9/25 Noodle PMPS 196, +1 179, +2 172 Did I goof?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle tested (yesterday) 196 at PMPS, which is low for him. Not believing the number, I re-tested at +1. It was 179. Tested again at +2 and he was 172. I decided not to give the insulin for fear that he would go too low. Did I goof? This is the first time this has ever happened to me. His 9/26 AMPS was back up to 319. What should I do if this happens again? Thanks for the advice. I'm thinking maybe I did the wrong thing :?

Christi
 
Thanks so much, MommaOfMuse. I'm so glad it wasn't a major blunder at least. Thank you too for the link to the sticky. That really spells things out well for the future and I really appreciate your help. :smile:

Christi
 
No problem hon that's what I'm here for and just paying it forward for all the help I've gotten over the years and am still getting. :-D Beautiful surf for your boy though. :thumbup

And I'm Mel by the way. Well actually Melody but only my family calls me that and only when they're mad at me... :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
hi christi
wow some nice numbers for noodle. that's great.
dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
 
Thanks for the cheers, Nadine :smile: But I fear the blues were just a tease because Noodle is right back up where he always seems to stay :roll: Vet said leave the dose alone till he's done with the UTI med to see if the infection has any impact on the BGs. But I feel like a hamster on a wheel, just going around and around and not really getting anywhere! How is sweet Tibbsy doing--is he coming down at all?

Christi
 
Hi Christi,

Fingers and paws crossed in the Shire that when Noodle's UTI is better you'll see more of those blues.
 
Thanks so much, Critter Mom :smile: And hugs to sweet Saoirse. I love what her name means! (And now I know how to pronounce it after reading your post.) I'm a red-headed Scots-Irish girl.

Christi
 
i'm an Irish wanna be. dh is irish and i love love & play Irish music. fiddle, bodhran, uilleann pipes, whistles. love it. and christi ..... noodle & tibbsey are doing the same dance.... down & back up again. ughhhhh

ps ...Aine.. how's things in the Shire? is everyone here a Tolkien fan like me?
 
LOL No Tolkein fan here....just have a cat (Tre'Vona) whose name is Tolkein elvish for Sister to Many and three at the Bridge Olwen (Shield maiden), Gandolph The Grey and Radagast the Brown.

Interesting story about Gandolph he came to me already named because his previous owner got married and her new husband's cat was picking on Gandolph so we adopted him. One very stormy night he bolted from the house and we searched for days for him, finally I get a call from the lady down the street she had seen the flyer and knew she had our missing cat. But instead of offering to return him she asked how much would it take to buy him from us. Then went on to explain that she had hit him with her car and his pelvis was broken but she had taken him to the vet's and had him at her house to recover, but that her young daughter was crippled with cerebel palsey and although she could walk with the use of her braces she didn't try much until Gandolph came into their lives. Because she knew that while the kitty couldn't run right now that one day he would again and she wanted to be ready to play with him. So he was the best physical therapy tool they had found. Well since we hadn't had him long I told her to just keep him. That we were just his holders until the right furever home came along and it sounded like fate had placed him there.

So I went down to take what stuff had come with him to her only to discover that the little girl's service dog who apparently Gandolph adored was named BILBO! Now not only could I not take a cat away from a child that needed him to get better I was certainly not going to try to separate Gandolph and Bilbo. But did warn the girl never to let her new kitty and dog go on adventures without her..rolfmao. That Christmas I took the little girl a complete collection of the Lord Of The Rings Trilogy which I heard she almost read the words off the paper because it was her favorite bedtime stories.

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Mel - what a wonderfully heartwarming story! :smile:

Nadine - I covet your musical prowess. :mrgreen: I had started to learn the Irish flute but the accident & subsequent PTSD put a complete kibosh on that. I love the uillean pipes. Ever come across The Afro Celt Sound System?

Can't speak for everyone in The Shire, but I love Tolkien.
 
As you become comfortable testing and have enough mid-cycle data to support that it is safe for your cat, you may reduce your no shot number to 150 mg/dL.
 
