9/25 Taffy amps 277, pmps 332, +4 313

Status
Not open for further replies.

taffysmom

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=105128

Reading this morning (9/26) 300
Woke up to hairball on floor and diarrhea in the box. Maintenance was in yesterday and had another guest pop in which I know got her stressed and hopefully the reason behind the runny poo.
She also knocked the battery out of the auto feeder so she didn't get her midnight snack but had 3 1/4 cans for the day
I have packing tape over it now hoping that will keep it in place.
 
I'm curious I thought I saw it somewhere but can't find it now. What exactly are you feeding her?

Also looking at her spreadsheet she doesn't seem to be responding to Lantus at all. Regardless of the dose her numbers remain the same. So one of three things could be happening.Either she was started at too high of a dose in the very beginning and is being overdosed (too much insulin can look like too little). This would be my most likely suspect. Or Lantus isn't the right insulin for her and she might do better on Levemir or PZI. Or lastly she has underlying health issues such as Acro.

I think if she was mine I would try to eliminate the first two before testing for Acro or IAA.

But before you can safely test for the first theory, you need to be ready to test for ketones often. But it is also the easiest to eliminate as a cause for the high numbers. Since you simply dial her back to 1u hold for a week while testing for ketones like crazy and if you see even a trace you go right back up. If that doesn't give you better numbers, then try a different insulin. And really as high of a dose as she is on at the moment and the fact she already has a bad attitude I would be looking into switching to Levemir anyhow. Lantus stings at the higher dose plus some cats get very tense on Lantus. My Autumn was one of those. The difference in her personality has been like day and night. On Lantus I feared for my body parts and the other furkids safety. Now that she is on Levemir she is the sweetest girl around.

If neither reducing the dose or switching insulins gives you decent numbers then I would start looking for other health issues.

Just my two cents worth on how I would handle her if she was mine based on my experience with my last 3 sugar cats and little over three years of basically rehabilitating FD cats as all of mine were adopted as diabetics so they were in horrendous shape when I got them.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
big THANK YOU for that info. I've contemplated starting over at 1 unit but wasn't sure what kind of effect it would have on her.
I am feeding her fancy feast classics - beef, chicken or turkey - strictly since Sept 4
During 2012 she ate hill's and royal canin for crf cats b/c my other cat had that and vets told me it was fine for both. When Syndey passed In Feb, I put taffy back on fancy feast classics (they both ate that before) and free feeding dry (also as before) After her initial diagnosis, vet told me not to switch diet. When I moved to Philly 2 weeks later, the new vet told me to take away dry and feed m/d. Did that for a couple of weeks and then I found this board and got rid of the m/d and back to fancy feast.
Her pee clumps in the litter box have dropped from about 6-7/day pre insulin to 3 per day when she went to 4 units - not sure if that is relevant info. She was still peeing a lot on the lower doses and somehow I remember the change of 4 clumps per day to 3 clumps per day after she was bumped to 4 units.
Taffy is ok with the shots. She doesn't flinch or try to go after me (anymore) - same with testing. As long as she is eating while I am doing it she doesn't even notice.
Since I got her nails trimmed and am not chasing her around anymore she has been pretty relaxed this week. Even got in my lap a few times.
I will go buy some aquarium gravel this weekend or look into other ways for testing the ketones. I tried the little aluminum pan and she just peed around it - don't think she liked foreign object in her box. And I can't really seem to catch the right time when she goes to do her business.
Sometimes she pees high on box and the urine will pool on the sides but of course she hasn't done that at all this week.
Its very possible she is an acro cat. She has a thick neck, big head and just big overall for a female and not in a fat way. Her nails are also huge and grow like crazy. But I am with you on ruling out the others first and maybe switching insulin as from what I've read there is nothing that could be done for an acro cat that I am willing to put my cat or myself through.
 
I'm always in favor of eliminating the easy things first...lol.

