9/25 Sweet PeaAMPS 374 +220 +4 241 Advice Needed

Mom2SweetPea

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone! I am mostly a lurker who is trying to figure out what I'm doing by reading posts, looking at spreadsheets etc. I have learned a ton, but all of a sudden I have no idea what's going on, and I'd love some expert eyes/advice. We'd been going along pretty good with numbers seeming to calm down (sweet pea is a huge bouncer!) but I'd stopped getting any greens, so I upped from .75 to a skinny 1 (slightly less than a .25 increase because she has historically proven to be quite sensitive to increases plus she will only eat Young Again food, so I really only have karo to help with numbers). Her numbers have been increasing and kind of all over the place! I'm trying to be patient and wait for things to settle, but this has never happened before. Too much insulin? Should I just chill and wait to see what happens in the next couple of days? She seems to not be feeling great, so I'm anxious to help her out. Just when I thought we were doing well! :( TIA for any advice.
 
Hi. Great job testing. I have a question though. Your signature mentions you use an AT/ Micro meter. Which are you using? I also see a reduction should have been taken 9/10, 9/16 and at least one other time a reduction was earned but you stopped testing after an evening test in the 80’s. She could have gone even lower that night. Since you are feeding dry you would follow SLGS and a reduction is earned under 90 regardless of the meter used. I know some cats won’t eat canned but have you tried different brands? Max was a dry food and canned eater because he blocked when he was fiveand wuld t ea RX canned. . After pancreatitis my vet said I could switch from RX food to any canned food. At that time he wouldn’t eat pate. When he became diabetic he started eating fancy feast pates. He was so hungry the switch worked. It’s worth a try.
 
Hi there :cool:

I have learned a ton, but all of a sudden I have no idea what's going on, and I'd love some expert eyes/advice.
Part of the answer might be hiding in the bottom half of the PM cycles - it is 1/4 of the overall picture.
Try to get a few random tests in so that you break up the huge white area on that end of the ss.
Stagger your timings; a +8 one night, a +10 another night etc.
A new picture is likely to emerge.
 
Thanks for replying! I am using both the Alphatrak and the Relion Micro, but I only linked to the Relion since that is what most people use and the dosing protocol is based on. On 9/10 I did reduce, just not to .5 because the last time I did that she ended up in the hospital, so I took a smaller reduction. I decided not to reduce on 9/16. I did not stop testing after an evening in the 80s. I tested again and got an 87 and I'm guessing at least one more that might not have been recorded, because I'm obsessive over her going hypo. I have tried every single trick in the book trying to get her to eat canned, and pretty much every brand and variety out there. In the hospital she starved herself for days rather than eat canned. She's extremely stubborn. So Young Again it is.
 
I was advised (a different FD group) to reduce her dose to see if I could get her to stop bouncing. I did the reduction from .75 to .5 and it seemed to help. After a week I increased back to .75 but then she stopped eating. I couldn't give shot (vetsulin) because she couldn't eat. She went to the vet for fluids and monitoring and a ultrasound which showed pancreatitis/ triaditis No ketones. On the second day of monitoring her ketones went to 0.5, her urine glucose was 1000 and the vet sent us straight to ER. I honestly don't really know all of what she had. She was in the hospital for 5 days. Finally she started eating once they gave her the young again. She's been SO much better after discharge! I thought we were over the hump! Ugh. I am so confused and scared. Hate that I don't trust my vet.
 
Hate that I don't trust my vet.
It's hard to trust them when you feel they didn't handle something the right way, but keep in mind that vets have to learn about many different diseases and conditions in multiple species, so most are not experts on any one condition, unless they've had a lot of experience with it. Unfortunately, too many owners PTS their kitties or take them to shelters when they are diagnosed, so vets don't get a lot of experience with treating it. Also, they only get about 5 hours of training on diabetes (and that covers both cats and dogs) in vet school. Has your vet been good otherwise? If so, cut her some slack, but hang on to what you have learned about FD and keep learning. Many here have had to take matters into their own hands, but you need a good relationship with a vet, too. You are in the right place to get help for her. You can do this.

Thanks, Tricia! I have done all of Dr. Lisa's suggestions to no avail. I just have one stubborn cat!!
It was worth a shot. There are some cats that just won't cooperate. Unlike dogs, they will starve themselves rather than eat what they don't like. :rolleyes: You might still consider trying raw or freeze dried like Stella & Chewys or Primal - if you haven't alreadyo_O.
 
My die hard kibble addict (15 yrs dry fed) although not diabetic took 3 years to get her off. I went through all the foods and flavors.

Vital Essentials Freeze Dried Raw got her off dry food. I bought the mini patties. She gobbled it dry. Then I rehydrated it, but likes it on the dryish side. Then I sprinkled dry on wet food. She has been kibble free one year now. Still loves the VE any way it's prepared.
 
I have learned a ton, but all of a sudden I have no idea what's going on
Amy, you and I have been “joined FDMB” within days of each other. I often feel the (exact) same way as you :-|.
“I have learned a ton, but all of a sudden I have no idea what’s going on...”
Know that you are not alone. o_O
 
Thanks for replying! I am using both the Alphatrak and the Relion Micro, but I only linked to the Relion since that is what most people use and the dosing protocol is based on. On 9/10 I did reduce, just not to .5 because the last time I did that she ended up in the hospital, so I took a smaller reduction. I decided not to reduce on 9/16. I did not stop testing after an evening in the 80s. I tested again and got an 87 and I'm guessing at least one more that might not have been recorded, because I'm obsessive over her going hypo. I have tried every single trick in the book trying to get her to eat canned, and pretty much every brand and variety out there. In the hospital she starved herself for days rather than eat canned. She's extremely stubborn. So Young Again it is.
A thought... Food Fur Life (foodfurlife.com) is a raw- you add the meat and their powder enhances it :). If you contact them (I did by phone), they will send you a sample to try! It might be worth a try?
Also, although pretty darn pricey, Rad Cat (radcat.com). Nelli has been eating this for 8 years- loves it. Check out too, maybe
 
Thanks for all the food suggestions! Some I haven't tried yet! I am cautious about trying new things with her since I don't want another scary no eating episode. But I will give these suggestions all a try!
 
Back
Top