Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. Lucky's numbers have been staying high lately, and I thought I should check in (I'm in the middle of performing a curve right now, which so far is showing only high numbers). Here's a link to his spreadsheet, and his numbers so far since yesterday morning:
Readings for 9/24-9/25
AMPS 302
+9 350
PMPS 360
+1 370
+3 304
+6 351
If you look at his spreadsheet, his numbers have been staying high for the past week. At first I thought it was a bounce, but usually Lucky's bounces have cleared to good numbers pretty quickly, while these recent numbers have just been consistently high.
I figured it might be one of three things --- either A. the reduction from 2u to 1.75u went very badly (even though he's already back up to 2u, which is strange), B. the change in his feeding schedule hasn't taken very well/isn't working out for him (he used to eat 1/4 can FF before the shot, 1/2 can at shot and then 3/4 can at +6, but now he's eating 1/2 can at shot, 1/2 can at +1, and 1/2 can at +6), or C. the solostar pen pack has gone bad (albeit I just started a new pen yesterday, and he's been having high numbers for almost a week, which means all the pens in the pack would have to be bad). I thought it might be the glucometer, but I checked it against the control solution, and it's still reading properly.
I'm going to try and follow the protocol closely in the days ahead, but I was hoping if anyone might have experience with the kind of situation Lucky seems to be in right now, and any thoughts as to what might be going on and whether I should be changing my approach any as a result. I guess my big worry is that Lucky is still experiencing neuropathy in his back legs, and having him sit through high numbers for more than a couple days seems like it would only make things worse for him. Thanks again everyone for your help, it's much appreciated.
Readings for 9/24-9/25
AMPS 302
+9 350
PMPS 360
+1 370
+3 304
+6 351
If you look at his spreadsheet, his numbers have been staying high for the past week. At first I thought it was a bounce, but usually Lucky's bounces have cleared to good numbers pretty quickly, while these recent numbers have just been consistently high.
I figured it might be one of three things --- either A. the reduction from 2u to 1.75u went very badly (even though he's already back up to 2u, which is strange), B. the change in his feeding schedule hasn't taken very well/isn't working out for him (he used to eat 1/4 can FF before the shot, 1/2 can at shot and then 3/4 can at +6, but now he's eating 1/2 can at shot, 1/2 can at +1, and 1/2 can at +6), or C. the solostar pen pack has gone bad (albeit I just started a new pen yesterday, and he's been having high numbers for almost a week, which means all the pens in the pack would have to be bad). I thought it might be the glucometer, but I checked it against the control solution, and it's still reading properly.
I'm going to try and follow the protocol closely in the days ahead, but I was hoping if anyone might have experience with the kind of situation Lucky seems to be in right now, and any thoughts as to what might be going on and whether I should be changing my approach any as a result. I guess my big worry is that Lucky is still experiencing neuropathy in his back legs, and having him sit through high numbers for more than a couple days seems like it would only make things worse for him. Thanks again everyone for your help, it's much appreciated.