Seriously both my Autumn and Maxwell are BIG cats and by appearance Maxwell would look like an Acro he has a roman nose, a pointed head and huge feet yet he has been OTJ for the last 3years. Autumn also has a thick neck and at one time huge paws but whoever declawed her butchered her front paws so they remind me of those Chinese women that have had their feet bound.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
awe..poor thing. My other cat was declawed but I did that back in the 90s when I thought it was ok to do..not anymore..will never do that to another animal.
I will get the litter box stuff this weekend but will wait until I am back from my trip on 10/9 to drop her down to 1 unit so I will be around to watch her.
My husband will give her shots but not able to test for the other (ears or otherwise) He literally pukes every time he has to clean the box so he will only do it once a day vs my 2 or more times a day.
I've been stressing ever since I found out I have to go on this trip that he will give her the right dose at the right times - his schedule is crazy and busy and I really don't want to come home to a sick (or worse, dead) cat.
 
Hi Scarlett,

I believe I would do those things in a little different order. Do the acro/IAA tests first to rule those out before you reduce the dose. If Taffy tests positive for either, then you don't want to lower the dose. If both are negative/inconclusive then at that point you might consider other options. Those tests really aren't very expensive. I don't believe the dose looks too high to me, since that's almost exactly what Chip was looking like before his dose was high enough for a breakthrough. In spite of the fact that the current dose might not have been arrived at properly according to protocol. But I defer to more experience eyes on that. Definitely get started regularly testing for ketones no matter what.

I tried the "rebound check" lowering Chips dose and almost at once I saw pink on the ketone strips. Totally freaked out. Fortunately Mel noticed and told me to (systematically) crank the juice back up in a hurry.

I suspect it may be significant that you noted less/smaller pee clumps as you increased the dose. That might suggest the numbers were even higher at the lower doses. Before experimenting with a reboot to 1.0U, I personally would want to ask Jill & Alex or Libby and Lucy (likely the two most experienced still posting occasionally on the forum) to take a look first. It may be VERY dangerous (and expensive?) to drop a "high dose" cat from 6U to 1U, if something even very simple goes awry at the same time.

What thinks you MommaOfMuse? Perhaps check with Jill or Libby first before rebooting? I guess I've seen too many expensive DKA's out of nowhere (including Chip) so I'm more cautious about reducing these days. :smile:
 
Maybe see if you can find a highschool student interested in veterinary science, possible in Scouts or a church youth group, to come help with litterbox patrol while you're out.
 
ugh! this is the only issue I have with being on here..different advise from different people just leaves me confused on what I should do.
But I definitely appreciate it and welcome it :) and because our cats don't speak English it is trial and error
I am not going to change anything until I get back from my trip - at least that gives me a little over a week to figure it out.
Also when I get back I am taking taffy back to the vet so will get her opinion as well..then maybe I can figure out what to do next - as much as I would like to do a "reboot" it scares the crap out of me. I was thinking maybe a drop to 3 units for a week to see how she would read but once again -- not going to do anything until I get more opinions and when I get back from trip.
I do know 1 person who may be able to come check the litter box - but she is the only person I know here. Wish I was back in the burgh where I had a huge list of peeps to call on to check on things for me.
Thanks again! :)
 
That is why we are a peer review board because we aren't vets and can only speak from our own experience. And one thing my own cats have taught me is ECID. What worked for Maxwell didn't work for Autumn or Musette and vise versa. Musette went into DKA at normal bg readings and passed away due to untreated anemia so even when you do every thing right you can still end up with expensive vet bills...sigh
Ultimately you know Taffy the best and you hold the syringe.

I try never to tell anyone you must do this or that I simply give opinions with the pros and cons of those actions and let the care giver decide what is the next step.

I've personally been told never to reduce on high numbers but that was exactly what Autumn needed. It wasn't until I tried it that I gained control of her diabetes, but again what worked for Autumn may not work for Taffy.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
taffysmom said:
...I am not going to change anything until I get back from my trip - at least that gives me a little over a week to figure it out.
Also when I get back I am taking taffy back to the vet so will get her opinion as well..then maybe I can figure out what to do next - as much as I would like to do a "reboot" it scares the crap out of me. I was thinking maybe a drop to 3 units for a week to see how she would read but once again -- not going to do anything until I get more opinions and when I get back from trip.
That sounds like a good plan. :-D

You want to know all the pros and cons before you go into something like that. I didn't even have the benefit of a vet, and when I posted here the consensus was to reduce the dose to stop the bouncing. I was definitely advised to check for ketones constantly, but I never thought through what I might do if I saw them. If Mel hadn't been on that day I might have had another trip to the ER which I could ill afford. Seems like ketones can progress to DKA with little more than a single missed meal? And of course that was so scary with Musette, that all happened right when I showed up here so it really made an impression.

