9/24 - Wally AMPS=115, +2=83, +3=36,+3.5=56,+4=63,+4.5=68,+5.5=84,+6.25=101,+8.5=380,PMPS=489,+2=454

Ginger Cat

Member Since 2017
I've given him Karo syrup, FF gravy food and some Instinct Dry and will retest again soon. He showed no obvious signs of hypo.

Thank goodness I tested before running errands. Those will obviously have to wait until tonight/tomorrow.

Will continue to retest until he's back up. He just test at 56 at 12:03 pm about 25 minutes since his last test.

Does this mean he gets an automatic reduction tonight?

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-3-90-4-77-6-95-pmps-172.235780/#post-2641994
 
Last edited:
So sorry you are dealing with this! I will let wiser ones advise you, but I think it does mean he get a reduction tonight. Thank goodness you tested and had high carb food & syrup on hand!
 
38 on AT2 is SUPER low. Remember the take-action number on AT2 is 68. Is he coming up from the carbs? You may consider taking him to the vet (again I'm not experienced here but I've seen other condos with kitties going this low).

Here's the sticky for dealing with low-numbers - quick points below in case you don't have it printed/handy - please post an update as soon as you can (title/SS/post).
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.


Let me see if others are around to help...
 
38 on AT2 is SUPER low. Remember the take-action number on AT2 is 68. Is he coming up from the carbs? You may consider taking him to the vet (again I'm not experienced here but I've seen other condos with kitties going this low).

Here's the sticky for dealing with low-numbers - quick points below in case you don't have it printed/handy - please post an update as soon as you can (title/SS/post).



Let me see if others are around to help...
Yes - he's starting to come up (up to 56) and I've fed him some more FF gravy and will retest in 15 minutes. He's not as disoriented, for sure. I've just read all the sticky's for dealing with low numbers, thanks.
 
Yes - he's starting to come up (up to 56) and I've fed him some more FF gravy and will retest in 15 minutes. He's not as disoriented, for sure. I've just read all the sticky's for dealing with low numbers, thanks.
That's good to hear. Keep feeding and retesting every 20 minutes. You may realize this but the sticky references numbers on a human meter (take action number for human meter is <50). Wally is still very, very low but sounds like he's in your good hands :bighug:
 
Don't panic. My Chloe has been going below 35 so many times and comes back up after eating. I will first give her some treats, which she never refuses. When she went down to 28 the other day, I was a little scared, so I rubbed her lips with a drop of honey in addition to feeding her. Was your cat hungry? Chloe is ravenous when she drops low. I don't know how to post her spreadsheet. I will figure it out soon. I never give Chloe insulin unless she is above 150 and also reduce the dose slightly.
 
That's good to hear. Keep feeding and retesting every 20 minutes. You may realize this but the sticky references numbers on a human meter (take action number for human meter is <50). Wally is still very, very low but sounds like he's in your good hands :bighug:
Jax, I just looked at your spreadsheet and it seems that 1.75 is the right dose. Good job!
 
Hello! Looks like you are being a rockstar handling that hypo. It looks like your sugar cat usually hit's nadir by +6, so keep testing and keep your eyes peeled until he starts going back up after the +6 mark.

I don't know tight regulation as well as SLGS. I'll let the TR folks comment on lowering your dose, though I do believe a hypo reading in either protocol is reason to lower dose. Looks like your kitty has a good chance at remission, so fingers crossed.
 
Hello! Looks like you are being a rockstar handling that hypo. It looks like your sugar cat usually hit's nadir by +6, so keep testing and keep your eyes peeled until he starts going back up after the +6 mark.

I don't know tight regulation as well as SLGS. I'll let the TR folks comment on lowering your dose, though I do believe a hypo reading in either protocol is reason to lower dose. Looks like your kitty has a good chance at remission, so fingers crossed.
Actually - Wally is being a rock star. He's still purring while I'm sticking his ear. Given how many times I've tested him over the past week, he's amazing. Normally he alerts me when he's low by begging for food, but he didn't do so this time. I thought something might be wrong when I picked him up and he went totally limp in my arms...
 
For what it's worth, Phoebe Squeak once went as low as 33 on an AT meter -- she seemed fine but I was glad I tested anyway. I keep some high carb food around that she loves, so I fed some of that and she came back up. Hang in there, you are doing great.
 
You are handling this correctly. The fact that he went limp means he’s was showing symptoms of a hypo. Good catch. He’s might be more sensitive to insulin. What are you feeding? I’d be feeding hc with some karro or honey until into the 70’s with the AT. Then just hc food. Hc alone takes about 30 minutes to work. Syrup has a quick reaction but food keeps him up longer.
 
You are handling this correctly. The fact that he went limp means he’s was showing symptoms of a hypo. Good catch. He’s might be more sensitive to insulin. What are you feeding? I’d be feeding hc with some karro or honey until into the 70’s with the AT. Then just hc food. Hc alone takes about 30 minutes to work. Syrup has a quick reaction but food keeps him up longer.
I've been feeding him FF Gravy and he's just tested at 68. Will continue to feed HC and test. Only gave him karo syrup initially when I first tested and he was 36. I did give him about 10 pcs of Instinct dry to try and get his BG up quickly.
 
I've been feeding him FF Gravy and he's just tested at 68. Will continue to feed HC and test. Only gave him karo syrup initially when I first tested and he was 36. I did give him about 10 pcs of Instinct dry to try and get his BG up quickly.
He's on his way up. Don't give any more food or syrup until you see his next number. I sometime over-compensate and the number goes too high.
 
Dry actually takes longer to work. If caught just under 68 I would start with hc alone and if that didn’t work hc with some syrup. I strongly disagree with not feeding at all with the 68. I would feed some lc and test in 30 minutes.
 
Nice catch with Wally!
Sorry I didn't see the tag as I've been mired in work problems and helping my cat come up from a low, but you're doing a great job getting him back up, and I see you have Elise (tiffmaxee) helping you.
You are handling his drop beautifully! :bighug:
 
I think we're out of danger. He just tested at 101 at +6.25! He's more alert, for sure.
Thanks everyone for being here, as always. I'll be reducing back down to 1.75 and hope to continue to see the dark greens and blues on his spreadsheet.
 
Back
Top