9/25 Karamelle AMPS 469 +4 449 +9 249 PMPS 301+5 329

JoM

Member Since 2023
9/24 Karamelle AMPS 474 +5 442 +9 278 PMPS 275 +5 336 +9 412

:rolleyes: This is from the teeny tiny change I made to the dose?? Come on Karamelle! I guess this is just the way its going to be. Higher doses go too low at times but have reasonable high numbers and lower doses just have too high numbers, even when the low numbers are reasonable. No in between. Big variance between high and low numbers. And then out of the blue she'll get a couple really good flat low days, then back to craziness again. I dont think after almost 3 years her body will ever adjust. I know its been mentioned for me to try a different insulin, which I will have to do when all the insulin I have expires on 5/27. I started with Lantus and didnt like the fast drops. Levemir has pretty slow steady drops. But also, I was new to diabetes then and maybe just didnt know what I was doing well enough, so I just didnt think the insulin was working correctly. Maybe it was ME that wasnt working correctly. 😜
 
Last edited:
Karamelle seems so sensitive to the smallest bit of insulin! Come on down astronaughty girl! 🚀🪐☄️
Astronaughty! hahaha 🤣

I just noticed that Moonie is on Prozac. Karamelle was on that 4 years ago when I first got Julie. Julie was 8 weeks old and Karamelle hated her and tried to kill her, literally. The prozac worked and she grew used to Julie (so I took her off the prozac), but she still doesnt like her. Julie used to be terrified of Karamelle, but she isnt really anymore. And I see Moonie also has Pancreatitis and IBD. I dont know why I didnt notice this before. It seems Pancreatitis is a bit common in cats with diabetes. Makes sense since both involve the pancreas. I see a lot in my Facebook group Cats with Pancreatitis. Ive had 13 cats with Pancreatitis since 2014, but only one with diabetes tho. I have 4 cats now btw. (two with Pancreatitis)
 
Bell does this sometimes (not nearly to the extent that you've been dealing with lately) and I find it really hard to manage. She'll hit 50s briefly and then be bouncing all over the place for 6-8 cycles and then back down low. Sometimes I feel like her dose needs to be slightly too much for her to get the flat cycles, but that is stressful to manage without constantly being on top of her numbers. I feel for you. Karamelle! Be reasonable!
 
Bell does this sometimes (not nearly to the extent that you've been dealing with lately) and I find it really hard to manage. She'll hit 50s briefly and then be bouncing all over the place for 6-8 cycles and then back down low. Sometimes I feel like her dose needs to be slightly too much for her to get the flat cycles, but that is stressful to manage without constantly being on top of her numbers. I feel for you. Karamelle! Be reasonable!
I see what you mean about Bell's numbers. I thought lowering the dose would keep Karamelle's low's higher and maybe that would cause less bouncing, but it doesnt seem to matter, she just bounces anyway and even higher than when her dose is higher. But maybe you're right that keeping the dose a bit higher will get the lows, under 50, but the highs wont be as bad. Im already testing a couple times during the night, most nights although with the higher numbers, Ive slacked off to just one at +9 (early am). We are only at 0.4U at the moment. And she dropped into the 200's today so far. Honestly I wouldnt mind if she just stayed in the low 200's mid to high 100's. But she has other ideas.
 
Moving to three BG of 40-50 on different days before reducing has helped quite a bit for Bell. But it is a bit more stressful on the monitoring side for me.

It's great to see her on such a low dose (altho I know that has been a nightmare with the bubbles). I hope you find a good balance with her numbers 🤗
 
Last edited:
Moving to three BG of 40-50 on different days before reducing has helped quite a bit for Bell. But it is a bit more stressful on the monitoring side for me.

It's great to see her on such a low dose (altho I know that has been a nightmare with the bubbles). I hope you find a good balance with her numbers 🤗
Oh gosh, the bubbles. I had a terrible time with one tonight, but finally got rid of it. Yes, Ive been following the 3 between 40-50 for quite a while now. Problem is, when she drops its usually in the 30's or even lower. Ive had a few in the 40's tho and I didnt reduce.
 
Astronaughty! hahaha 🤣

I just noticed that Moonie is on Prozac. Karamelle was on that 4 years ago when I first got Julie. Julie was 8 weeks old and Karamelle hated her and tried to kill her, literally. The prozac worked and she grew used to Julie (so I took her off the prozac), but she still doesnt like her. Julie used to be terrified of Karamelle, but she isnt really anymore. And I see Moonie also has Pancreatitis and IBD. I dont know why I didnt notice this before. It seems Pancreatitis is a bit common in cats with diabetes. Makes sense since both involve the pancreas. I see a lot in my Facebook group Cats with Pancreatitis. Ive had 13 cats with Pancreatitis since 2014, but only one with diabetes tho. I have 4 cats now btw. (two with Pancreatitis)
Wow 13 kitties with pancreatitis - no wonder you’re a subject matter expert! IBD and/or pancreatitis do seem really common in cats with diabetes. And for whatever reason I had not connected it to the pancreas before 😅

Moonie was first on Prozac in her old home because the other cat was bullying her quite severely, then was taken off Prozac by the shelter. But then when she came home, we noticed that her anxiety would manifest in stress eating and pica and she’d also get really triggered when she’d see the other two cats fight (even though their fights are really minor). So she went back on Prozac, and it’s been really good for her. She’s been through a lot and she goes through a lot with diabetes - so we’ll take anything that helps reduce her stress and anxiety :)

Haha it’s funny that Karamelle never quite warmed up to Julie. I wonder if it’s a female cat thing. Does Karamelle like the other two kitties? For whatever reason I’ve noticed the female cats seem a lot more territorial with each other, and we’ve always had the most trouble integrating the female cats with one another. Even now, Moonie will happily nap with Wilbur but can be a little cautious around Charlotte.
 
I wonder if it’s a female cat thing. Does Karamelle like the other two kitties?
I think it definitely is. I have 3 females and 1 male. All 3 females get on with my male, Oscar, but Julie is super attached to him because he sort of took her under his wing when she was a kitten. All 3 females hate each other. My 3rd female, Leona, I just got in Feb this year. I told myself I was getting a playmate for Julie, since they are about the same age. But in reality, I had just lost a cat named Tulip to an unexplained sudden death and Leona looked a lot like Tulip. I know thats the worst thing you can do because the new cat will never be your other cat you lost. But strangely she IS very similar. It was a complete fail tho for Julie. They dont get along at all. Although I do find them sparing occasionally and chasing each other. Maybe one day...
 
I think it definitely is. I have 3 females and 1 male. All 3 females get on with my male, Oscar, but Julie is super attached to him because he sort of took her under his wing when she was a kitten. All 3 females hate each other. My 3rd female, Leona, I just got in Feb this year. I told myself I was getting a playmate for Julie, since they are about the same age. But in reality, I had just lost a cat named Tulip to an unexplained sudden death and Leona looked a lot like Tulip. I know thats the worst thing you can do because the new cat will never be your other cat you lost. But strangely she IS very similar. It was a complete fail tho for Julie. They dont get along at all. Although I do find them sparing occasionally and chasing each other. Maybe one day...
Aww I like to think that even if a new cat can never be the cat that you lost, sometimes your guardian angel kitty places another cat in need in your path.

It is funny that none of the three girls like each other. It’s the same for us here too now. Parker and I had two cats each (one male, one female) and then adopted Moonie together. The two boys get along with everyone, but the girls have JUST stopped hissing at each other. So we’re considering that a win.
 
Last edited:
  • Care
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top