9/24 Tiggy PMPS 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

52 this morning and thirsty so I stalled for 30 mins and he went to 65.Is now asleep on my knee. I wonder though if he is rising now, if 52 just happened to be the lowest he got or whether he had gotten lower at some point.

Oh and he did the yowling thing a little last night but no toy this time, just was attacking our door mat...
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76

+1 is 76 - looks like he is on the rise. and I gave him breakfast before he chews my leg off ;)
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76

Hi Wendy,

Tiggy's numbers look good this morning! I am new to regulating (I've only ever shot what vet prescribed). I'm curious, did you shoot this morning with an AMPS like that? How much do you give?
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76

he was 52 so I didnt feed him and waited half an hour and measured again to see which way he was going. If he was dropping, i would have waited and probably even given some high carb food . But since he was on the rise and his insulin would be running out, I decided to give him his shot. I gave him the full amount because its best to be as consisent as possible. There is a sticky on dealing with low preshots here http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

This isnt the first time Tiggy has done this, Sienne coached me through it the last time so I was well prepared!
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76

Thanks for sharing the sticky and the other info on protocol. Aghhh I was afraid to shoot at all with his BG so low and because I have to leave for work. Still so new to all of this that I'm afraid of acting alone. Better to err on the side of hyper, is that right? :/

Good luck with Tiggy today!
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76 + 2 76

Well that changes things... If you cant test then better to be safe than sorry. Over time you would learn if its safe to shoot and go to work at that level but you dont have enough experience yet with him to know so best to just leave it. I have had a cat with a hypo and I was lucky I caught it. High blood sugar is damaging long term but low blood sugar can kill very quickly.

Anyway we will see where he is tonite. It might mean you shoot and have to get up during the night a couple of times but I am hoping someone else will chip in with advice!
 
Re: 9/24 Tiggy AMPS 65 +1 76 + 2 76

Hi guys .. nice 'hooting and beautiful numbers from tiggy! I have a good feeling about his numbers today .. have a great day guys!
 
BOING!!! So much for good numbers. Bailey bounced too.Plus did I tell you I have 2 rabbits aged 10 and 12 and they are both sick now? and my civvie cat has acne. i think i need something stronger than ~O) ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top