9/25- Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
I don't know what I was thinking today, but I managed to get a +3, +4 AND +5. Maybe it feels like the day is going faster than what it really is ohmygod_smile

Anyway, I still don't know what to think about this whole decreasing the dose business. I just don't know what to do :YMSIGH: I'm scared to death of ketones and I caught Lucky 2x going to the bathroom yesterday but he jumped out as soon as he saw me. I'm afraid he's going to start peeing somewhere else.

I've asked before and I'll ask again. Should I be thinking about getting a new vial? To rule it out, anyway? He can't keep going on like this, I feel like I have to find a solution, and fast :sad:

AMPS: 399
+3 281
+4 272
+5 307
 
When does the current vial expire?
If just to remove that factor from the equation, go ahead and get a new vial, and try it for a few doses to see if that is the culprit. If you get "like" results, you will know it isn't the insulin, but you'll still be able to use the old one.
Then you'll be able to better determine if an adjustment makes sense?
carl
 
I do like Carl's idea. But, if you think you might change insulins at any point, before spending the money, you could get Lantus or Levemir instead? Lucky does not seem to be responding to any of the changes you have made. It could be that ProZinc just won't work for him. Would your vet be willing to prescribe something else? Have you read up on any of the other insulins? Or do you want to stick with ProZinc?
 
....waiting for Kim to chime in..... she's the expert on this, right? :lol:
 
Sue, can you tell me about your vet? Do you have to take your chart in to be reviewed, do you have to give them a modified chart because you are afraid they are going to "yell" at you for adjusting dose or testing too much?

The last time I took Lucky in for a check, before the dental, she didn't seem happy that I had changed his dose and that I was testing him other than AMPS and PMPS. She thought it was way too much. She also tried to insist I needed a fructosamine test even though she had just said I was testing too much and could see all his #'s to get an idea how he was responding. I had to decline the fruc test and she wasn't too happy. She wanted Lucky in the 200s most of the time and I didn't agree with that. I told her I wanted him on Lantus when he was first dx'ed because I had done some homework and she said she didn't like prescribing that. So Prozinc is pretty much the only thing she gives.

I want a vet that is going to be happy with the testing I do at home and just give me the insulin and trust me enough to make the dose adjustments. I would have already called his vet and asked for something else if I wasn't so afraid of them making me feel like I'm doing something wrong, when I know I'm doing everything right.
 
At this point, I will be SO happy with any and all suggestions!!! But I think an insulin change is just around the corner.... He just hasn't responded consistently at all to a wide range of doses.
 
Different people say different things,
I think it might poop out a little, but I was at the end of a vile
last week and shakes was still going low, so it was still working
I know when I started prozinc..I was having the same problem, Shakes just did not seem to be
responding, but by the time I got up to 3 units and got a new vile things starting getting better .
I not sure how long you have been on prozinc, but maybe you might want to think about switching since
you arent really getting anywhere.
I know it is a really hard decision as I have changed insulin 3 times...
but you should always follow your gut
 
My vet is Companion Animal Clinic. Real small office off Dublin and Union (so not close to you at all...). But I do recommend Dr. Whitmore. She was happy I was hometesting. She would talk about doses if I wanted to but respected that I was rapidly educating myself and had reasons for what I was doing. She has since gone to a number of vet seminars on diabetes and seems very willing to learn.

As it turned out, she was on vacation right after he was first diagnosed, so by the time she was back in town, we were off and running with wet lo carb, hometesting and his numbers looked great. So she had no complaints and now is a complete wet food advocate (though we had just agreed to disagree about FF. She accepts that is what I feed.)

So, in general, willing to learn, willing to listen to and trust her customers and not pushy. I can't see her asking you to submit numbers, but willing to look at them if you wanted her to.

I think you could use my name and tell her you were using the same protocol.

I don't know about insulin. We got PZI from her. It worked well. ProZinc is not exactly the same insulin. I would think if you brought her the studies on Lantus and Levemir, she would be willing to let you try it.
 
Thanks Sue for the name of your Vet. I think I may call around also and ask if Lantus is prescribed. I do need a Vet who is not only going to prescribe it but knows about it and how to handle questions I might have. Maybe I'll just call the Vet I was using and tell her I'm not happy with the ProZinc and that I want to switch. I'll just tell her he's been on 1u for 3.5 months and things aren't getting any better. She'll probably just insist that I increase and want to do a fructosamine and see his chart ohmygod_smile

Well, the vial should still be good. We've been using it since mid June so really it hasn't been that long, I don't think.

I'm giving this dose reduction one more cycle, maybe not even that, then I'm going back to the dose that gave me the best results, lesser of the evils, 1.2u
 
So now I'm really confused. His +10 is the lowest it's been in a long time. If his BG is actually dropping, then we should have a nice PS tonight. I have no idea how low he went last night or if he's still getting over that rebound from the other day.

Should I stick with the .8 and see what happens? I'm at a cross road here and not sure which way to go. If you compare what the numbers were before I started lowering the dose, they actually look somewhat the same if not better at times.
 
Remember that meter variance. You can look at it as a surf - flat for the past several hours. Which is good - lots better than a steep rise. Wonder what he will give you at 12?
 
Yeah, I've been trying to remember that meter variance :mrgreen: But there's a big difference between that 422 +10 and a 317 +10, you have to admit ;-)

Yes, definitely a surf today. Not sure what to think about that, guess I have to look at an over all picture and hope he adjusts to the dose tomorrow (if I decide to stick with it, but we'll see what +12 is first!) And yay for no steep rises!
 
Here's today's #'s

AMPS: 399
+3 281
+4 272
+5 307
+6 307
+8 325
+10 317
PMPS: 336


He's been eating today but not as much as usual. He never left food in his bowl before but here lately he walks away with at least a quarter of it left. As long as he's eating, right?
 
As long as the ketones are negative then I would say you are okay on the food.

Glad the preshot didn't zoom up!
 
Well, I'm still up waiting to try to test him for ketones. He hasn't gone to the litter box since this morning, as far as I know.

Yes, very thankful the PS was lower. That's a little encouraging.

Sorry, forgot to say that I did shoot .8 again. I've been studying his SS and I just don't really see any good dose to take him too. I did say 1.2 earlier but even that wasn't great. He's getting high 200's, low 300's with occasional random breakthroughs. Like I said, I'm just not sure where to go.

I'll get a +4 tonight before I head to bed. Hopefully it'll look promising.
 
It's almost 12:30am, Lucky was searching for food so I went ahead and checked him, it was close enough to +4. He was at 206! I'm half tempted to stay up and check him in another hour just to see if it continues to drop since he's been rising after his +4.

Still no ketone test but he looks like he's getting ready to head down stairs as I type....we'll see if I can do it again!

Edited to say that I finally did it! Negative! Had to stalk him 3x because he kept hearing me and leaving the bathroom. Finally I put him in with me and shut the door and just sat there. He must've had to go really bad because he finally did. Plastic wrap does NOT work for us! He peed on it and it pooled around his foot. Yuck! Wow, can't believe I get excited about catching my cat peeing :roll:
 
Great job with Lucky!
you are really doing great!
SO glad to see his numbers going down
keep us posted!
 
Thanks!

Yeah, I know...I don't tell friends or family what I do hahaha They would think that I am absolutely crazy! I'm 31 yrs old and I stalk my kitty on a Saturday night waiting for him to pee and test him every 2 hours. Oh man, I have no life :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top