? 9/24 Shelly AMPS 288 – Managing a Weekend Away

Carina and Shelly

Member Since 2026
Previous Post

Good morning FDMB,

Our dose has been 0.25 for four cycles. Her overnight nadir was 225. We misremembered the TR protocol for increasing after three cycles, and we increased to 0.5 this morning.

We have a cat sitter this weekend. She is comfortable learning the libre3 installation, but less comfortable using the ReliOn. We are gone Friday-Sunday and we are hopeful that Shelly's blood sugar remains stable and the Libre3 remains viable. We are concerned about what happened earlier this week with her numbers being low and the Libre failing: ? - 9/21 Shelly AMPS 169 Low numbers

We are hoping for some advice regarding what we should do in terms of insulin dose level (we increased sooner than TR protocol suggests). We are anxious about what we should do if the Libre3 fails while we are away or if Shelly's numbers go low like they did earlier this week. What have others done with cat sitters to releave the stress of being away? This is our first time being away since diagnosis and we want it to go smoothly, if possible.
 
Previous Post

Good morning FDMB,

Our dose has been 0.25 for four cycles. Her overnight nadir was 225. We misremembered the TR protocol for increasing after three cycles, and we increased to 0.5 this morning.

We have a cat sitter this weekend. She is comfortable learning the libre3 installation, but less comfortable using the ReliOn. We are gone Friday-Sunday and we are hopeful that Shelly's blood sugar remains stable and the Libre3 remains viable. We are concerned about what happened earlier this week with her numbers being low and the Libre failing: ? - 9/21 Shelly AMPS 169 Low numbers

We are hoping for some advice regarding what we should do in terms of insulin dose level (we increased sooner than TR protocol suggests). We are anxious about what we should do if the Libre3 fails while we are away or if Shelly's numbers go low like they did earlier this week. What have others done with cat sitters to releave the stress of being away? This is our first time being away since diagnosis and we want it to go smoothly, if possible.
Maybe you will get suggestions for a "vacation dose" to keep her safe while you are away.

I haven't left my house in 4 years, so I can't answer this question of how to handle a failed Libre.
Hoping all goes smoothly and you enjoy the time away!
 
After a reduction (with TR), you hold the dose until any bounce clears. Then if you aren't seeing green nadirs, you increase back up. I don't think the bounce was over yet. In your case, you also had a skip the night of the 21st which depleted the depot. Typically you wait six cycles after a skip to evaluate a dose.

Given the above, you might want to go back to 0.25 units for this weekend. You don't want her back at a dose that got her under 50 while you are away. The three days away should be fine even if slightly higher numbers. If she needs an increase when you are back, you can increase then.
 
After a reduction (with TR), you hold the dose until any bounce clears. Then if you aren't seeing green nadirs, you increase back up. I don't think the bounce was over yet. In your case, you also had a skip the night of the 21st which depleted the depot. Typically you wait six cycles after a skip to evaluate a dose.

Given the above, you might want to go back to 0.25 units for this weekend. You don't want her back at a dose that got her under 50 while you are away. The three days away should be fine even if slightly higher numbers. If she needs an increase when you are back, you can increase then.
Thank you so much 🙏 This sounds like a solid plan.
 
Back
Top