9/26/21 Squints AMPS HI reading. What do I do

StephanieNJ

Member Since 2021
6am EST HI reading. He ate well. Gave 1.5 units of Lantus. Checked at 630am and still read HI... he is drinking alot of water.... just need some info. Thank you
 
6am EST HI reading. He ate well. Gave 1.5 units of Lantus. Checked at 630am and still read HI... he is drinking alot of water.... just need some info. Thank you

Good morning! Please put the actual number where you wrote HI. Mine was "9/26 Shooter AMPS 388" then later today I will add +6 most likely. When I looked at your ss you wrote that you shot 1.5 but not what the amps number was. Please fill that in. Make sure to get a +2, +4 and +6 or something like that if possible.
 
He is just bouncing from the green he saw a couple of days back. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

Were you able to go through our dosing protocols and pick one that would suit you? We would tailor our dosing advice accordingly.

If you can, it will be good to get some mid cycle tests if you are home over the weekend.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/squints-9-24-21-dosing-question.253414/
 
He is just bouncing from the green he saw a couple of days back. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

Were you able to go through our dosing protocols and pick one that would suit you? We would tailor our dosing advice accordingly.

If you can, it will be good to get some mid cycle tests if you are home over the weekend.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/squints-9-24-21-dosing-question.253414/

739am EST still HI on meter... checked urine...NO ketones... still drinking alot.
I am going to look at my last post for the protocols.
 
Also. My husband and I both work during the week and are unable to test in between. But weekenda we are home, so we can test anytime ...
 
How is Squints acting now -
Good morning! Please put the actual number where you wrote HI.
@Bandit's Mom

The Relion Prime meter registers HI if the BG id greater than 600. So Squints seems very HI, but between being HI at AMPS and eating, are we just waiting for the Lantus to kick in before we see a number?

I only have limited experience and my questions are... Since this looks like part of a bounce, should she just stay the course at 1.5 U Lantus 2 X a day? Does she need to clear the bounce before figuring out whether to increase dosage?

Also @StephanieNJ, It took me a couple of months of testing twice a day before I became more aggressive with testing. Since you both work during the day, you might consider getting some tests at night when you are there. Any additional tests are helpful to see how Squints handles the insulin.
 
Good morning! Please put the actual number where you wrote HI. Mine was "9/26 Shooter AMPS 388" then later today I will add +6 most likely. When I looked at your ss you wrote that you shot 1.5 but not what the amps number was. Please fill that in. Make sure to get a +2, +4 and +6 or something like that if possible.

It didn't give me a number.
 
How is Squints acting now -
@Bandit's Mom

The Relion Prime meter registers HI if the BG id greater than 600. So Squints seems very HI, but between being HI at AMPS and eating, are we just waiting for the Lantus to kick in before we see a number?

I only have limited experience and my questions are... Since this looks like part of a bounce, should she just stay the course at 1.5 U Lantus 2 X a day? Does she need to clear the bounce before figuring out whether to increase dosage?

Also @StephanieNJ, It took me a couple of months of testing twice a day before I became more aggressive with testing. Since you both work during the day, you might consider getting some tests at night when you are there. Any additional tests are helpful to see how Squints handles the insulin.

Actually that was me... thank you for explaining the HI. Sorry to hear Squints is so high. :(
 
Stephanie -

I worked full time when I was treating Gabby's FD. I don't know if this is feasible, but I adjusted my shot time so I could get a test or two before I left the house. If it's not a possibility to adjust shot time, can you get PM cycle tests during the week? Given that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, it's going to be very difficult to know whether Squints' needs a dose reduction if the only time you can get spot checks is over the weekend.

It looks like you just started posting recently. If you've not had a chance to read over the sticky notes at the top of this board, the information may be helpful. In particular, please look over the study note on dosing methods. You may be holding Squints' dose overly long.
 
How is Squints acting now -
@Bandit's Mom

The Relion Prime meter registers HI if the BG id greater than 600. So Squints seems very HI, but between being HI at AMPS and eating, are we just waiting for the Lantus to kick in before we see a number?

I only have limited experience and my questions are... Since this looks like part of a bounce, should she just stay the course at 1.5 U Lantus 2 X a day? Does she need to clear the bounce before figuring out whether to increase dosage?

Also @StephanieNJ, It took me a couple of months of testing twice a day before I became more aggressive with testing. Since you both work during the day, you might consider getting some tests at night when you are there. Any additional tests are helpful to see how Squints handles the insulin.

Squints is acting great! He's his normal self. Sitting with me or next to me, purring. Realizing. He isn't acting in any abnormal way. I am very OCD with him and watching him. I am pretty new to all the home testing. So I am working on learning all the terms for testing. And trying to test more
 
Stephanie -

I worked full time when I was treating Gabby's FD. I don't know if this is feasible, but I adjusted my shot time so I could get a test or two before I left the house. If it's not a possibility to adjust shot time, can you get PM cycle tests during the week? Given that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, it's going to be very difficult to know whether Squints' needs a dose reduction if the only time you can get spot checks is over the weekend.
Stephanie -

I worked full time when I was treating Gabby's FD. I don't know if this is feasible, but I adjusted my shot time so I could get a test or two before I left the house. If it's not a possibility to adjust shot time, can you get PM cycle tests during the week? Given that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, it's going to be very difficult to know whether Squints' needs a dose reduction if the only time you can get spot checks is over the weekend.

I can check before i leave for work since my hubby gives insulin at like 515am... i leave at 8am.
 
That would be great! Getting a test before you leave (e.g., +2) may let you know if numbers are dropping and you need to leave food out. Do you have a timed feeder? It was my best friend when I was treating Gabby.

Also, I edited my post and we cross-posted. Could you take a look at what I added?
 
It looks like you just started posting recently. If you've not had a chance to read over the sticky notes at the top of this board, the information may be helpful. In particular, please look over the study note on dosing methods. You may be holding Squints' dose overly long.

I remember it took me months before I committed to following a protocol (SLGS=Start low go slow or TR=tight regulation - there is a sticky note on these methods), and I have always kicked myself for being slow on that. Then when I did switch, I found I had to switch vets (twice) to get one that really was willing to allow me to be the decision-maker on Zoots! diabetes. He reviewed my spreadsheet and read the info on FDMB. He didn't like my testing 6-8 times a day, but he certainly used the results ;). Zoot! has been in remission for well over a year now - thanks in large part to this group.

@StephanieNJ it is awesome that you are OCD about Squints! Good luck on this journey.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top