9/25 Sootie: follow-up re micro dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-on-5th-day-micro-dosing.165325/#post-1784048

Hi.
First thanks for holding our Maine Coon Bo in your hearts and prayers during past week. Much to vets' amazement, his appetite improves each day. Though he is still quite wobbly of balance, his oomph is returning. The daily signs of bit by bit improvements of responsiveness, strength and stamina is such a joy and blessing. As in the Aesop fable, "slow and steady said the turtle to the hare." :bighug:

Been keeping Sootie's spreadsheet current, and readily admit to my less than exemplary consistent daily implementation of your suggestions such as add daily in between times bg's ( such as am +2 and pm before bed), snack (such before bed to help night time pancreas function in hopes of lower amps bg's ), auto feeder for wet food snacks, etc. have continued the twice daily one droplet micro dosing pretty much within Sootie-familiar time frames (big exception being this morning when the week caught up with me and I overslept).

I hope you don't mind me doing periodic new threads instead of daily ones. Figure periodic (especially with Sootie's numbers being pretty good and well under renal threshold range for quite awhile), accomplishes time to add data/see emerging patterns, anomalies etc. and for me to learn, understand/assimilate things better and choose/act accordingly. And the last thing I want to do is inundate myself on anyone. Life too short.

Sootie still in the blues and greens, with some blues slightly higher on some days. Not complaining, just a heads up about recent SS info! :)

Looking forward to your input, questions, suggestions and reasons! Thank you all again, Sina
 
Last edited:
Hi Sina!

I think Sootie could use a bit more insulin. And she just looks like she might need a tweak. Keeping in mind Bo’s issues, I would suggest an increase to 0.1u every 12 hours. Normally, I would suggest raising the dose to 0.25u but we don’t want her to drop too low and she was holding her own with 0.25u once a day although she was a bit higher than I’d like to see. The 0.1u might not be enough but with all you have going on and limited times to test, I’m just thinking on the conservative side.

Of course, others might have different ideas or you may have a different approach as well. If you scroll down on this post on Syringe & Insulin handling and dosing, you’ll see what 0.1u looks like. In contrast to the droplet you’ve been doing, you should actually see “some” insulin in the syringe.
 
Thanks Marje.
Just updated SS to reflect addition of +11.5 (+_) PMPS at 9pm (didn't dose at meal bc was picking at food, was early to dose in relation to morning shot time. Her +11.5'ish (9m) bg is 84. So not dosing tonight, being she's in green. She is snacking again on supper now.

Your suggestion and reasons make sense. I have been ruminating (not angst'ing)/reflecting about the micro dosing so far and how Sootie and I have been adapting to it, etc. ...

Yes agree proceed conservatively re any increase to dosing amounts. How about see what Sootie's amps is in morning? Just so I can "reset" and visualize my parameters: If she's in blue and in same morning range as past couple of days (130's - low 160's), I'll do 0.1 u. If she's in blue <130, still 0.1 u? And green still means O (zero). Love that green threshold, yes indeedy.

Tonight will refamiliarize self with the dosing 0.1 (actually, have had that very helpful link on "save to screen" for awhile for easy reference).
Thanks again, Sina
 
Last edited:
Sina

In this insulin support group, we generally shoot BGs above 50. We don't expect you or any new member to just start shooting those numbers.

What we suggest when you get a green preshot is that you do not feed, post, and ask for assistance. When someone advises you to shoot, they should stay with you, or tag someone else to take over, through the cycle until kitty's BG is on the way up.

We say "shoot low to stay low" because the action of the insulin allows you to shoot the green numbers above 50 and stay relatively flat, usually.

If Sootie were mine and I got a green AMPS tomorrow, I would post for help. Since you didn't raise the dose tonight, if she is green in the morning, I'd hold the dose but post for help (remember not to feed).

Many of us use Calipers for dosing and especially microdosing for consistency.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top