9/26 Checkers. Renal diet advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Checks numbers have been creeping up, the past 2 weeks. This is a long story, so will eliminate much of it.
I'll just recap last post first.
I took him to his usual vet recently because of pain, in his back end. X-rays showed bad disk (degenerative?).
He was put on 12.5mg, of tramadol, which he had a bad reaction to.
That seemed to be an isolated pain event, but doc suggested bloodwork if he had another.

I got lots of info here, about pain meds, in the meantime.

Fri, I took him back, because of the bg numbers climbing into the 200's.

Checks BUN was 53...crea/3.1 Phos normal.

I had a different vet at the same clinic. We had a clash of personalities
New doc pronounced kidney disease. I came home with Purina NF, which he won't eat, unless I flavor it, and then just barely.
Now I feel unwelcome (vivid imagination, I know) going back there, even to Checkers reg vet. Im afraid they will perceive me as uncooperative.
I've had a 14 year relationship with that clinic and all the doc there, except this last one. He mocked me for using the term 'micro drop', for lack of a more precise dosage. It was actually, less than .05u.

He proceeded to lecture me about diabetes, and how it is dosed in 'units', not drops. He would not let me explain why I used that word.

He said a cat is not considered diabetic until his bg is over 300....then got pissy with me, because I reacted with shock. Told me that Checks numbers under 100 bordered on hypo!
I thought later, that he may have been referring to Alpha Trac numbers.

He would not shut up and listen to me. When I demanded he listen to how I've managed Checks diabetes, he was smirking.
II'm sorry this is so long. I wanted to tell what's been going on with Checkers. It's kind of an explanation why I'm not around posting support. My mind is fried with anxiety.


I was told not to give insulin......see what the kidney diet does first.
I'm sure I've left out important details here, trying unsuccessfuly to keep this short.

I suspect we'll be back....after I donated all Checks supplies. *sigh*

I joined Yahoo CRF
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

Barb! DO NOT LET A VET who isnt your reg vet harrass you like that!
He must have felt very threatened to react so smugly--no Doctor is God!
I would suggest trying to contact your reg vet, or maybe find someone new, who is more open...
Dont know much about CRF, but I would research it with your new group--Hope you can find a middle ground
and find answers--It's all for Checkers-I know how you love him, so I know you will do the very Beat for him

Hugs & Love from us! Get Better Checks we lubs you!!
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

((((((((((Oh Barb)))))))))) DO NOT let that vet make you feel bad! I would be writing a letter to the head of the clinic and describe exactly his attitude towards you. Take your time and list everything you were attempting to discuss with him as he cut you off and why. Even if you were wrong (which you weren't!) he was just plain rude! When you go back make it clear that you do not wish to be served by him. They are working for you! I'd also check him out on Angie's list and express your feelings about him there. They owe you an apology because he does not know what he is talking about!

I would look into the Royal Canin renal foods, they have a couple that are as low or lower in Phos. and only 8% or 11% carbs compared to the Purina's 23% carbs and 111 Phos. The Royal Canin is in the new food list and the Purina is in the old.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: and cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon for Checks!

PS could you put Checkers SS back in your signature?
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

Barb. My heart goes out to you. I left Maverick's first vet bawling - this was immediately after his diabetes diagnosis but we converted him to wet food so no insulin. He was such a bully. I was already anxious before that last bad appointment. But it started a full fledged anxiety attack panic type disorder when it comes to vets. I have come to the arm chair diagnosis that most vets have personality disorders. Not all of them as some of them on here have pretty amazing vets. I went through four looking for Maverick's perfect vet. All the ones before it would not listen or open their mines to the Rand protocol. Even though it is a scientifically proven and published protocol. I had to lie to them about the dosing because I didn't have the ability or courage to stand my ground on it but wouldn't consider anything else but the FDMB protocol. I finally found the perfect vet for Maverick and he died the night he met her. No vet ever told me because he was Main Coon that he was genetically predisposed to heart disease which probably caused a blood clot. We were going to get his arthritis treated, check his blood pressure and work on a wellness plan.

