StephanieNJ
Member Since 2021
6am EST HI reading. He ate well. Gave 1.5 units of Lantus. Checked at 630am and still read HI... he is drinking alot of water.... just need some info. Thank you
6am EST HI reading. He ate well. Gave 1.5 units of Lantus. Checked at 630am and still read HI... he is drinking alot of water.... just need some info. Thank you
He is just bouncing from the green he saw a couple of days back. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.
Were you able to go through our dosing protocols and pick one that would suit you? We would tailor our dosing advice accordingly.
If you can, it will be good to get some mid cycle tests if you are home over the weekend.
Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/squints-9-24-21-dosing-question.253414/
@Bandit's MomGood morning! Please put the actual number where you wrote HI.
Good morning! Please put the actual number where you wrote HI. Mine was "9/26 Shooter AMPS 388" then later today I will add +6 most likely. When I looked at your ss you wrote that you shot 1.5 but not what the amps number was. Please fill that in. Make sure to get a +2, +4 and +6 or something like that if possible.
How is Squints acting now -
@Bandit's Mom
The Relion Prime meter registers HI if the BG id greater than 600. So Squints seems very HI, but between being HI at AMPS and eating, are we just waiting for the Lantus to kick in before we see a number?
I only have limited experience and my questions are... Since this looks like part of a bounce, should she just stay the course at 1.5 U Lantus 2 X a day? Does she need to clear the bounce before figuring out whether to increase dosage?
Also @StephanieNJ, It took me a couple of months of testing twice a day before I became more aggressive with testing. Since you both work during the day, you might consider getting some tests at night when you are there. Any additional tests are helpful to see how Squints handles the insulin.
How is Squints acting now -
@Bandit's Mom
The Relion Prime meter registers HI if the BG id greater than 600. So Squints seems very HI, but between being HI at AMPS and eating, are we just waiting for the Lantus to kick in before we see a number?
I only have limited experience and my questions are... Since this looks like part of a bounce, should she just stay the course at 1.5 U Lantus 2 X a day? Does she need to clear the bounce before figuring out whether to increase dosage?
Also @StephanieNJ, It took me a couple of months of testing twice a day before I became more aggressive with testing. Since you both work during the day, you might consider getting some tests at night when you are there. Any additional tests are helpful to see how Squints handles the insulin.
Stephanie -
I worked full time when I was treating Gabby's FD. I don't know if this is feasible, but I adjusted my shot time so I could get a test or two before I left the house. If it's not a possibility to adjust shot time, can you get PM cycle tests during the week? Given that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, it's going to be very difficult to know whether Squints' needs a dose reduction if the only time you can get spot checks is over the weekend.
Stephanie -
I worked full time when I was treating Gabby's FD. I don't know if this is feasible, but I adjusted my shot time so I could get a test or two before I left the house. If it's not a possibility to adjust shot time, can you get PM cycle tests during the week? Given that Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, it's going to be very difficult to know whether Squints' needs a dose reduction if the only time you can get spot checks is over the weekend.
It looks like you just started posting recently. If you've not had a chance to read over the sticky notes at the top of this board, the information may be helpful. In particular, please look over the study note on dosing methods. You may be holding Squints' dose overly long.