9/25 Muffin pmps 157 +1 156 +2 160 +3 159

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79736

Recap: 9/24
amps 195 shot tiny drop
+2.25 91
+3.75 63
+10 78 Denamarin
pmps 108 tiny drop
+2 86
+3 56
+4 56
ambg 63 no shot

Good Morning LL!

Muffin is making this post difficult, as she's trying to help. :lol: Purring and lap sitting definitely present. cat_pet_icon

While I know this is a perfectly shootable number, I decided not to shoot this because I don't necessarily want her hanging out in the 40's, which is what I'm guessing she'd do, based on recent history. I'm thinking of just experimenting and only giving insulin if and when she needs it. I'm looking for opinions on this idea. This, of course would be tailored specifically to Muffin and in general under normal circumstances is a bad idea and not to be followed by others. If the wise ones here think it's a bad idea for Muffin, I won't do it. I realize this is not the way Lantus works. However, her needs seem to be somewhat sporatic (?) due to the pancreatitis. I may have a chance to speak to the vet today regarding adding prednisone.
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 Not shooting - Question

Sometimes it takes an unorthodox approach. It's what Shai is having to do with Fitzel.

So do you think that when you do shoot, it's the smallest amount of insulin you can get in her or do you think you could halve it?
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 Not shooting - Question

It's the smallest amt I can possibly shoot her - I already halved the 1 drop dose. To go any smaller would be to just wave the syringe over her head :lol:
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 Not shooting - Question

Hmmm, waving the syringe over your cat's head.... That is one approach I've not seen yet. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • Epic Cat.jpg
    Epic Cat.jpg
    127.6 KB · Views: 568
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83 - Question

+15 83 so she's on the rise again, and I'm suspecting she may need a shot by tonight. Taking her SS in to the vet to get his opinion. I'm thinking there are several options here:
1. Start prednisone
2. Wait to see if she nears 200 again and then start prednisone
3. Continue with just Denamarin for whatever the appropriate time period would be and then retest specfPL
4. Dexamethasone injection to see if that's enough to resolve the inflammation
5. Restart bupe for a few days and see what that does for her numbers.

I'm honestly feeling that these wacky numbers are strictly due to the pancreatitis, and not the diabetes needing treatment, if you kwim. The fact that she went a day and a half without insulin and did ok suggests to me that the pancreatitis is not resolving. Or that inflammation is coming and going still. It's so hard to tell with cats - Muffin is definitely feeling better than she was, and enough better that I can't tell if this is pain or inflammation or what. Her appy is great lately and I don't suspect any nausea.

Will let you know what he suggests, and then probably ask your opinion as well ;-)
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83 - Question

Anne&Muffin said:
While I know this is a perfectly shootable number, I decided not to shoot this because I don't necessarily want her hanging out in the 40's, which is what I'm guessing she'd do, based on recent history. I'm thinking of just experimenting and only giving insulin if and when she needs it. I'm looking for opinions on this idea. This, of course would be tailored specifically to Muffin and in general under normal circumstances is a bad idea and not to be followed by others. If the wise ones here think it's a bad idea for Muffin, I won't do it. I realize this is not the way Lantus works. However, her needs seem to be somewhat sporatic (?) due to the pancreatitis. I may have a chance to speak to the vet today regarding adding prednisone.
hi anne! this is exactly what i alluded to in my email to sienne a few days ago.

at this point in time muffin has shown her pancreas is working. however, the p-titis flares are messing with her otj status. incidents of pain, inflammation, dehydration, infection, and more may cause her numbers to rise... requiring some intervention on your part. when the symptoms are addressed/crisis passed, she may not need any insulin at all.

if muffin were mine, i would shoot as needed. she may require a shot every once in awhile. she may need shots for a few days. you could end up shooting her for weeks or months on end. who knows? imho, you'll have to remain flexible, vigilant, and follow her lead.

this kind of reminds me of when my DH was hospitalized last year with the brain aneurysm. they were giving him lantus whenever his BG numbers rose over 160 or 165. it wasn't everyday. they shot as needed. i think this is what you'll have to do with muffin until she either remains stable without insulin or shows you she needs insulin everyday.

i can't comment about the need for prednisone. consulting your vet is best. as you know, prednisone may cause her numbers to rise, but if it's a necessary part of treatment you have insulin in the fridge to pull those BG numbers down.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83 - Question

Paws crossed that nasty p-titis is under control soon and Muff high tails it back to the Falls.
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83 - Question

Thank you Jill! That's what I thought you meant, but just wanted to double check. So thank you for clarifying.

I discussed Muffin's SS with Dr and he is now thinking she'll be OTJ again, too, once this is cleared up. We discussed the options I listed above, and he agreed to start with the dexamethasone injection and see if that can get her over the hump. I'll take her in this evening for that. Then he wants to wait about a week and see what her numbers do. He agrees it's due to the pancreatitis, and so if they continue to be fine for a short time and then go up again, we'll put her on either prednisone or dexamethasone pills.

Thank you Ann, we hope so too!
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83

Anne, good luck with the plan! It sure does sound like it could be the pancreatitis. Sending her some good vines.
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin ambg 63 +15 83 +21 86

+21 86 and I'm thrilled. I expected to her to creep up throughout the day (one reason I didn't test much) but it looks like she's just been surfing right along! Took her in to the vet right after the 86 and she got her dexamethasone injection. I'm having to fight her off of my chinese food right now! :lol: No way baby girl, sorry!
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin pmps 157 shot tonight

Pmps 157. I'm actually relieved to see the dexamethasone (probably) is already affecting her BG. I was debating what to do if she gave me a good number. This way there's no guesswork. Shot 1 tiny drop. Hopefully it will be enough to counteract the injection. Could be some vet stress in there as well, not sure how long it takes for that to go away. She's feeling good this evening tho.
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin pmps 157 shot tonight

Hi Anne and Muffin -

Seems Muffin and Pirate Fitzel are having a similar journey. I shoot 1 drop (would love to know how you halved that and can shoot it consistently) whenever her numbers are in the mid-100's. Sometimes Fitzel can go days without a shot and then, like tonight, she needed more insulin just 22 hours after her last shot. When I do shoot, I have to be sure I can stay up with her if it's at night, or be home all day to get tests. She has a nasty habit of diving into the 30's and low 40's when she gets insulin.

I would have shot 157 too. Fitzel was 165 tonight. Hope they both pull some nice mid-green numbers for us tonight.

Shai
 
Re: 9/25 Muffin pmps 157 +1 156 shot tonight

I haven't bothered with a +1 this time around on insulin, but she was asking for more food - guess I needn't have bothered :YMSIGH:

Ann - Thank you for the vines.

Chris - Thanks so much - she's been a bit of a challenge this time around :lol:

Shai - Interesting both our girls are doing this, but good to know I'm not alone. ;-) My 1 drop dose is a good sized drop. So I just squeeze out a tiny drop, and call what's left a tiny drop. I have to double draw each time to check it, on account of the inconsistencies between the zero lines on the syringes. And I certainly couldn't swear that it's the same each and every time, but I just do the best I can. I use reading glasses and a lighted magnifying glass.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top