If your original vet is on board with the protocol, go back to him and be honest. Tell him you had a big personality clash and it really made you wonder about coming back. But that you trust him (if you do). .. if not keep looking. I met with Maverick's last vet on my own. I talked to her without him and came back. She initially said she didn't think she could take Maverick and I started crying. I don't think I told anyone that. I was so discouraged. I don't cry often but vets seem to be a theme LOL. I heard she was a good vet and it just seemed so hopeless. I was failing him and I had to find him a vet that cared. She promised she would read the printed protocol and read over his spreadsheets while she was on vacation. She called me to say she would be happy to take Maverick as a patient.

I still have huge anxiety dealing with vets. My face flushes, my heart pounds, I avoid making appointments that I should make earlier just so I don't have to deal with them. What I do is I get a pep talk each and every time from the gang here and my friends on the Feline Assisted Feeding site who went through the horrible experience with my first vet with me and my anxiety after. I practice out loud what I am going to say. So talk to Dr. Checkers and practice what you are going to say, and how to bring the conversation back to what you need.

What is really hard for us, we love them so much, is to remember that we are the customer. We are paying them. The white coat doesn't make them an expert in our cats. We know them and have a bond with them. It's an intuition. But they have such power. We have to take the power back. And that you are Checker's advocate. He can't speak for himself. I'm sure he'd tell them off. Maybe even a deep scratch or bite or two.

We find the strength when we have to. Don't run away. Find the courage.
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

I am so sorry that vet was such a poo-poo noggin. That was amazingly unprofessional as well as cold and unfeeling. I agree with the suggestion to contact your regular vet. He/she should want to know how badly the other vet is treating clients (you're not the only one I imagine) because that will drive away business, especially long-terms clients like you. You and Checkers deserve quality care.

Sending out healing energy for Checkers and big hugs for you. :YMHUG:
Liz
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

(((((barb)))))

i'm have nowhere near enough experience with kidney problems to feel confident offering much in the way of suggestions, but one thing i do know is unless it end stage renal failure you can use some of the commercial low carb & lower phosph foods (under 200 - per 100 kcal) diets available. there's also binders... which i have not used and know little about, but there's a whole lot of expertise on this board. others will chime in.

any chance you can make an appointment with one of the vets you like? if checkers' numbers are climbing into the 200s, you'll want him on insulin.

change the subject line in your first post to include something like "renal diets?".



edited to add:
click on alex's link to her ss in my signature. there's a tab at the top that says "LOW CARB/PHOSPH FOODS". it'll take you to a list of foods i've been experimenting with for alex. just this morning, i started working on a separate list of foods that i can combine to pull both carb and phosph numbers down using the foods on that list, but i'm not finished with it yet.
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

You don't have to put up with that

Back 3 yrs ago when Raja was diagnosed that jerk of a vet was overdosing Raja and when I confronted him (he gave me u40 needles for lantus) he got mad and actually called me a ***** to my face. I never went back.....and I decided to voice my displeasure all over the net :D

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

Ann, my ss is gone, because I deleted the whole Google account. I had so much touble with it freezing my computer, it drove me nuts.
I didn't tell the worst part because I was trying to keep it to the medical stuff mostly.

He caused Checkers to bite me :!:

Checkers always growls softly, under his breath, at the vet clinic. He has NEVER turned violent.
He was laying on the table, on a towel I brought to cover his carrier.

To take him to back room to draw blood, the doctor, unexpectedly, flipped the towel totally over Checkers, head and all, and scooped him up, from behind.

Checks didn't know what happened, and started fighting him. He put cat down, and I took towel off his face, and went to calm him. He didn't know it was me, whipped his head around and sunk his teeth into my hand.

Then doc put carrier on table, to get Checks into it. I opened the door, and Checks walked right in, which is all he wanted to do, in the first place.
My reg doc, Dave, was in the back room. They work together. He came out, saw me crying, holding my bloody hand, and gave me a scrubby soaked in soapy iodine solution, to clean my hand.

I know that the whole clinic knows what happened.
Dr Dave, a partner, was conferring in the back room with the one I saw. I can only imagine what Dr Nasty told him.

He called my cat fractious. I would like someone to throw a blanket over his head and body, and try to kidnap him, and see if he doesn't put up a fight.

I need to write out my questions about Checkers care, and plan a consult, with Check reg doc now.

Like Karrie, I have issues talking to doctors. I get flustered, and can't formulate thoughts.
I tend to cry because of the anxiety, and look foolish then.

