Chris and Checkers
Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-22-checkers-amps-281-pmps-457.253343/#post-2857125
A couple of days I was asking for dosing advice because my vet had suggested going up because his fructosamine was high, 513. It was suggested that i do a curve on Friday, I had a day off so I did. During the day he was mostly yellow and the +6 was pink, but then his PMPS was under 200. I have had a few preshots under 200 and I am not always sure the best way to handle them, with SLGS. I have skipped a shot, given a token shot and for yesterday's I gave a reduced dose.
Is there consequences to skipping a dose or giving a token dose? Is it safe to give a reduced dose. I imagine eventually I would have to shoot blues. So many of you do I but that's with TR.
I also wonder if the low preshot is because I withhold food 2hrs prior. Normally,, he only eats a bit at a time and grazes throughout the day. He is usually bugging me for food during those two hours before his preshot.
Also, I am assuming I shot maintain his current dose because he went below 150 last night?
Sorry I still have so many questions.
Thanks,
Christine
A couple of days I was asking for dosing advice because my vet had suggested going up because his fructosamine was high, 513. It was suggested that i do a curve on Friday, I had a day off so I did. During the day he was mostly yellow and the +6 was pink, but then his PMPS was under 200. I have had a few preshots under 200 and I am not always sure the best way to handle them, with SLGS. I have skipped a shot, given a token shot and for yesterday's I gave a reduced dose.
Is there consequences to skipping a dose or giving a token dose? Is it safe to give a reduced dose. I imagine eventually I would have to shoot blues. So many of you do I but that's with TR.
I also wonder if the low preshot is because I withhold food 2hrs prior. Normally,, he only eats a bit at a time and grazes throughout the day. He is usually bugging me for food during those two hours before his preshot.
Also, I am assuming I shot maintain his current dose because he went below 150 last night?
Sorry I still have so many questions.
Thanks,
Christine