Re: 9/25 Apollo AMPS 409, +3 363, +6 289, +9 355
John & Apollo said:
Just completed the mini curve for AMPS, +3, +6, +9. Was wondering if I should give him an increase tonight or keep at 2 units/twice a day? If it would be best to wait longer that's fine too, just want to do what's best.
john, my suggestion is to take him up to 2.5u tonight. i'd really like to see those numbers come down further. there's plenty of wiggle room for an increase. you'll want to make sure you stay on top of his numbers.
here's a typical lantus curve, but every cat is different (ECID):
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
if the +2 is lower than the preshot number, there's a real good chance you'll see some action... further testing will be required until you can get a handle on where he's going. we ask everyone to at least get a before bed spot check every night. they're often clues as to whether you have to get up to check his numbers again.
you'll also want to continue testing for ketones whenever you can. he's not yet out of the obvious "danger zone" for developing ketones. although ketones *can* develop when kitty is in lower numbers, too.
The blood tests are getting a "little" easier (mostly due to the Purebite Treats). The toughest part is the prick part. I tried a few times over the past couple of days to use the one touch delica device, but I never seem to be able to get a good prick in and if I do it's so small I can't get that much blood. I have adjusted the depth and everything, but no luck. He definitely feels the prick in his ear. Poor guy has some bruises on his ears even though I kept pressure and put neosporin on him. I have been doing it carefully by hand, but no matter how gentle I am it seems to make him flinch and jerk quite a bit. Any suggestions there? Now his insulin injections on the other hand he could care less. Maybe another lancet device or something?
when i teach people how to hometest, one of the most common problems they experience is having trouble with the lancet device. you have to exert some pressure while sticking him. if apollo will let you, after you prick him with the lancet device you can use the device to put a little more pressure on the ear. this little trick will help blood bead up on the ear... plenty enough to get a reading.
25 or 28 gauge lancets also help until the ears "learn" to bleed".
hope this helps...