9/25 Raja's amps 87 pmps is 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather and Raja (GA)

Member Since 2009
I understand that I've probably been told before what to do in a situation like this but please also understand that this is my cat that I have had since I was 12 and I still want someone to 'hold my hand and walk me through it'

I posted on the main board last night when Raja got really low and thankfully I got the help I needed.
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=52906

So now her bg is 87, so do I shoot or wait or what? I know, by reading the stickies, that I'm supposed to shoot anything over 50 but I simply don't feel comfortable doing that. I also know that I was supposed to hold her dose at least 3 days/6 cycles but at .25 she went too low for my comfort and I lowered her dose to .01

So do I wait for her BG to rise or shoot now?

*Feeding her some tuna now to see how she how she does tonight, it's the only thing I can get her to eat on cue
 
Re: 9/25 Raja's amps 87

Ordinarily, with the drop into the 30s last night, I'd think Raja might be ready for a trial. However, I don't know if Raja's levels are looking the way we expect them to look for a cat that's starting a trial.

That said, you should probably start an OTJ trial but keep testing to make sure Raja can sustain the lower numbers. Here are the instructions:

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 9/25 Raja's amps 87

Raja is a grazer, she is a very finicky cat and the only thing I can get her to 'eat on cue' is tuna.

Usually what she does is eat a bit then comes back for more maybe 15 or 20 min later, so would that be considered small meals?

When I say a bit she eats not even a 4th of a 5.5 oz can
 
Re: 9/25 Raja's amps 87

If she's a grazer, that's fine. If you were feeding her 5 oz at each meal with nothing in between, it might be something to consider. If she's already eating what amounts to small meals, it's not a concern. The idea is to keep her food relatively spread out so the pancreas isn't overwhelmed and it can work in a gentle, consistent way to keep numbers down.
 
Re: 9/25 Raja's amps 87

THIS IS WONDERFUL, HEATHER!!!

CONGRATULATIONS, RAJA...AND BEST OF LUCK!
WE KNOW YOU CAN DO IT!

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top