I write questions out, but can't think beyond the written questions.
 
Re: 9/26 Checkers update not so good

((((barb))))

don't let that one vet have power over you. you have experience with checkers 24/7 for i don't know how long, but your experience trumps that vet. be confident and solid in knowing that you are a Checkers Expert! one of my mantras has been "just because s/he said it, doesn't make it Truth." You know the truth about what works for checkers.

i'd go back to your original vet, if you like them, and forget the bozo. you probably can't teach him anything because he already thinks he knows all. learn about kidney stuff and see what your original vet has to say about checkers labs.

sorry you had such a bad experience. :YMHUG:
 
Oh Barb! That is all so horrible. There is absolutely no excuse for a vet to act like that ever. You are paying them for a service and, as many of us know, we know more than they do 1/2 the time. I would take your time and write out a well thought out letter to the clinic detailing what Mr. Jerk did to you and Checkers. I don't have any experience with kidney issues but am confident that some who do will be along soon.

(((((Barb))))) Definitely write down questions and think about it beforehand. I am a crier when I get upset and I end up looking like I don't know what I am talking about if I don't have it already layed out for me.

Good luck and thinking of you and Checkers!
 
I don't have issues talking to MDs. Basically, any healthcare professional, MD, vet, nurse, etc., has less than 5 min. to put a person at ease and establish a relationship. It they don't have that skill, people are noncompliant with care or vote with their feet.

My attitude with individuals (I was going to use a more colorful term but this is a "G-rated" board) like this is to think about how they would react if they were being treated in the same way by their child's pediatrician. I doubt they would put up with the abuse. I also expect that they would get a kicking and screaming kid if they attempted to tackle a child from behind (to say nothing of a law suit from the parents). I would also suggest you remember that you are paying for services. If you get a bad haircut, you may love the salon but it's highly unlikely that you would make another appointment with the same stylist, If when you call to bring Checkers back in, specify you do not want to see this vet ever again. If enough people make the same comments, he will not be long for the practice. (You can speed up his demise by putting a review on Yelp or other local internet bulletin board.) You are the customer and you are always right.

The other thing to do is to go prepared. I will often very sweetly ask, "What's the research behind your recommendation?" When a vet (or MD) mentions, "Well, that's the way it's done." I will point out that what they are saying runs counter to the published research and then offer a citation or whip out the journal article. (I've been known to carry such things to the vet's office or offer to send an e-mail with the article or citation.) Usually, asking someone to cite the research will shut them down. Remember, this vet has no clue what you do for a living. You could be a research endocrinologist who specializes in diabetes research. The the very least, you are an informed consumer with a whole community of people behind you (some of whom are research geeks) who can provide you with enough information to keep this vet reading for weeks. Beating someone over the head with the research in their field is a very effective strategy -- especially if they haven't a clue that you know that they don't know what they're talking about.

Can you tell how ticked off I am that you were treated this way?

You might want to look at Tanya's site on renal issues.
 
(((((Barb))))) Checkers was safe in biting you. Could you imagine what would have happened if he bit Mr. Nasty? It was called referred aggression - Maverick had it. When he was scared or upset about something he lashed out at me. Tena's Curry and Sid dealt with it also. Curry saw a stray cat and took it out on Sid. Cats!!!! Dr. Nasty is someone you should never ever see again. Make it known. Are you fairly comfortable with Dr. Dave? I wish you had someone that doesn't have vet issues come along and be your rock.

I needed antibiotics with Maverick's bite :lol: I have tiny scars from his teeth - I treasure them now :mrgreen:

We are here to give you pep talks and formulate a plan for each vet visit. Except for Xanax - cognitive therapy does help me. I think Whats the worst that can happen if I speak my mind. Whats the worst that can happen if I don't speak up. I am not always successful. With the vet that I found for Maverick I am good at it. But the new vet for Henry - he really pushes metacam. At the appointment I said I will consider it, but will you be mad at me, if when we come back I'm not okay with it? He said he would be cool. So I didn't run and hide like I wanted to that a vet was pushing metacam. I am confident in my knowledge.

There are two amazing resources along with all the advice you will get here. Tanya's CRF site and the Yahoo CRF board. These boards and sites are dedicated to CRF just like FDMB is dedicated to diabetes. But enough members deal with both that they are probably on the same boards and can guide you.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Feline-CRF-Support/
 
Hi Barb & Checkers, I'm so sorry to hear of your bad experience at the Vet. It's not easy finding a good Vet that will work with us home testing.

