9/25/18 Bailey PMPS: 280 +3 133 +4.5 97, Not sure if 911, but scared

Rosie & Bailey

Member Since 2018
Have had dosing issues with Bailey.

Condo: 9/25/18 Bailey AMPS: 315, Messed up fine dosing

She was .5 units, 1x day, but discovered her nadir came just before PMPS so was supposed to switch to .25 twice a day.

Attempted to switch her to .25, but apparently was only giving her .1unit. Discovered that today so corrected and gave .25 AMPS and .25 PMPS.

Now after her PMPS, her BG seems to be dropping quickly, and since she has been slow to react to the insulin, I am nervous about where she might be headed.

The spreadsheet numbers are Alphatrak with Petsure strips (which ran very close to AT strips when I had them), but in the notes I have Prime ReliOn numbers which run 30-50 points lower than the AT numbers. Her Prime reading was 67.

Sorry if these numbers are not panic worthy, but I am a nervous wreck right now.

Thank you for anyone who can help.
 
Last edited:
Sorry for freaking out. I'm concerned she might just keep dropping so I'm hovering over her.
I gave her some food. I will test again.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
 
Sorry for freaking out. I'm concerned she might just keep dropping so I'm hovering over her.
Don't ever be sorry, it's better to be safe and ask for help. You will learn more about how to deal with low numbers as you go along.
The first time I got a low-ish number I fed my cat a whole can of high carb food instead of a tablespoon or two of gravy ;). I learned a lot by asking for help.
 
The first time I got a low-ish number I fed my cat a whole can of high carb food instead of a tablespoon or two of gravy

I can beat that! I knew I could get China's number up by giving her syrup, but I wasn't real clear on how much!

I dumped about a cupful into a bowl and gave it to her...she lapped it up like a good kitty (I was shocked she liked it!)

After that, I found out I was supposed to give a drop or two, not half the bottle :rolleyes:
 
Can you test again, maybe 20-30 minutes after she ate last? It can take up to 30 minutes for the carbs from the food to enter the blood stream.

Looks like you've handled low numbers before. You might want to put notes in the Remarks section on how much food you gave outside the regular meal, what carbs and how much. Then next time she goes lower, you'll have notes on what worked or didn't.
 
You can remove the 911 now....Once we notice, we won't leave you until we know you'll be safe

If you need it again, you can put it back.

I have to get off, but Barbara and Wendy are both very experienced and will watch out for you
 
Ok, so we've got my last Petsure strip, 77

The Prime strip is still 67.

Oh, and I'll admit I had given her more than a teaspoon of food before seeing your response.
The Crave has two sides to it, and I kinda dumped in almost one entire side so maybe about an once of food.
 
I'm not up for much longer, but let's see what your next test is and maybe I can suggest what you do after that.
 
Oh, and I'll admit I had given her more than a teaspoon of food before seeing your response.
The Crave has two sides to it, and I kinda dumped in almost one entire side so maybe about an once of food.

That's fine.....like I said before, we all freak out the first time or two! Once you learn what works for your kitty, you'll feel more in control the next time.....and there's always a "next time"!!
 
Ok, here is the next test at the 25 minute mark.

I used 3 Prime strips:
71, 60, 59.
3 different pokes, sadly.

Her normal feeding time is in 15 minutes, but I guess I will continue with 1 or 2 tablespoons unless you tell me otherwise.

Thank you.
 
The food I'm giving her is Crave, which is apparently 0 carbs. Should I be giving her the Friskies Pate instead with 2.5% carbs?
Crave:
Protein: (min)
12.0%
Fat: (min)
6.5%
Fiber: (max)
1.0%

Carbs: (est)
0.0%
Ash: (est)
3.5%
Moisture: (max)
78.0%

Friskies:
Protein: (min)
11.0%
Fat: (min)
4.0%
Fiber: (max)
1.0%

Carbs: (est)
2.5%
Ash: (est)
3.5%
Moisture: (max)
78.0%
 
Two strips, one poke:
75, 69.

It's going up!
I gave her 2 more teaspoons of Friskies.
I can keep going here, and I can post a 911 if she suddenly stops dropping again so that you can all go to sleep.
I just need to know at what number I stop giving her the Friskies and just keep testing.

