9/24 Tori AMPS 225; +7~178 New Chemo Tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25769

Hi everybody. Well I don't really know where to begin so I'll start with a WCR. Well she saw some blue again today which is good. I've been thinking of maybe upping her dose again but will hold off until her vet appointment tomorrow. There is a chance that the Pred will be discontinued. She's been eating well today. She's already downed a small can of Wellness, 4 heaping teaspoons of her raw chicken and 2 heaping teaspoons of the fishy combo. She hasn't had dinner yet. So I'm pleased. Right now she's cuddling with my grand daughter. They have become such good friends.

Doug called today. The oncologist finally got back to him. The news isn't really very good. She said that because Tori never really went into remission with the protocol she was on that we should now give her a rescue drug CCNU (Lomustine) or she still feels that radiation would be much more effective. As I've mentioned before radiation isn't really a viable option for us. It would mean she would have to go down to Calgary for 4-6 weeks for treatment which would be 3 times a week. Because of my work schedule she would have to board most of the time. I only get 2 weekends off a month. That would mean that the staff would be in charge of her diabetes. DOug and I both have a lot of reservations as how that would go down. She would be away from me for a at least a week at a time. Also there is the cost. It would be $8000 for the radiation and then of course the boarding costs. All in all we both feel that it just isn't right for us. I couldn't bear the thought of Tori spending what may be the majority of the rest of her life in a cage with just strangers being around her.

So we are opting for the CCNU. The upside to this drug is that it is oral and at least at first we would be giving it every 6 weeks. The main side effect of this drug is immunosupression . There are few GI side effects. However the question is of course will it work. The only way to know is to try it. So that's what we're going to do. I'll be taking Tori in tomorrow afternoon. She'll have her CBC checked as usual and then receive the med.

I don't know guys. I'm just so depressed about all this. I just keep thinking that I'm going to loose her and I can't bear it. I'm been fighting back tears all afternoon and was so grateful when Tori and Ayanna both fell asleep so I could indulge myself in a darn good cry. I know it's not good for Tori to see me upset it only serves to stress her out. I keep thinking we have fought so hard and that now matter what I do we're going to loose anyway. I guess I just need someone to hold me while I cry and then say OK that's enough. Get off your butt and fight for your baby. Tomorrow I'm going to ask Doug how long he thinks she'll have if this drug doesn't work.

My family have not been supportive to say the least. My daughter doesn't give a hoot at all and Daniel well all he said was "I'm sorry you're sad but you knew the odds were stacked against her.' All I really wanted was a hug and a shoulder to cry on.

I'm sorry I've been ranting and rambling here. Please pray for my baby tomorrow.

Kiss all your babies for me. They all are so very, very precious.
 
(((Barb)))

You are doing everything you can. You are giving her every opportunity for remission or recovery. Tori knows that. What happens next is up to her and she's a fighter. Trust her.
 
there are more than enough hugs here form all of us. I know you will fight for your baby - it is what we all do. You are in our thoughts, and our prayers - you and Tori. I send positive strong healing vines for her. It's Ok to feel as you do - I know I would. cry all you need to - you will feel better. I too couldn't send her away for that amount of time - I just wonder how healing it would be. I truly hope the new chemo works for you. I believe that it will. Hang in there, enjoy the time with your girl - the mutual support and love will get you through. I am sorry that your family is not supportive - been there, and know how tough that alone can be. We are all here for you. (((Barb))) (((Tori)))
 
(((((((((Barb & Tori))))))))) We are sending all the best thoughts and prayers for success with the new chemo. Never forget that we at FDMB are here for you and we support you 100%. Tori will do the very best she can, because she loves you and she trusts you. Let her love for you give you strength, too. You are not alone, Barb. And you are making the right decision by keeping your kitty with you and not entrusting her to strangers in a strange place.

Many hugs and good chemo vines for tomorrow,
Ella & Stu
 
Barb and Tori we are here for you and I honestly cannot even begin to put myself in your shoes with kids well I can relate a little I have 3 grown sons and my middle son thinks it crazy how much I spend on Do Lou for FD so I guess until they love something as much as we love our sweet cats they are just not going to understand, wishing you the best with your next step with Tori and I hope it helps her I cannot imagine ever being without Do Lou either sending you a ton of snowflakes and healing vines for not only Tori but for you as well for support
quaint2.gif
 
((((((((((((((((Barb))))))))))))))) (((((((((((((Tori)))))))))))))

We have pretty broad shoulders that can support you and your tears. Both you and Tori are doing the very best you can. But all this has to be so hard. What an emotional roller coaster you have been riding. We understand and we are walking with you right now.

Sending lots of hugs, luv and healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top