9/25 AMPS 478, +3.5 318, +4 308, PMPS 574

JennC & Diago

Member Since 2018
All, hoping to get a few more views on my kitties numbers. I've been working with some experts and have gotten amazing guidance. Just hoping to have a couple more views/thoughts.

I haven't posted in awhile since Diago has been very well controlled for a long time. Unfortunately, a little over a month ago his BG's started to increase. I felt his anal glands and they appeared to be full. Took him to have them expressed and was told yes they were full but no infection and it wasn't thick. Fast forward 3 days later and he now had a bruise and was extremely sensitive back there. Took him back to the vet and they said it will likely rupture and started him on antibiotics and onsior. Sure enough, it ruptured within a day or so. We tried to let it heal on it's own as it had last year but it just wasn't closing. We took him back to the vet and surgically closed it and cleaned his teeth since he was already under anesthesia. As you can see from his SS he is all over the place with his glucose numbers.

The Lantus is kept in the fridge on the top shelf and has about 170u left and is clear. It was opened on July 5th and within the expiration date.

I know Lantus takes a bit for the depot to settle so I'm unsure how that works with the tight regulation theory. Based on how his body acts, some days he will have very flat cycles days and others active. Given he may have three flat days shouldn't we wait a bit longer to see where he lands at the nadir? I was planning to give him two more days at this dose. Thoughts?
 
Hi Jenn,

Sorry Diago is feeling so poorly. He definitely has something going on, so I hope you can figure it out soon. Hopefully somebody with better experience with dosing will comment soon, but one thing I will urge you to do is get more night tests. It's hard for anyone to advise you with much confidence on dosing without at least one test in every cycle outside of the preshot test. Those black numbers could be bounces from much lower numbers experienced at night. Your signature says you are following SLGS but you're asking about tight regulation. Did you decide to switch methods?
 
Hi Jenn,

Sorry Diago is feeling so poorly. He definitely has something going on, so I hope you can figure it out soon. Hopefully somebody with better experience with dosing will comment soon, but one thing I will urge you to do is get more night tests. It's hard for anyone to advise you with much confidence on dosing without at least one test in every cycle outside of the preshot test. Those black numbers could be bounces from much lower numbers experienced at night. Your signature says you are following SLGS but you're asking about tight regulation. Did you decide to switch methods?
I've been asked to do those evening readings and keep putting it off which is totally my fault. Going to adjust his shot time to grab +2 or +3 pm checks. Thanks!
 
Back
Top