Thanks so much, BJM. I was wondering at what point I wasn't in the "newbies don't shoot under 200" category :smile: I feel like I need just a bit more data to feel comfortable but right now, for the most part, Noodle seems stuck in the mid-200s. That's why that blue was such a surprise. I appreciate your help.

Christi
 
Wow, Nadine--I really admire your musical talent too! Where did you learn to play all those unusual instruments? My DH plays the bagpipes but just a wee bit. He didn't decide to give it a try till in his 30s and says he got a late start ;-)

Christi
 
Christianna said:
Thanks so much, BJM. I was wondering at what point I wasn't in the "newbies don't shoot under 200" category :smile: I feel like I need just a bit more data to feel comfortable but right now, for the most part, Noodle seems stuck in the mid-200s. That's why that blue was such a surprise. I appreciate your help.

Christi

Maybe move down slowly by 10-20 mg/dL per week.
 
Hi Chrisi,

Thanks for your visit the other day. Great idea on teaching Angie to come to a hand wave.

I hope things are going well with Noodle and that his new dose works for him. It's a pity you don't have a photo of him up. I love orange tabbies because Angie's brother was an orange tabby. I've thought of him for almost 18 years now - I wasn't allowed to adopt them both.

Grace
 
Hi GraceandAngie,
I finally got Noodle to give me a good pose so now he's there to see. Thank you for your good wishes but Noodle seems to be just stuck in the high 200s and sometimes the occasional 300 no matter whether he's at 2U or 3.25U (where he is now.) Very discouraging but we'll just keep plodding along hoping he'll break through those numbers eventually.
I hope Angie is doing well and learning her signs. Cats catch on really quickly, I think, especially when there is food involved :smile:

Christi
 
Hi Christi and handsome!

Christianna said:
seems to be just stuck in the high 200s and sometimes the occasional 300 no matter Christi
I know what you mean. I'm wondering the same things about Angie.

He's got a cute little white beard and moustachios! :-D

Grace
 
Thanks, Nadine :smile: I'm embarrassed by how long it took me to finally get his picture up. I call this his "don't I look like a puma?" pose ;-) How is Tibbsy doing?

Christi
 
Hi GraceAndAngie,
Noodle's getting full of himself being called handsome :smile: I'm glad his little white beard showed up; the pictures are pretty small for detail and I'm not that great a photographer :?
I'm sorry you're having some frustration with Angie's numbers too. It's hard to be patient when, at least for Noodle, the results just aren't forthcoming.
Give sweet Angie a loving pat from me and Noodle and hugs to you :smile:

Christi
 
Thanks so much, Aine. I have a soft spot for black kitties with a white locket. Our beloved Jiggs, GA on 2-11-14 looked so much like your sweet girl.
 
Thanks so much Nadine :smile: It sure took me awhile to get Noodle to pose just right to get his little beard to show, as I'm not the world's best photographer and he's not the world's most cooperative subject. How is sweet Tibbsy? I haven't been on much for a week--been in the midst of a bad fibro flare :sad: Hope everything is going well for you--I read that you've been very busy. Hugs to you and Tibbs :razz:

Christi
 
hi christi
so sorry you have not been feeling well. i bet the cold doesn't help at all. hope you feel better soon. Tibbs is still high. so frustrating. will prob increase this week. hope you are ok.
xoxoxoxox
 
Thanks so much, Nadine :smile: You're right--the cold doesn't help. Oct. 3 we had our first snow---UGH. To me, perfect weather is clear blue, sunny skies, low humidity and 75 degrees! Anyone know where that might be? ;-) I'm so sorry Tibbs is being so unpredictable. Noodle keeps me guessing too but today he's had the best number for awhile. I've learned not to get too excited anymore because tonight he'll probably throw me a pink. :? Fingers crossed that Tibbs settles down soon. At least he gets the occasional blue--Noodle almost never does :roll: Hope all is well with you--take care :cool:

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top