allicatmeow
Member Since 2023
AMPS 201
Of course the morning of a dose increase he's nearly blue?? Very nervous here.
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-3-5-84-4-85-5-101-pmps-236-2-5-194.281889/
This sounds good to me! Thank you for explaining. It's a lot to take in with TR and greens and him being newly diagnosed plus DKA... been a whirlwind. I gave him 3U this morning so we will see how he does! Remission is most definitely the goal.

Of course the morning of a dose increase he's nearly blue?? Very nervous here.
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-3-5-84-4-85-5-101-pmps-236-2-5-194.281889/
Looks like Smudge could use a dose increase. He's not new to greens, so you don't need to hold 10 cycles from when he first see greens. With TR, you increase every 10 consecutive cycles from when you start the dose, unless close to tightly regulated. Which he's not. And he's been on this dose for 12 cycles now. One could delay an increase a cycle or two from those 10 cycles if you think he was about to break a bounce on the cycle you planned to increase. Increase on a bounce breaking cycle can be a little too much downward momentum meaning you'd have to monitor really closely. Otherwise, it's not good to hold a dose too long.
Now, don't get me wrong. I'm liking the fact that Smudge is seeing green fairly regularly, but I'd love to see more greens and lasting longer. 2.75 units isn't getting him there. And I'd like to see him ditch those numbers above 300 (well actually 200's and above), and more insulin can do that too. If you see Smudge is dropping by your +3 at night, feel free to use that microchip feeder with higher carb food in it to keep him safe.
Plus, Smudge is a very recently diagnosed diabetic. You have a golden window of time in which it's easier to get a cat regulated, and if all goes well, into remission. If that is a goal of yours, then I'd follow TR as written.
This sounds good to me! Thank you for explaining. It's a lot to take in with TR and greens and him being newly diagnosed plus DKA... been a whirlwind. I gave him 3U this morning so we will see how he does! Remission is most definitely the goal.
Aw, thank you!! Penny is 15.5yo and I was really worried about her acceptance and her stress levels with CKD (she's had it for 1.5yrs now), but she is such a good girl. And the way Smudge respects her is too cute for words. A very lucky combination!So glad Penny and Smudge are doing so well together! You are working so hard and it’s obvious how well you are doing with them Alli! I’m so impressed at what you’ve accomplished in such a short time!![]()
Here's hoping to a dose increase surf! Big hugs right back!!!Hi Alli. Looks like Smudge went bang jumping with Fistukhe's done a thorough job on the dose. I hope he discovers the surf board for you
![]()

he's done a thorough job on the dose. I hope he discovers the surf board for you 

