around beating that, as Lisa said, depending on what your set up is at home, experiment with moving things around to see what can work for Chester so he doesn't get into the dry kibble. Sometimes you have to sit there and monitor. Or what I call "supervise" the furrballs! :lol:

Hang in there ok?
And don't forget to look at the whole cat
7a52d3a9.gif

They are more than just the numbers, is he better off today than he was some time ago?
I think so! Cuz you're here and he's here and he IS going to be ok! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422

Oh Chester...stopping eating that kibble.....its so tasty though...isn't it....yummo......i sometimes try to get my sister's evo kibble...but my mommabean is right there monitoring my sister's eating....she is actually guarding the food dish...i try to be sneaky and wait until sidney is finished and see if i can scarf any remaining golden nuggets....but my mommabean it too smart for me now....once in a blue moon she will forget...poor thing..she's getting older and little more forgetful....and then i can snag a couple of those delightful kitty crack nuggets....

Jaye....Ronnie is right....It sounds like overall Chester is doing better......just an occasional kitty crack indulgence that can be resolved....you are doing a great job.....making the necessary adjustments along the way to overcome the various bumps in the road that are thrown your way....

Come on Chester....come on down to some yellows today, k? And its OK to have a mopey day...we all do....Just remember...your Chester is doing well and smiling cuz he's feeling good. Smiles are contagious.

smiling_cat_small.jpg
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422

Oh Chester...stopping eating that kibble.....its so tasty though...isn't it....yummo......i sometimes try to get my sister's evo kibble...but my mommabean is right there monitoring my sister's eating....she is actually guarding the food dish...i try to be sneaky and wait until sidney is finished and see if i can scarf any remaining golden nuggets....but my mommabean it too smart for me now....once in a blue moon she will forget...poor thing..she's getting older and little more forgetful....and then i can snag a couple of those delightful kitty crack nuggets....


:lol: puuurrfect! Sneaky kitties!
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422

Don't be discouraged, these kitties are sly we have to work at outwitting them.
Hang in there, things will get better
 
Re: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

Awww, thank you, everybody!

The frustrating part is that Chester getting into the kibble is a completely avoidable thing...which means I'm at fault. Even if that means that I don't control hubby enough! (Although last night it was definitely me).

We keep a bowl of dry kibble on the counter for the others with a HEAVY ceramic lid from the cannister set that just happens to fit perfectly right on top of it if we use the right food bowl. Two days ago it was the wrong bowl and the little man used paws of steel to push it off. Yesterday, it was just a moment's lapse after someone else had begged to eat and I got busy doing something.

My biggest fear is that the kibble will clear his system and I'll find that it wasn't only the kibble, but that his numbers are just out of whack on their own.

Question: (I know it's a dog question in a cat world ;-) but I'm thinking that antibiotics may work on diabetics of both species similarly.) My diabetic dog is having bad numbers after months of beautiful blues. They suspiciously started the day after he went on antibiotics (Clavamox). My vet doesn't think there's corolation, but I'm questioning it. Yesterday, however (still on the antibiotics) he had a beautiful blue day...all day. Today he's back in the 200-300. Makes me wonder if he managed to spit the pill out w/o me seeing it. It's happened before.

I know you should never stop antibiotics part way. However, we only started them because Robbie had a wound over his eye that we couldn't get with antibiotic cream and we were trying to stave off a possible infection. We checked his urine for infection yesterday and he came back perfectly normal.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

I assume you are not planning on getting the "others" to eat canned. As long as there is dry around, they WILL try to have some. that is the nature of the carbo beast.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

What I've seen with kitties is that their numbers if there is an infection may run higher than usual. We typically encourage increasing the insulin in the face of those numbers that may be resulting from an infection. However, once the AB kicks in, you may need to lower the dose quickly. Kasha had that experience with a UTI. That's a good SS to look at.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I assume you are not planning on getting the "others" to eat canned. As long as there is dry around, they WILL try to have some. that is the nature of the carbo beast.

I would love to get them all eating canned. Certainly would cut down on my nail-biting over Chester. I do give them all wet in the morning and evening but with various degrees of success. The problems I'm having are with my CRF kitties, Jill and Otto. Jill is to the point of being on daily sub-Q fluids...Otto, not yet. They eat the dry KD and HATE the wet kd. They'll eat Wellness and the other things Chester eats wet but they're not good for CRF cats. So I'll have the same problem of leaving wet food out that either isn't good for Chester or Jill/Otto.

