? 9/25 Smudge: AMPS 201, +2 95, +3 100, +4.5 168, +6 267, +9 324, PMPS 287, +2.5 235- NDW?

allicatmeow

Member Since 2023
AMPS 201
Of course the morning of a dose increase he's nearly blue?? Very nervous here.

Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-3-5-84-4-85-5-101-pmps-236-2-5-194.281889/

Looks like Smudge could use a dose increase. He's not new to greens, so you don't need to hold 10 cycles from when he first see greens. With TR, you increase every 10 consecutive cycles from when you start the dose, unless close to tightly regulated. Which he's not. And he's been on this dose for 12 cycles now. One could delay an increase a cycle or two from those 10 cycles if you think he was about to break a bounce on the cycle you planned to increase. Increase on a bounce breaking cycle can be a little too much downward momentum meaning you'd have to monitor really closely. Otherwise, it's not good to hold a dose too long.

Now, don't get me wrong. I'm liking the fact that Smudge is seeing green fairly regularly, but I'd love to see more greens and lasting longer. 2.75 units isn't getting him there. And I'd like to see him ditch those numbers above 300 (well actually 200's and above), and more insulin can do that too. If you see Smudge is dropping by your +3 at night, feel free to use that microchip feeder with higher carb food in it to keep him safe.

Plus, Smudge is a very recently diagnosed diabetic. You have a golden window of time in which it's easier to get a cat regulated, and if all goes well, into remission. If that is a goal of yours, then I'd follow TR as written.

This sounds good to me! Thank you for explaining. It's a lot to take in with TR and greens and him being newly diagnosed plus DKA... been a whirlwind. I gave him 3U this morning so we will see how he does! Remission is most definitely the goal.

So glad Penny and Smudge are doing so well together! You are working so hard and it’s obvious how well you are doing with them Alli! I’m so impressed at what you’ve accomplished in such a short time! :bighug:
Aw, thank you!! Penny is 15.5yo and I was really worried about her acceptance and her stress levels with CKD (she's had it for 1.5yrs now), but she is such a good girl. And the way Smudge respects her is too cute for words. A very lucky combination!

Hi Alli. Looks like Smudge went bang jumping with Fistuk :joyful: he's done a thorough job on the dose. I hope he discovers the surf board for you :bighug:
Here's hoping to a dose increase surf! Big hugs right back!!! :bighug:
 
AMPS 201
Of course the morning of a dose increase he's nearly blue?? Very nervous here.

Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-3-5-84-4-85-5-101-pmps-236-2-5-194.281889/



This sounds good to me! Thank you for explaining. It's a lot to take in with TR and greens and him being newly diagnosed plus DKA... been a whirlwind. I gave him 3U this morning so we will see how he does! Remission is most definitely the goal.


Aw, thank you!! Penny is 15.5yo and I was really worried about her acceptance and her stress levels with CKD (she's had it for 1.5yrs now), but she is such a good girl. And the way Smudge respects her is too cute for words. A very lucky combination!


Here's hoping to a dose increase surf! Big hugs right back!!! :bighug:
Hi Alli, best of luck for a safe increase for Smudge. He’s doing so great. Great job.
And obviously Penny is such a good girl to accept Smudge so well. I totally get your concern due to her age and CKD.

It’s exactly why I didn’t get another kitty. We thought Ivy just would not tolerate it and didn’t want to stress her since she’s had CKD for about 6 years now. And, her very growly personality.
She won’t even permit my son to touch her. And he adores her! She never forgave him for leaving for college.
When he came back she decided he was an intruder (or who knows what) and never again allowed any petting or getting near her. :banghead:

It looks like your kitties will be happy to live together and accept one another in your home. That’s a huge accomplishment.

Have a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Alli, best of luck for a safe increase for Smudge. He’s doing so great. Great job.
And obviously Penny is such a good girl to accept Smudge so well. I totally get your concern due to her age and CKD.

It’s exactly why I didn’t get another kitty. We thought Ivy just would not tolerate it and didn’t want to stress her since she’s had CKD for about 6 years now. And, her very growly personality.
She won’t even permit my son to touch her. And he adores her! She never forgave him for leaving for college.
When he came back she decided he was an intruder (or who knows what) and never again allowed any petting or getting near her. :banghead:

It looks like your kitties will be happy to live together and accept one another in your home. That’s a huge accomplishment.

Have a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug:
6 years!!! That is INCREDIBLE for CKD!!!! You are an amazing mama. Even if she's mad at your son.

I got Penny (and her siblings) at 3 weeks old. Used to bottle feed them, weaned, everything. Adopted her siblings out because I had others. She's my baby. She is my last remaining of 5 cats I had together and she was always the only girl. She was loving all the attention to herself, so she wasn't too happy about Smudge to start, haha. I'm proud of her now.
 
I feel your pain Alli.
I felt nauseous looking at Mikan's PMPS (373 Duh!)
But they'll come around, somehow, someday.
At least, both went down to the normal range for a while. Better than not getting there!
We gotta celebrate any little bit of goodness :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Smudge PMPS is 287, lower than his +9. What the heck are they doing today??!?
 
Back
Top