OrangeTrioMom
Member Since 2016
Hi all-
I posted on the main forum and need some guidance regarding my cat's insulin dose for tonight.
Joe was diagnosed diabetic on 8/17/2016. At that time, the vet started him on 3U of insulin BID. We started him on Lantus. On 9/1/2016 he did a glucose curve at the hospital where I work (that's also where his doctor is) and it went something like this:
1. Pre-shot AM - 470
2. 4 hours post AM shot - 250
3. Pre-shot PM - 350
At that time, the vet decided to increase his dose to 4U BID. We started him on that and he has been on it since that day. This weekend I chose to do a "curve" at home and here's what I found:
1. Pre-shot AM - 270
2. 4 hours post AM shot - 58
(Gave 1/8 cup Royal Canin Glycobalance and packet of Fancy Feast Broths (1.4 oz) mackerel & vegetables)
At that point, I posted on the boards and have been monitoring him at 15-20 minute intervals since. Here's how it has gone. (I will also note that at one point (measurement #2) I noticed since it was a new glucometer that the code was incorrect. It read "14" and should have read "08." I changed the code & continued the readings):
3. +15 min - 60
4. +15 min - 45 (this is when I changed the code)
(Gave 1 packet of Fancy Feast Broths (1.4 oz.) chicken & vegetables + small amt. of Karo syrup on gums)
5. Immediately following (code change & food) - 71
6. +15 min - 110
7. +15 min - 113
8. +15 min - 103
I am unsure at this point how to proceed with his shot this evening. He is to get it in about 3 hours. Please let me know your thoughts.
(I apologize in advance if I am slow to respond. I am trying to test my cat and study for an exam and respond to posts. Thank you in advance for your patience.)
I posted on the main forum and need some guidance regarding my cat's insulin dose for tonight.
Joe was diagnosed diabetic on 8/17/2016. At that time, the vet started him on 3U of insulin BID. We started him on Lantus. On 9/1/2016 he did a glucose curve at the hospital where I work (that's also where his doctor is) and it went something like this:
1. Pre-shot AM - 470
2. 4 hours post AM shot - 250
3. Pre-shot PM - 350
At that time, the vet decided to increase his dose to 4U BID. We started him on that and he has been on it since that day. This weekend I chose to do a "curve" at home and here's what I found:
1. Pre-shot AM - 270
2. 4 hours post AM shot - 58
(Gave 1/8 cup Royal Canin Glycobalance and packet of Fancy Feast Broths (1.4 oz) mackerel & vegetables)
At that point, I posted on the boards and have been monitoring him at 15-20 minute intervals since. Here's how it has gone. (I will also note that at one point (measurement #2) I noticed since it was a new glucometer that the code was incorrect. It read "14" and should have read "08." I changed the code & continued the readings):
3. +15 min - 60
4. +15 min - 45 (this is when I changed the code)
(Gave 1 packet of Fancy Feast Broths (1.4 oz.) chicken & vegetables + small amt. of Karo syrup on gums)
5. Immediately following (code change & food) - 71
6. +15 min - 110
7. +15 min - 113
8. +15 min - 103
I am unsure at this point how to proceed with his shot this evening. He is to get it in about 3 hours. Please let me know your thoughts.
(I apologize in advance if I am slow to respond. I am trying to test my cat and study for an exam and respond to posts. Thank you in advance for your patience.)
