9/25 Noodle PMPS 196, +1 179, +2 172 Did I goof on no shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Noodle tested (yesterday) 196 at PMPS, which is low for him. Not believing the number, I re-tested at +1. It was 179. Tested again at +2 and he was 172. I decided not to give the insulin for fear that he would go too low. Did I goof? This is the first time this has ever happened to me. His 9/26 AMPS was back up to 319. What should I do if this happens again? Thanks for the advice. I'm thinking maybe I did the wrong thing :?

Christi
 
Re: 9/25 Noodle PMPS 196, +1 179, +2 172 Did I goof on no s

Hi Christi - on this forum, we suggest that you can shoot anything over 150 as long as you have the data. Check out the first part of the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers Sticky which talks about becoming data ready. Getting periodic +1 tests will help you determine how much of a food spike Noodle gets. Getting occasional +10 or +-11 tests can give you a heads up if Noodle is thinking about a lower preshot.

Next time you see a number below 150 for your preshot test, post here for help and DO NOT feed. There are several options described in the sticky for what to do the first time you get your lowest ever preshot and we can walk you through them. One of them is to delay, but more like 20-30 minutes. If they go too long without food, that can also cause the numbers to drop. For yesterday, since he was above 150, you could have given the shot if you had been around to monitor him. And it's a good idea to make sure you have some high carb food and plenty of strips around, just in case Noodle decides he wants some excitement that cycle. The first couple of times Neko gave me lower preshots that I was used to, she just bounced. :roll: And don't worry, you aren't the first person to skip with a blue preshot. And Noodle will give you a chance to do it again. Those blue preshots are signs of progress. :-D
 
Re: 9/25 Noodle PMPS 196, +1 179, +2 172 Did I goof on no s

Hi Wendy and Neko,
Thanks so much for the explanation and referral to the sticky. I have waited SO LONG to see Noodle get even one blue number, then when he does, I panic :shock: I guess one thing that still has me confused is that I haven't been able to zero in on Noodle's nadir (and someone told me it might vary from day to day anyway.) Often, though not always, he seems to get his lowest reading at PMPS. But I see I do need to get in some +10 and +11. This decision has worried me all day but next time I'll better know what to do. Thanks so much for steering me in the right direction :smile:

Christi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top