Maggie has early stage renal disease, and I, too, need to start looking more at foods listing phosphorus values, etc. I'll be interested in Jill's list that she mentioned she was compiling. Marje gave me this link which has loads of info on renal disease and can be a bit overwhelming at first when you see it, but it has many informative links. You may have already seeen it. Hope it helps and hope the link works, too.

http://www.felinecrf.org/
 
Thank you for much needed encouragement. There is so much I havent said, to try to be consise.
This man would not let me speak. He went on and on lecturing me, letting me know that I knew nothing about the management of feline diabetes. He would not let me get a word in.
At the end of the visit, I snapped at him, "are you going to listen to me?".....he smirked, as he stood there with arms folded in front of him, 'listening', but not hearing. He was totally focused on the fact that I had said "micro drop", instead of .10u.

Sienne, if only I could speak intelligently, as you do. I have always loved the way you are gentle, while reproaching.
I can't do that...I cry. What smartass vet, 5 minutes out of vet school, is going to listen to a grey haired old woman, on the verge of tears, because her beloved cat is sick.

I probably won't go back to that clinic. They were fine, when Checks was young and well. I don't trust them now.
This is a rural clinic, with more experience in cows, than cats.
Even Dr Dave, is more interested in cows than cats.

I made an appt for a consult with a doc, that has 3 cats of her own. She has special accomadations for cats, and I already forgot most of what her office manager said.
He told me on his own, that cats need to be constrained very gently, or words to that effect.

I am organizing years worth of paperwork and test results for Checks, to bring in what's pertinent. I was told to.
Oh Lord, I hope I like her...and she likes me.

Ann, I'm sorry you got that diagnosis for Maggie. Thank you for link.
 
And bring in a copy of the protocol and spreadsheet. I only brought the rand protocol not the tilly one.

I think a new vet might be just what you and Checkers needed. Big hugs for you today Barb. It takes courage to do what you are doing instead of just listening to the bully.
 
Barb:

Send me a PM if you want the journal reprint of the Roomp & Rand article containing the protocol. I'm happy to send along the pdf. It usually goes a long way with vets when they get something from one of "their" journals.

I have a very low tolerance for stupidity in healthcare professionals. From my point of view, stupidity also includes talking down to the people who are paying your salary. Just remember, there's a community of people here who have your back.

Frankly, I'd ask the vet clinic you're using to forward your cats' records to the new vet. There's no reason for you to make yourself nuts pulling everything together. In fact, asking Drs. Dave and Nasty to send the records underscores how your feel about the treatment that both you and Checkers received.
 
Oh, Barb. What a jerk. We've had our share of vet problems and I know the frustration far too well. Even when I'm at my best, I still can get flustered and then my face starts twitching. And then I'm turning red due to the mortification of the facial tick, and, well.... RAR!!!

When I met with new vets for Willie, I found it helpful to not only have questions, but my own talking points prepared.

1. I have educated myself on feline diabetes, consulting with a large number of people with vast experience in the area as well as the latest research in the field. I have selected a protocol that I have followed and will continue to follow to treat Checker's diabetes. You can find information about the protocol in the stack of documents in your hand. I am looking for a vet that is willing to support my choice and that is supportive of the protocol and/or is willing to learn more about it. Part of my decision has been based on the fact that I have a support network for this approach that affords me the ability to get assistance when needed virtually 24/7.

2. I make the dosing decisions for my cat based on the guidelines of the published protocol. I will not be needing continuous bloodwork, fructosamine tests, etc. I am vigilant in hometesting and I record my cat's BG values in a spreadsheet that is available online to you in real time. You also have an up to date copy of the spreadsheet in your hand along with the link for you to check in on my cat at anytime. I welcome any feedback you might have and am always open to hearing your thoughts on how things are going.

3. I am currently feeding my cat X (always love the raw food discussion I have to have with new vets). I have selected this food because it has an appropriate level of carbohydrates and my cat eats it willingly. I am not interested in putting my cat on a prescription diabetes diet at this time.