Thank you so much for your help!!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh cool, looks like she's surfing :D:D:D:D:D:D
If the Friskies carb count is only 2.5% that means she seems to be holding her own with only low carb food.
If my calculations are correct, Bailey is about 6 hours into her cycle. I'm thinking she should start coming up on her own pretty soon.
Maybe you could wait an hour before the next test and feed.
I am going to tag @Gill & George who has stayed up through the night with with me many a time, while I was just learning how to deal with dropping numbers!!!
I have to admit, I'm getting tired but I'll stay on until I know you're not alone
 
Yay! I was reading the stickies, and I now even know what surfing means so double yay!!

When she was on .5, her cycle lasted 12 hours which I why I freaked out at the low numbers so early on so I may test at 45 minutes to play it safe.

Thank you so much for staying up with me. I will be sure to pay it forward one day.
 
A bit confused about the numbers/strips, when you use the prime are you using the relion meter with the prime strips?
 
Yes. Relion Meter and strips.
Her latest numbers are 89 and 74 so it looks like Barbara was right and she is going up. :)


I gave her a little more Friskies, and I can test in an hour.
Since her numbers are going up, she's out of the danger zone, I think. Is that right?
 
Yes. Relion Meter and strips.
Her latest numbers are 89 and 74 so it looks like Barbara was right and she is going up. :)


I gave her a little more Friskies, and I can test in an hour.
Since her numbers are going up, she's out of the danger zone, I think. Is that right?
How long since she last had High carb?
 
I'm not familiar with the carb content of Friskies, what flavour is it? I know you have the analysis down, but that doesn't give the carb content, but we can look it up on Dr Lisas chart here's the link
http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
you can search for friskies and then the variety you are feeding.
 
She was 89 at +7. I haven't retested yet. I can do that now.
Sorry just trying to wrap my head around the timings, so it's +7.5 ish now, you could retest and if he is still holding or rising, give him a LC snack and head of to bed, you must be tired, rather than waiting till +8 and that way you'll have some peace of mind, though it's probably not necessary. It does look that he is surfing right now or if anything starting to rise.

On your signature it says that you are doing SLGS, if that's still the case the drop below 90 has earned Bailey a reduction to 0.1u.
You certainly test enough and he is on all wet diet so if you were doing TR you could hold the dose. Often folk start on SLGS and then swap to TR when they feel comfortable with testing and feeding, and they have wrapped their heads around FD in general.
 
Thanks. Yeah, sleep would be nice.

I just had her, accidentally, on .1 and I raised her to .25 just today which apparently prompted her little surfing adventure.

Would I downgrade her again because of this, even though I just put her on .25 for 2 cycles (one day)?

Now that I am understanding this better, I think I will consider the TR. Guess I'll be reading up on it after my nap.
 
Thanks. Yeah, sleep would be nice.

I just had her, accidentally, on .1 and I raised her to .25 just today which apparently prompted her little surfing adventure.

Would I downgrade her again because of this, even though I just put her on .25 for 2 cycles (one day)?

Now that I am understanding this better, I think I will consider the TR. Guess I'll be reading up on it after my nap.

On SLGS yes, he earned a reduction, really on SLGS you should have kept him on the 0.1u you gave mistakenly, because you saw him get to nadirs between 149 and 90.

If you decide to swap to TR, then keep him on the 0.25u.

Personally I like TR, we followed it, because though it is a more 'aggressive' approach it pushes them into normal numbers quickly, and in studies this has been shown to give the best chance at remission, and as long as you are able to test it's a method that allows you to get there safely.
 
We've got 111 and 110 at +9! Yay!:D:D:D

Wow, thank you so much everyone. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Going to take another nap and check in on her at +10.:joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Thanks Gill. Well, I overslept past +11 and woke up just in time for AMPS.

I got the following numbers, in this order:
178, 163, 155, 166.

I'm reading the sticky now to figure out what to do with those numbers.
I've been used to the hard and fast rule of not shooting below 200 since I'm a newbie
 
Thanks so much for your oops stories. They are making me smile amidst the nervous tears.

I know she is in good hands, and we will get through this. I'm just getting emotional.
Take a deep breath! Before long you will celebrate seeing the numbers that make you anxious today. You are in great hands with the folks who have already replied to you.

The China syrup story made me smile.
 
Back
Top