9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154,PMPS-161,3.5-198

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79669
9/23 Racci AMPS-231,+2.5-186,+5.5-164,+8.5-182,PMPS-147

Racci has been doing great on her new dose decrease for almost a week now. All of a sudden her bg went way high. I also opened her new 2 cases of food which for some reason have more of the pectin sauce than usual and her insulin is at the bottom of the bottle. Those are the only things I can think of that might have caused the increase in bg other than the dose itself and the dose was working up to 3 days ago. So was the insulin for that matter, leaving me to think it might be the food. Is the pectin high in carbs and would extra pectin mean extra carbs? The other option would be the dose. Maybe now that the shelf has emptied from the larger dose, she's feeling a build-up of low doses?

I've got to get Racci's numbers back down quickly. She's getting her neuropathy back again & also had constipation again yesterday, both are probably from the high numbers since theres nothing else wrong with her right now.


I've ordered a new bottle that will be ready tomorrow hopefully. I don't know what I'll do about the food. I have 2 cases & I's have to order more in the hope that it's the regular type. I'd really appreciate input on this from some of the wise ones. Thanks!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217-Dose Advice?

Hi Melanie,

I`m just here to keep you company for a minute while you wait for the wise ones -- I hope you are feeling better, first of all :YMHUG: and second, I`m so sorry Racci is feeling badly... it`s so hard when they`re going through something -- I hope it gets resolved poste-haste!! We send lots and lots of healing vines and concern. cat_pet_icon

Alexa&Reuben
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217-Dose Advice?

Looking at Racci's SS, be right back. (((Melanie)))
Jane

EDITED to add: Ok. Looking at the SS, it's been a while since she's had an all-blue cycle that's "blue enough" to not be explained away by meter variance. I'm concerned about the neuropathy you mention setting back in. Pectin is something I know next to nothing about in terms of carbs - I'm sure you'll get feedback once others chime in on that. I also notice you saying she' been constipated - which, seeing the SS, seems to overlap with the yellow preshots... I'm not sure that higher BGs would *cause* constipation per se? I think it might be more the reverse? Constipation = feeling uncomfortable = getting stressed = higher numbers...?

I'm not certain I'm reading the dosing remarks right on your SS. The first recent time I'm seeing "s3u/f2.75u" is on the 15th of September. IMHO it's unlikely that now, fairly suddenly, so many days later, her shed would be drained to the extent of pushing her BG up this way. I'd think it's more likely that something else is the cause. Food, possibly (as I said, if someone else knows about Pectin, pipe in, please!). Is pain a possibility? How are her anal glands - could her issues in that area be playing up? When was her last dental? Anything else changed, that could be freaking her out? Is there *anything* else in her behaviour that has changed? (Do you have other food you can feed, from a different batch etc.?)

I know you've been hovering around this dose for so long, trying dosecreases... I know you must be frustrated, and I so sympathise! What do you think about the points I've raised - anything ring any bells?

Personally, I'd probably want to hold off on dose changes before I could maybe, hopefully! have a better idea of what's behind the suddenly different preshots. (Barring, of course, Racci just being a cat...!)

Hang in there, Melanie!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

Hi Alex,

Thanks. I'm feeling a little better today, thanks. My ear isn't hurting as much but I am still pretty stuffy and coughing.

Racci has been sleeping most of the morning but at least she pooped today and ate her breakfast. She hasn't been eating much but has no infection that I can see so other than the high bg I don't really see anything wrong.

Thanks for asking and keeping me company. Normally she would never be this high to start with and would have gone way down by now!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

Hi Jane,

Sorry for the delay. I didn't scrollup and see your post by the edit. I think you're having trouble reading my sheet. First of all, per the blues, did you notice the greens? She's been more green than blue or at least equal blue and green for quite a while. I know I changed the colors so it might be confusing. The reason I mention this is because you mention the blue, but not the green. It's become unusual for Racci to not be green most of the day with a blue in the preshots usually but sometimes green also.

Her anus is clear of the sores as far as I can see right now and her anal glands also look good so I don't see a reason there. She does need a shave though so it's possible something is hiding. She is not acting like it hurts though when I clean her.

This decrease actually started on the 5th but I have been decreasing further everytime she went lower than 50 since then. The latest decrease was the 15th which brought her to the one that's almost 2.75U.

When Racci is constipated, her bg always goes up and whenever she doesn't feel good it goes up. Racci has chronic constipation and takes 1/4 tsp bid every day. She was constipated 1 day this week yesterday.

Unfortunately I don't have any other food that she will eat. She's so fussy she will only eat this and the only store that carries it is all the way in town! I have to go to town to buy some to test. I have others here but she may or may not eat them - usually not! She's a prima donna when it comes to food and only eats one wet food! I have to order online for her.

She's not even going down during the day. it's staying in the high blues which is really unusual for her.

Did I answer everything? Any ideas?

Thanks so much!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

I'm also concerned about the neuropathy! It's really hard on her and I think it could have had a part in the constipation as well. She doesn't want to walk anywhere of try to push in the lb.
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

Hi Melanie

Yes, I did see the greens :smile: I emphasized that she had an all-blue cycle since it's been a while since that happened (because, yes, normally, she's seen a decent amount of green).

Has Racci shown you pain-reactions in the past (when you clean her anal region, for example)? I ask because cats are so notorious for hiding/masking pain.

I take it she is on Miralax? I know next to nothing about that med - is there a way you could up the dose? (I would have to defer to others' expertise on this.)

If constipation has caused BG spikes in the past, I think it may well be the cause for the two yellow preshots. Any dehydration signs? (Skin tenting test? Tacky gums?)