4. [Bust this one out if you get reactions like the one you did from Dr. Arrogantpants] I expect my veterinarian to listen to my approach and concerns and not dictate how things will be done. I do not appreciate being lectured and will not tolerate this type of behavior nor will I tolerate being bullied. If you cannot treat me and my concerns/questions with respect, then this is just not going to be a good fit for my cat or I.

Throughout the talking points, I'm always sweet as pie, but very clear that I will not be intimidated. I guarantee you that you already know more about FD than probably 90% of the vets out there. Your knowledge empowers you to make good decisions and keep Checkers safe. Just because someone wears a white coat and has some fancy letters behind their name doesn't mean they have any right to treat you disrepectfully.
 
One more thing.... as far as food choices go, I can tell you that both Merrick BG Turkey and Blue Wilderness Duck are much lower in phosphorus than most varieties I've seen on the market. When I'm not feeding Willie raw food, I typically alternate between those two. Do check out Tena's post today about her problems with BG Turkey, though.

The links provided are immensely helpful in dealing with CRF, though there is ALOT to sift through! Marjorie is very knowledgable in this area.
 
Hi, Barb, that is great idea to write down your questions before you go. I know what you mean about not knowing how to respond. I don't have a medical background and it's hard to understand what they are saying, let alone come up with a response. If only Sienne could go with you! Short of that, do you have a friend who could go for moral support? Certainly remember that we are all there with you and Checkers in spirit.
Liz
 
In no way are you uncooperative, in fact you are proactive and obviously very invested in doing what's best for Checkers. This vet should be happy he has someone before him who comes in as informed as you do. If he had a lick of sense he would see how much easier it would be for him to explain things to you.
Your clinic should have no problem whatsoever accommodating your choice of vet. I clash with one vet at the clinic I go to and they never gave me a hard time when I requested I never see her again. They just book me with one of the other wonderful vets there when Tray's regular vet isn't available.

Good luck, I know it's very overwhelming dealing with new issues and new info.
 
(((Barb)))

What a terrible ordeal. I hope that the practice owner does the right thing and deals with you respectfully. Do you have a friend or family member who can go in with you? I would ask for a long appointment without your cat present, so that you don't feel rushed.

I hope that your bite wound is healing OK. I have been badly bitten, and the wound got quite infected, so I know how painful these things can be. Poor Checkers being so frightened like that. Even Bear Man, who was a gentle soul, tried to bite me when he was in distress. It is not uncommon.

Some people have given some links to the feline crf (chronic renal failure) website which is a very good website, but which rivals even FDMB in terms of volume and complexity of information to digest. Kidney disease is a journey, just as the diabetes is, and it will not be all tackled at once. Let it come in slow steps. Vets always recommend the Rx kidney diet, because that it what vets do. Just like they recommend the diabetic diets. While the prescription kidney diets do what they advertise (i.e. they are low protein, low phosphorus, etc,), some are quite high carb, and not all of them are equally palatable. Many people recommend feeding a good quality protein food which is lower in phosphorus. Jill gave you a good short list in her SS to start with, if you can access it. Keep in mind that it doesn't have to be all or nothing at first. Cats prefer gradual change, so start by offering a little of the old food and gradually adding in a bit of the new food. Your vet should absolutely refund any food that your cat will not eat.

I have attached some links (I know, lots of reading) which are excerpted from the feline crf website. That site was my bible during my journey with my two CRF kitties.

This link is a discussion of what to feed. At the end, there are some tables with lists of foods to choose from. Note that the best food for a CRF cat to eat is a food that it will eat!

http://www.felinecrf.org/which_foods.htm

This link gives a general discussion of the philosophy of treating a cat with both CRF and diabetes.

http://www.felinecrf.org/related_diseases.htm#diabetes_diet

I won't bombard you with any more info right now. The vet was wrong. You were mistreated. You have the support of everyone here. And Checkers will be OK. Kidney disease is manageable.
 
oh Barb,
sorry you dealt with a moron of a vet....

the CRF journey is not an easy one but it is manageable...it is not a death sentence....considering where the renal values are at....I have been part of the CRF group for over 3 yrs now and have seen kitties with very high numbers and still have good QOL....

one thing you mention is you were told Checker's phos values were in the normal range....here is a link that talks about that
http://www.felinecrf.org/diagnosis.htm#phosphorus
keep in mind the range includes kittens, as well as healthy cats....so it is misleading....you need to be watchful of those values as you may need to add a binder to keep the phos levels under control....

every food be it renal or regular food does HAVE phos in it...it's part of life....and renal foods are HIGH in carbs....the only one that is not is the Hi-Tor Neo....so since he is a diabetic it will become a balancing act when feeding....but as Linda said...better have an eating cat than a non eating one....

