9/26/2018 Bailey AMPS 173.After food 180.never shot blue. PM Surf PMPS 290 +3 133 +4 67 +7 69 +9 110

Rosie & Bailey

Member Since 2018
Good mornng.

Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-296-6-236-9-183-pmps-118-1-162-2-292.203631/

We had an exciting night with Bailey surfing for a while last night.

Bailey ate 45 minutes ago so not sure if I can still shoot. Also, thinking of giving her .1 just to help her along so her BG doesn't shoot up so high. She's a roller coaster.

I clearly don't know what I'm doing so looking for a little advice.

Thank you to the FDMB family last night for your help! I couldn't have gotten through the night without you!
 
Last edited:
Well, in my panic last night I went through almost all of my test strip and Walmart is 30 minutes away so I think I will not be shooting blue today after all. I don't earn the BOS award, not just yet.

First lesson learned. Always, always have a lot of extra test strips around.
Second lesson. Know thy food. I lost precious time last night looking up how many carbs there are in crave cat food (apparently zero), Friskies Pate Ocean Whitefish and Tuna (4 carbs)
Third lesson. Set multiple alarms when you finally decide to sleep after dealing with low numbers. You just might sleep through the first one.
Fourth lesson. I can handle low numbers with the support of my FDMB family.

Thank you all so much again. :bighug:
 
Sorry o got called vaway, neighbours with another emergency.

You would have been ok to shoot, and had I been on line o would have encouraged it. If you look at the 179 in isolation then it seems low, bit it's more about where the numbers are heading, you can see that he is trending up from your +8, Lantus will not typically onset till around +2, addbyo that any food bump and last night's shot duration coming to an end, will all contribute to a BG that's on its way up, so by shooting on time you might have been able to level him back down. We like to say shoot low to stay low.

I totally understand why you didn't, it's good to have someone with experience just look over the numbers gor you when it's your first time shooting lower, you'll get your BOS soon enough. Besides any time you shoot lower than you are accustomed to its good to be sure you're all stocked up.

From a data point of view, you might want to get a +2, that way you can see what happens when you don't shoot and hrs had a low ps that's on the rise, it'll help give you confidencevwhen you next face a blue ps, try not to worry if numbers go up, he will recover from the skipped shot and get back on track before you know it.
 
Thanks. I hope your neighbors are ok.

I'm kind of regretting not shooting, but I just couldn't bring myself to do it without the safety net of testing strips. I realize that, I don't need to keep confirming my numbers with so many strips. If I hadn't panicked and used so many, I would have been more confident.

I will get a +2 and learn from the experience.

I will stock up today so I can be better prepared. I think she could go into remission, and my fear is holding her back.
 
I'm kind of regretting not shooting, but I just couldn't bring myself to do it without the safety net of testing strips.
Absolutely, I used to keep 50 strips in my hypo kit at all times so I didn't run out.
will stock up today so I can be better prepared. I think she could go into remission, and my fear is holding her back
Nonsense we have all freaked out skipped shots, loaded our kitties full of carb, George ended up a sticky mess the first time he hit green, his face and paws were so smothered in honey I'm sure it affected his BG for days LOL:oops::joyful:
The fact that you're here, testingand learning what it is always is what will give him the chance of getting into remission. It's a lot to take in.
. I hope your neighbors are ok
Thanks they're fine, they're elderly amber have at least one 'emergency' a week. They were in a panic over nothing.

Of to the shops, catch u later.
I
 
@Beck and Grandpa
I didn't see that one last night, but Bailey's food isn't on that one either.
I know we found it on a chart somewhere when she was first diagnosed, but I could not find it at all last night.

I finally found it on this website: http://catfooddb.com/product/crave/Chicken+Paté

The first page that came up said 28% carbs, which lead me to wonder what am I doing to this poor cat before realizing that number is for the dry food. The wet food is 0 carbs.

I like the idea of labeling the can of food, especially the ones that will be used when dealing with low numbers. Thanks for the suggestion.
 
Yes, this is the one you suggested, and I used it for the Friskies information.
I didn't find Crave on there, and the other one I just fed this morning, Pure Balance Salmon Recipe isn't on there either.

What's worse, it looks like Pure Balance is made by Walmart, and I can't find nutritional information anywhere so I don't know how many carbs I fed her this morning.

Still looking, though.
 
Back
Top