9/25 Toby's PMS=369 +5=293 +7=318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Hey, we are starting in the pink today, Better than seeing red. Wishing you and your fur babies a wonderful day. Peg and Toby
P.S. neg. ketones
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's AMS=364+3=384+7=340

Here's the link to yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125830

That's great news on the ketones, Peg. And you're right - those pinks aren't fun to wake up to, but that's a lot better than the reds over the past several days.

I know you're frustrated seeing these consistently high numbers. Hang in there. You really are doing a great job with Toby; his body is just fighting your efforts right now. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's AMS=364+3=384+7=340

Toby didn't move much today PMS are 369 so pretty much stayed the same. At least no reds today. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's PMS=369

36 hours since he last saw red, so progress. Paws crossed for a peak of yellow tonight.
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's PMS=369

Hi Peg and Toby, I have not visited your condo before- just wanted to say hi and to wish you well with the dosecrease. It is hard to see the high numbers, I know trust me! :roll: I know it's doubly hard to have other issues as well as FD, hugs to you both! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's PMS=369

Hey we hit a yellow at +5=293 . Just barely made it but we are taking it. Hope we continue down. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's PMS=369

First yellow in 4 days, too!

I'm wondering about you increasing his dose every 4 cycles for a bit, Peg, and have asked for the opinion of a couple of others. You may need to be more aggressive to get on top of his numbers. The Tilly version of the protocol has this option for cats with sustained high nadirs.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

I'm mentioning this because if we go that route, i would mean increasing tomorrow's pm dose and i just want to give you time to think about if that's something you'd want to do.
 
Re: 9/25 Toby's PMS=369 +5=293 A Yellow!!!

hey Peg
you got a yellow. woo hoo. dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
believe me, i know how exciting that is.
 
Well the yellow was short lived but, still in the pinks. Does it take some cats longer to respond to the dose change? I know I said it before but when he was on the PZI it would take him most time 10 to 12 days to respond to a dose change. I know this is different but wondering if it could take him a little longer to respond? You folks would know better than I. It seems he responds at first then goes to higher numbers again. Should He responded right off to this increase? He has gotten in the pinks longer this time. Really don't know what to do. Peg and Toby
 
Hi there :cool:

Peg and Toby said:
Does it take some cats longer to respond to the dose change?
Yes - ECID
Best not to sit on a dose that is not showing action too long, particularly for a kitty that was throwing ketones less than 3 weeks ago.
It would be nice to see him lose the red, as well as the pink.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top