Rocket was Rxed the kidney food...at first he didn't mind it....but shortly after hated it....so i had to return it all...he is on half FF and half Hi-tor Neo....seems to work for him....and to switch things around for him....i give him Friskies....not the best choices for phos values...but he gets the binders with each meal.....

i know you are overwhelmed with much info....but it is one that you will need to know in order to help Checkers on the CRF journey you now embark....

I'm here if you need more info/help/guidance....I have not been on the board cause as you may or may not know....i'm extremely tired and sometimes i wish the day had more hrs in it....but i am here if you need me....you can pm me....

like I told Georgia & Simon with her civvie Cleo....it is scary at first....but you will do just fine and so will Checkers....hang in there.....
 
Thank you all, for the support. I will get through all the links, and start digesting info.
It's gonna be a long haul, as I still can't sit for long periods.

Looks like I'll be starting a new SS, if Checks will be back on insulin. :sad:
Darn, I hate Google. I saved my years worth of SS's . Guess I'll be printing it out for new vet.

Barb
 
Dear Barb & Checkers,

I won't add anything to what everyone else has already said so eloquently. But I thought you might like to know that I switched Rusty to a new vet because I just didn't like the rather rough way our old vet treated him (blaming it on the "fractiousness" of the cat; other friends here who went to that vet had similar issues). Vote with your feet and I know you'll be able to find a vet who will care about Checkers as an individual. I love our new vet. She leaves me alone when it comes to FD. She is gentle and knowledgeable. I hope you will find one like her!

I do hope that all the reading and the CRF support groups will be a help to you. Stu had CRF (among other illnesses) and there is a lot of information out there. Tanya's website is marvellous.

We are thinking of you and sending you many many healing vines for Checks, and be-strong vines for you.

Hugs, :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: , lots of them!

Ella & Rusty
 
You've gotten lots of fabulous advice. All I can add is, well, not much, 'cause - as Sienne said - this is G-rated site. The more I read about Dr Nasty, the angrier I got...what a cruel you-know-what.

Hugs to you...and know that you are doing the best for Checks, no matter what that obnoxious jerk said.

Amy
 
((((((Barb))))) I am so sorry to read of your ordeal with that vet and be sure to keep a eye on that bite I have been bitten many times by cats one my own and many times at the clinic when I was working they get infected very easily I was on antibiotics almost every time I was bitten. You have already been given great advice by everyone so I will just add lots of support and hugs your way hope the new vets works out for you and Checkers :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
(((Barb))) I'm so sorry to get here so late and read all of this. One thing I would add to Christie's list is to tell the vet that YOU are Checker's advocate; you know him best and you are there to look out for him.

Everyone has given you the websites and the links I would give you. They are correct...Tanya's website has a wealth of info but you have to take it in steps. We do not feed a kidney diet; Teddi is allergic to the pork in it and they won't eat it anyway. I'd rather have them happy and eating and use aluminum hydroxide phosphorus binder (it is tasteless). Of course, you don't need to start on a binder right away unless his phosphorus is up.

This is an area where I see alot of vets miss the boat. The reference range for normal for phosphorus includes kittens. Kittens' phosphorus levels are higher. Look at Checker's historical bloodwork and see what his phosphorus is. It should be somewhere between 3.5-4 or so. If you see that it is creeping up and it's getting close to 5, then he needs a binder. Don't let a vet talk you into alternagel. You can get aluminum hydroxide at www.thrivingpets.com. It is much cheaper there (get the powder). But again, he may not need it right now.

Checkers is not far off the number where I would start subq fluids. You want to start them no later than when his creat is 3.5.

Linda is right....CRF is a journey and it can be a very slow one so that is good. Teddi has been really stable with her kidney levels for well over 1-1/2 years now and Gus for about 10 months. Address things a step at a time.

PM me if you have specific questions or I can help you in any way. Sending you hugs and healing vines for Checkers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top