9/25 Kitty Cat AMPS 330, PMPS 370 dose increase, eating too much?

Christina & Kitty Cat

Active Member
9/24 thread, History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit after new seafood flavor
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, fed MC, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u
  • 9/25 increased from 0.75u to 1u
At diagnosis on 9/1, Kitty Cat was 7.4lbs (down from 15lbs a year ago). He barely had an appetite, kept throwing up, and lost weight the first week on insulin. Vet said to feed him for an ideal weight of 10lbs. According to this rule [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70 he should be eating 206 cal.

Yesterday, he ate 5 cans of FF LC which is 450 calories according to the food chart. He could've eaten more and was still whining for food, but I don't want to overfeed him. I started spreading out his meals into smaller portions on 9/18 because he has pancreatitis, but now he's just demanding full portions every time.

I want him to gain weight, but I'm worried if this crazy hunger and sudden increase in appetite is an issue? What was supposed to be a lunch snack ended up being 1.25 cans. In the early hours, I'll give him 4 to 8 tsp with lots of water to fill him up but he still screams for more the next hour.

I read this sticky on feeding kitty as much as they want but since Kitty Cat is currently underweight, I'm not really sure when to cut him off. He's already gained half a pound in a short amount of time. (Weight recordings are in my SS)
 
Cats that run highest a lot. Since he needs to gain weight let him. I’d get a digital baby scale to monitor his weight. Once he gets into consistent better numbers he won’t require as many calories. They also get very hungry if they get into hypo range. What’s his ideal weight? Was he heavy at 15 pounds or just right?
 
Cats that run highest a lot. Since he needs to gain weight let him. I’d get a digital baby scale to monitor his weight. Once he gets into consistent better numbers he won’t require as many calories. They also get very hungry if they get into hypo range. What’s his ideal weight? Was he heavy at 15 pounds or just right?
15lbs was overweight. Ideal is 10lbs. Today he's 8.1lbs
 
I also liked using the digital baby/pet scale as my indicator of whether I was feeding the right amount. Cats metabolisms differ (just like us) and do their activity levels, so the feeding guidelines are just that, guidelines not rules. My 14.something pound Neko (not allowed to hit 15), did fine on 200-220 calories per day.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
Back
Top