Confinement is a HUGE problem in my house. It's not a big house, but an old one, so it has lots of little rooms. But at this point we have several disease issues that require mandatory segregation (FIV, FeLv...and a healthy cat that seriously preys on another). So it's a complex, choreographed dance to get the kitties where they'll be safe and happy during day/night. Luckily, Chester gets along with everyone (he's just about the only guy who does in this house) but I worry about having the same problem with wet as I do with dry (keeping the diabetic/CRF separate).

Maybe what I need to do is check out what people here who have cats that have both CRF and diabetes feed their cats. Then I could use that for Otto/Jill and it wouldn't (necessarily...since I as yet have no clue) send Chester through the roof.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

Interesting! I just compared the Hills Prescription K/D renal health canned food (that my cats HATE) with the EVO 95% Turkey and Chicken canned food that they like much better. I'm assuming we're talking about the same size can...(5.5 oz)

EVO protein = 10.58% Hills k/d = 28.9%
EVO carbs = 0.97% Hills k/d = 35.4% :shock:

And, most importantly for my CRF kitties...

EVO phosphorous = 0.23% Hills k/d = 0.38%

Can someone better than me at figuring this out tell me why the Hills k/d is better for my CRF cats than the EVO? Looks to me that I could feed both the CRF kitties and my DB kitty (Chester) the same food and not hurt either one.

From what I understand (could be faulty, of course) it's the phorphorous that is the most harmful to CRF cats and there is a big debate on the benefits of limiting their protein intake...some claiming that it's more harmful than helpful (wasting muscle mass and such).

If Otto/Jill don't like the k/d and the EVO is okay for them, and Chester likes it, too (if he's in the mood)... Have I just found a possible solution to my problem?

I just wrote to Wellness asking for a listing of both carbs and phosphorous for all their canned cat food varieties. Interesting to see if I get a response. Everyone around here generally like the Wellness.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
You might get more response if you post on Health too....good detective work Jaye! :mrgreen:

:-D It's after 12:00 noon and I'm still at the computer in my pajamas! At least I feel as if I've been productive!

Now I'm determined, more than ever, to get rid of that blasted dry K/D. It's over 42% carbs!
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362,+7=359

Drat! The Janet and Binky list has the phosphorous in mg and the Hills sight has it in %. It looks much lower on Janet/Binky list than the Evo. Back to square 1.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362,+7=359

I'll send a link to this condo to people who are more familiar with feeding cats that are diabetic and CRF. HOpefully someone will stop by with help. I know several people use Friskies Special Diet, some use Wellness, and I think there is a Royal Canin kidney food that is low carb.

About Chester's numbers, it looks like the numbers were out of whack before the dry food. I would increase his dose again to try to get him back to blue/green.
 
Re: Question: 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362,+7=359

Libby and Lucy said:
About Chester's numbers, it looks like the numbers were out of whack before the dry food. I would increase his dose again to try to get him back to blue/green.

Hmmm... So you're saying that, looking at his SS, the 1.75 was probably his last "good" dose and that I should toss in the towel on this 1.5 dose, regardless of the kibble issue?
Trouble is, once again I'll be at work tomorrow and he got pretty low on the 1.75 (based on the Alphatrak numbers). Frankly...I'm scared!

Thanks for linking the thread. I appreciate it.
 
Re: DOSE ? 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362,+7=359, PMPS 400

I wish I weren't trying to make this decision on a Sunday night. It would be much easier on a Friday when I have a weekend to monitor him.

How long should I let this kibble clear his system (he's had NONE today...guaranteed!) before I'm looking at a real dose increase. I'm SO scared to do it when I won't be home but it's a full work week...no time off for good behavior.
 
Re: DOSE ? 9/26 Chester's AMPS 422,+4=362,+7=359, PMPS 400

My KB got into dog kibble and had his first pinks in months. I was so disappointed. And it seemed like it took awhile to get back on track (not actually there yet, but hopeful).

You have to be comfortable with leaving him, maybe his AMPS will help you decide on the dose.
 
We're surfing the pinks tonight and it kind of sucks! Tomorrow morning in my 6th cycle on 1.5 (tonight was a fat 1.5 but barely). I'm really tempted to up the dose tomorrow evening (numbers allowing) to 1.75 but that would make for a long night and a nervous day on Tuesday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top