I would want to at least have Libby take a look at that, maybe when you get back. She has a lot of experience with this kind of situation including with her own high dose cat. One thing I really learned the hard way is whenever you contemplate doing something that "scares the crap out of you" do cross post in all the forums and get all opinions, including your vet. You always want to make sure to ask in the main Lantus forum too since there is a lot of experience and eyeballs there.
 
correction there is no main Lantus forum there are two forums because there are two protocols for using Lantus.

TR is a busier forum but I've never had a problem asking anyone from any forum to stop by and offer advice. When I want the most experienced eyes I post on Health as that draws eyes that may post in diffent forums or don't post at all in the ISG forums example Larry and kitties

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
hi Scarlett,

I was just reading through this thread and have some thoughts. I can relate to your dilemma somewhat. In one of the posts, Dale mentioned my high-dose cat, Jazzy. Our situation was somewhat similar because, like Taffy, Jazzy was brought up the dosing ladder without a lot of data. Jazzy was a foster kitty, and by the time I got her she was already on a high dose. I was familiar enough with her situation that I was fairly sure she was an acrocat before I brought her home (for lots of reasons I won't go into right now), but of course I could not be positive that her dose wasn't too high because there had been very little testing. I knew I was planning to get the acromegaly and IAA tests done, but I couldn't do them immediately and needed to come up with a plan for treating her in the meantime.

What I ended up doing was knocking her dose down by a few units, then fast-tracking back up the dosing scale until we got to a dose that did something. You can see on her spreadsheet that reducing the dose turned out to be unnecessary, as she ended up on an even higher dose than the one she had been on before. I wish I had gone with my gut and held the higher dose, but it is what it is. That is what we usually see when someone decides to drop the dose way back, but as Mel pointed out, occasionally there is a cat for whom reducing the dose works. Keep in mind that if you drop the dose way back, you will need to test for ketones daily. Any sign of ketones, post for advice. We do suggest that you not hold onto a dose that clearly isn't working for too long. If the numbers stay high, then a few days or maybe a week is usually sufficient to see that a dose isn't working. Then, onward and upward.

Somebody may have mentioned this already, but actually Taffy's patterns are not atypical of what we usually see with Lantus. Sure, her dose is a bit higher than most, but the pattern is normal. Most people expect to see that when you give insulin, the numbers go down. With Lantus, what usually happens instead is that the numbers don't move much until you get to a good dose. It can be frustrating - increase the dose again and again, and the numbers stay the same. One day, though, you get to a good dose, and all of a sudden the numbers are completely different. It's not very logical, but that's the way it almost always happens. So don't worry too much if you think the numbers aren't moving. It doesn't mean she isn't responding, it just means that she hasn't found her breakthrough dose yet. She'll get there.

If you've read this far, thanks. :smile: I think if I were in your shoes, I would try to schedule the acro/IAA tests when you can. I don't see anything in her spreadsheet that screams that she needs a dose reduction to stay safe. That said, you are the one who is there with her, so if your gut says something different then absolutely go with that. I tend to agree with Dale that it might be significant that her urine has decreased as her dose has gotten higher, plus her numbers look better on 6 units than the numbers that you have on lower doses. BUT... if your DH is taking care of her this week and won't be able to test, you might feel better reducing the dose for him. We suggest that often for people who are leaving their cats with petsitters. I know, one more thing to think about. :roll:

One thing I want to mention about the acro/IAA tests. You are right that even if Taffy has acro/IAA it might not change your daily treatment. Regardless, you are going to give her however much insulin she needs. When it does come in handy to know whether your cat has a high-dose condition is when they are on their way down the dosing ladder. Acrocats and IAA cats can have very sudden and drastic changes in their insulin requirements. If your cat suddenly starts getting very low numbers, knowing whether there is an underlying condition can really help with knowing how to deal with the lows safely. That's why I did the tests for Jazzy. I knew I wouldn't be able to pursue any of the acro treatments, but I still wanted to know what was going on. I don't like guessing. :lol:

I hope this helps a little. I'll try to check back for questions, but I'm not in the Relaxed forum often, so feel free to send me a PM to call my attention to your thread if I don't respond.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top