9/25 Lucky Persistent Hyperglycemia, help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone. Lucky's numbers have been staying high lately, and I thought I should check in (I'm in the middle of performing a curve right now, which so far is showing only high numbers). Here's a link to his spreadsheet, and his numbers so far since yesterday morning:

Readings for 9/24-9/25
AMPS 302
+9 350
PMPS 360
+1 370
+3 304
+6 351

If you look at his spreadsheet, his numbers have been staying high for the past week. At first I thought it was a bounce, but usually Lucky's bounces have cleared to good numbers pretty quickly, while these recent numbers have just been consistently high.

I figured it might be one of three things --- either A. the reduction from 2u to 1.75u went very badly (even though he's already back up to 2u, which is strange), B. the change in his feeding schedule hasn't taken very well/isn't working out for him (he used to eat 1/4 can FF before the shot, 1/2 can at shot and then 3/4 can at +6, but now he's eating 1/2 can at shot, 1/2 can at +1, and 1/2 can at +6), or C. the solostar pen pack has gone bad (albeit I just started a new pen yesterday, and he's been having high numbers for almost a week, which means all the pens in the pack would have to be bad). I thought it might be the glucometer, but I checked it against the control solution, and it's still reading properly.

I'm going to try and follow the protocol closely in the days ahead, but I was hoping if anyone might have experience with the kind of situation Lucky seems to be in right now, and any thoughts as to what might be going on and whether I should be changing my approach any as a result. I guess my big worry is that Lucky is still experiencing neuropathy in his back legs, and having him sit through high numbers for more than a couple days seems like it would only make things worse for him. Thanks again everyone for your help, it's much appreciated.
 
I would add another possibility.
something medical could be brewing. dental?
although the timing seems to fit with your new pen.

I hope you are able to figure it out.
 
It looks like Lucky had a dental recently so I think we can rule that out.

If your SS is correct, it looks like your last pen was started in May. I'm surprised you didn't need to start a new pen sooner so it's possible it's the Lantus. If this is the case, it will take a few days for you to see an effect of new insulin. You have to refill the depot with the "good" stuff.

I wouldn't get fixated on the amount of the dose. Lucky needs what he needs. There are times when you do need to raise the dose past what was a previously good dose. Sticking with the protocol is the best way to keep things consistent and see what's going on.
 
Thank you Rihannon and Sienne for the quick response. I certainly hope it's not something medical... I took Lucky in to see the vet about 2 months ago, and he was given a clean bill of health, except for his teeth (which he did get a dental cleaning for a week or so later). As for the Solostar pen, I'm not so sure that's it either --- I started using a new pen the day before yesterday, and I always start a new pen every month (I need to update the SS, sorry about the confusion there). I hope it's a case of just having to wait another day or so for the new pen to take effect, I guess we'll see. I just hope it isn't a sign that all of the pens I had in the refrigerator are bad, I still have two left. :sad:
 
It may not be bad insulin. It may be that Lucky needs more.

If it turns out that the pens are bad, take them back to the pharmacy. Just don't say that it's for your cat. I returned 4 pens after a pharmacy tech slammed a box repeatedly on the counter. I got wonky numbers. They replaced the insulin.
 
Thanks for the follow-up reply Sienne, you might be right that the insulin could still be okay, but for whatever reason his dose just needs to be increased. I guess I'll also wait and see if further dose increases improve his numbers any.

As for returning the insulin, I guess we'll see if it comes to that. Though, it's been maybe 3 or 4 months since I bought it, so chances seem slim for a refund/trade-in. X(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top