9/24 Powder AMPS 500 PMPS 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
After last nights lows nailbite_smile and multiple snacks AMPS 500 :shock: Most what he ate was carb free except at +5 gave him a Tbsp of gravy from dog food. I cut back a little on Lantus gave 1.1U. AT+10 55 gave turkey snack +11 98 gave no carb dinner +12(PMPS) 233. 1.1 U +1 280. I'm not good with computers so please bear with me never did anything like this before and.. :? if link for SS isn't here its at my 9/21 post sorry. I'll get the hang of this yet.
 
I saw the note on your SS about maybe having given Powder too much food last night. The 500 at AMPS is a bounce -- it's not from food. Because Powder's numbers were in the greens, his liver panicked and dumped glucose and counterregulatory hormones into his bloodstream. It's the way the liver protects your kitty from numbers dropping into numbers that it's not been used to seeing for a while due to the diabetes.

I want to encourage you to read over the sticky note on the Tight Regulation Protocol. Specifically,
"General" Guidelines:

--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

You increased Powder's dose after 4 cycles and then shaved the dose this morning. You want to hold the dose for at least 5 days so you can allow enough time for Powder's shed to form. Lantus likes consistency. If you shift around doses, the numbers tend to get weird. For now, you might want to consider holding the dose at 1.0u for a few more cycles.
 
Hello Powder I have not visited your condo before so just want to welcome you and let you know you are certainly at the right place these people here have given me such good advice over time and Do Lou and I would not be doing as well as we are now if it were not for this board try to take time to read and read again the stickys at the top of this page you just cannot read them to much and Sienne has given you wonderful advice :-D We all hate bouncing it seems to come with this FD game all about getting the liver used to those lower numbers again so it does not panic at the right numbers it will happen it time :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top