9/26 - AMPS 392 (+24 hrs since last shot) - Adjusting dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Also, as long as he is on the dry food you need to follow the Start Low Go Slow method with increases. That info is below:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

Keep in mind that the curve done at the hospital can be upwards of 100 higher than JoeJoe really was due to stress. That is another reason we encourage CG to do their own test as they really reflect where the numbers are in the absences of stress.

I am glad you can get a mid cycle test. :cat:
 
Yep... I figured that. I'm not jumping the gun or anything to adjust the dose until we get a clear picture of where he goes w/ the 3u AT HOME. I totally get that his curve may have been higher at the hospital. He was pretty unhappy that entire day, even hissed at me when I went down to see him, so I know his numbers had to be elevated. His AMPS was lower this morning than it was that first morning even and it's been his lowest for the 3u doses so far... I'm curious to see how low it can actually go when we get consistent readings.. Well, and not only that, what picture his numbers will paint as we go along.
 
Good job getting that test in last night and this morning Kirsten. Those before bed tests are a good habit to get into as kitties often go lower at night.

Cats really vary how they react at the vet. My civie (non diabetic cat) once registered over 220 at the vet, and 55 the next day at home. Then there's Neko, she's just as likely to dive into lower numbers at the vet.

This post is starting to get a little long. People here will start a new one each day, so we don't have so many message to read through. Next time you post for today, go ahead and start a new post.
 
Good job getting that test in last night and this morning Kirsten. Those before bed tests are a good habit to get into as kitties often go lower at night.

Cats really vary how they react at the vet. My civie (non diabetic cat) once registered over 220 at the vet, and 55 the next day at home. Then there's Neko, she's just as likely to dive into lower numbers at the vet.

This post is starting to get a little long. People here will start a new one each day, so we don't have so many message to read through. Next time you post for today, go ahead and start a new post.

Will do, thank you!!! :bighug:
 
I've just read through the most recent posts (since yesterday morning) and wanted to reassure you that we all get it how overwhelming it is in the beginning. Everyone here started in the same place and it is really overwhelming. That's one reason that so many of us stay around to help teach new people how to take care of their diabetic cats. It's unforgettable, but it also becomes routine before too long. It wasn't very long before I was testing punkin while I had my phone on my shoulder and that was the moment when I thought I've got the hang if it. It only gets easier.

You're doing just fine. It's a process and we all have to go through at our own speed. Hang in there, and hang in here. :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top