9/25 Clare AMPS 393;PMPS 247;+4-330 Dosing, 1-cycle absence?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

Yesterday's Bouncing Condo

Today's News:

AMPS 393
+2: 149
+2.5: 188
+3.5: 124
+4.5: 121
+5.5: 90
+6.5: 85
+9: 77
+10: 129

PMPS 247
+2: 357
+4: 350

A quiet beginning to the day. One cat out, one cat in. Yesterday's sunrise was so beautiful! If I could learn how to post photos I'd send you all one that DH took.

Clare has a vet appointment today. This bounce seems to be taking a long time to clear (famous last words . I hope! ;-) ) and it's time to re-check her labs anyway. If she bounces through the day and the vet report is clear we'll get new insulin. We've been using the vial so I think we'll ask for a prescription for the pen this time.

Wishing all a great day, healing vines and hugs all around,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;+2-149

There goes Clarie - rushing into the healing numbers! I wish she wouldn't hurry so much but it's good to see that the insulin still works and she's still responding.

I've got family affairs (my DM's estate) work to do this morning so DH is handling this one. He's getting very good at it. Love my DH! Love my cat! :smile:

Have a great day!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;+2.5-188;+3.5-124;+4.5-121;+5.5-90

Back on the job at +5.5, just in time to see Clare slip into the greens. Maybe just a toe-dip but we'll take it! Family affairs went well this morning and I think we're in agreement about how to proceed. Sometimes difficult to do when there are 6 sibs!

This afternoon Clare has a vet appointment to take her weight, basic labs and temp; and to look at her ears just in case she might have a low infection of some kind. She's still eating and drinking well so this is just a precaution. Her ketones are negative. Also, we need new prescriptions for insulin and syringes. Another agenda item: I'm having a bit of surgery on Tuesday and will be overnight in the hospital, so I'm also going to ask if they can take care of Clare for Tuesday's AM cycle while we beans are out of the house.

Have a good afternoon, Everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;+2.5-188;+3.5-124;+4.5-121;+5.5-90

Sending good vetty vines for Clare. I hope your surgery on Tuesday goes well.
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;+5.5-90;+6.5-85;+9--77;+10-129;PMPS

Doesn't look like too bad of a bounce thus far, either!


Sending safe and effective surgery vines to you!
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;+9-77;+10-129;PMPS 247;+2-357;+4-330

Thanks for your good wishes, Carla and Molly. All went well for Clare at the vet's this afternoon. We'll get the lab results tomorrow, but the vet said that Clare's looking good, even her ears.

We won't be able to board Clare at the vet's on Tuesday morning.

A question for a short-term safety net for Clare. Since we won't be able to monitor her during the Tuesday AM cycle (we'll be leaving at about 7:30 AM), should we lower her dose on Monday night to 0.25, give her 0.25 on Tuesday morning, and then raise her back to 0.5 on Tuesday night? Is there a better way to keep her safe while we're out of the house? DH will be back home Tuesday mid-afternoon, in time for the PM cycle.

Thanks and have a good night, Everyone!
 
Re: 9/25 Clare AMPS 393;PMPS 247;+4-330 Dosing, 1-cycle abse

weird thing with the blood testing from the blood sample at the vet's. can't explain it, but the other numbers look consistent with each other, so i'd tend to think your relion test of 42 at the vet was probably accurate. comparing the ATs and human glucometers can make people crazy.

That would make me think you should reduce the dose because of the 42.

It's possible that the wonky readings from the blood sample you took home was from too much blood being sucked into the strip. Both too much and too little blood can cause weird numbers.

For Tuesday, I think your first plan of a reduced dose on Monday night and Tuesday morning, or even skip Tuesday morning is a good one. Probably looking at her ss on Monday before the pm shot would be a good time to figure out what that dose amount should be.

I hope your surgery goes well. We'll be thinking of you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top