Other than these points, I'm at a loss... Any LB action today? Prolonged constipation may keep her higher? Any chance of giving her squids (subsutnaeous fluids) if her hydration were off?

Hang in there! Thinking of you!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

I'm at a total loss, Jane.

Racci is a baby. She cries when in pain and always tells me. When she has sores she cries when I clean her. She always calls me right away when she poops so I can clean her because she knows it hurts to be dirty and mommy makes it better. She lies down to have it cleaned and lets me know when it hurts. I clean her every time and powder her. I don't think there's anything there now.

I'm the miralax pro, :lol: . I think I've been using it longer than most. I gave her extra yesterday and she went then and this morning so that's gone now. She's back on her regular dose unless I see she needs more again.

She's nicely hydrated. Racci loves water and has always drank a lot. She has a fountain and 2 other bowls in different rooms. I give her bottled spring water from the fridge and she flips for it when it just comes out of the fridge and is nice and cold. :razz: She drinks a lot every day but always has since I got her the fountain and started using spring water.

If I had to, I'm sure I could give her squids but I don't think it's needed.

I think it's the food, or maybe the insulin. When I go to pick up the insulin, I'll pick up a few cans of food if they have her kind and call the online merchant. I don't know what to do about it. Maybe I could save it for HC if that's what it is? Meanwhile I'll need other food. (It smells good and she's eating it so it's not bad).

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

Pectin shouldn't be a problem. This is from Drugs.com
eals high in soluble fiber have been shown to reduce the rise in postprandial blood glucose and insulin concentrations. However, a few trials specifically evaluating the effect of pectin on markers of diabetes have been less convincing. No change in fasting plasma glucose levels and no effect on postprandial glucose response were noted for pectin in healthy adults or adults with dietary-controlled type 2 diabetes, while hypoglycemic actions were noted in nondiabetic patients with hyperlipidemia.

I am going to give you noodles -- no PM tests from the 21st to the 23rd. There's no way to know what's been going on without that info.

I don't think the neuropathy would be set off by a few yellows. Racci has largely been well regulated. I wonder if this is arthritis? If it is, in fact, arthritis you're seeing she may be in discomfort. You may want to have her vet check this out.
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171-Dose Advice?

Hi Sienne,

You think it could be arthritis? It did turn cold the past few days! Maybe the cold stirred up the arthritis? She refuses to go in her nice warm beds and insists on sleeping on her turbo scratcher lately so I've been covering her with a blanket and she let it stay on the past couple of nights. I have no idea why she does this when she has 3 beds and numerous matts around. She's been taking Cosequin and that seemed to help her. She's also letting me brush her legs a little which she usually won't let me go near if she's in pain so IBE didn't think arthritis. Maybe you're right though with the change in weather. She has had the neuropathy stirred up before from just yellows. That's Racci's high nowadays.

I've been too sick to stay up at night to test her. My eyes are all grainy and yucky and I can't see well. I've just been getting up and giving her food just in case she did get low and because she's used to it. Personally I think she's just kept coasting those same high numbers she's been doing in the day. I'll try to get one today.

Anyway thanks for the idea. If you think of anything else please let me know. I have to update and get her meds ready for shot & food. bbs. Thanks for the info about the pectin!!!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

Oh poor Racci! I didn't realize how much everything hurts but you are such a wonderful bean to be there every time to make everything ok. My heart just goes out to her the way you describe it. I hope everything gets worked out with the values and food. (((Racci))) (((Melanie)))
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

Melanie

Sending you healing vines.

Pain is pain in a cat and it can raise the BG.
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

If the Cosequin isn't doing the job, talk to your vet about Adequan. It's an injection. I think several people here have used it.
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

Moonie is on Adequan & I think It has helped her--It is injectable & causes no pain..Moonie is moving better since she is on it..Hope Racci feels better--She also could be feeling your distress & could be higher from stress...Hope you find out what is bothering her--Feel better yourself--Sending Healing vines for both of you!! Hugs & love from us!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

Lots more healing vines from me, too (((Melanie and Racci))). Would you consider treating for pain on the *option* that she has it and is hiding it well, and then see if her numbers come down?

Hugs and hugs, and more hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154-Dose Advice?

Hi Lisa, Marje, Sienne, & Roni,

I'm back finally. I had experimented before by testing Racci at +9 and then feeding her even though it was too close to her preshot test so I could see what this food is doing to her bg and it showed the info you found, Sienne, to be true. Her bg at +9 was 154 and then after eating and waiting until her preshot, about 2 hours, she was only 161 so the extra pectin is not affecting the bg.

I discussed Adequan with the vet once before and she thought we should try the cosequin instead and see how that worked for Racci. She wasn't thrilled about giving Adequan to Racci because she would have to come often for the shots and Racci gets terribly upset on the long trip back and forth and her asthma gets aggravated. She also felt that the shots would be painful for Racci since they're muscle shots and need to be given in her most painful spots, the thigh or back. And that Racci was feeling well basically and was doing very well and we shouldn't mess with a good thing. How could we tell if now she needs it?

Sorry it took so long to type this. I fell asleep several times in the middle. I did test Racci and as I thought she is running the same lousy numbers at night, 3.5-198.

Thank you all so much for your caring concern and good suggestions. Have a good night!
 
Re: 9/24 Racci AMPS-217,+3.5-171,+6-158,+9-154,PMPS-161,3.5-

Hi Jane,

I must have been posting when you did. I don't know if I ever finished replying to you before. If not, I'm sorry. I will tomorrow. I keep falling asleep. I just don't feel well and am so tired! I hate that!

Yes, I would treat without proof but I want to get her new insulin first and make sure that' not what it is. I also would want to give it myself I think. I'll have to talk to the dr and see what she thinks

Thanks again for all, Jane.

Hugs & good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top