9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
I finally got Paisley's numbers for the past month off the meter and they're not good. They are mostly in the high 200's to the 400's. There are a three like tonight's.

There have been a lot of stressful things going on with me and her. She got sprayed by a skunk. I kept thinking it would go down when things were better.

ave increased her Lantus to 3u, .25u at a time. It doesn't seem to have any effect. After looking at the numbers, which are not on her spreadsheet yet. Working on that. Figuring out all the + numbers takes a bit.

She eats raw mostly. For a while it was raw, Wellness grain free, fancy feast and some friskies special diet low carb. She seemed to be craving beef. I gave her some to keep her busy while I was cooking and she attacked it. I started giving her some and made a couple meals using beef and added bone meal to make up for lack of bone.

She's started drinking water, which she hadn't been doing. I'm really worried.

SPREADSHEET NOT UPDATED. WORKING ON IT.
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507

Hi Lylene, sorry to hear about the high numbers. Are you testing for ketones? With very high numbers it is important to keep on top of ketone testing to prevent serious problems from developing. Please get you SS filled in as the dosing advisors will need all that information. Take a look at Tess's SS. I put a line in with the actual times under the + hours. It makes it easier to figure things out when you are filling the SS in.

Just feeding raw food is not a complete diet, even with the ddition of bone meal. Please read Dr Lisa's page on making raw food. There are several supplement that need to be added.

I woud suggest that you take the 911 off as this is not a life threatening situation right now and put Dose? please help in the subject line.
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

I did get strips to test for ketones and glucose. So far ketones have been negative. She's good about peeing in a cup. I found that little cups from applesauce works really well for collecting urine. Knew they'd come in handy. Never expected to use it for urine collection, though.

I should have said raw diet. Normally I use ground whole chicken plus cooked egg whites, raw yolks (because we have our own chickens & ducks), little bit of low carb veggies, beef liver (instead of the ick that comes with the chicken), supplements. It is an actual recipe. The beef meal I gave her I added bone meal in addition to everything else. She also got a few pieces of raw beef as treats. Hope that makes sense because I'm too tired for anything to make sense. Waiting for her to hit the litter box again.

2:45a - Ketones negative
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

just stopping by to say hello...and hope that Paisley's numbers come back in line.

also bumping your post so it can get some experienced eyes as they come back on the board...

there aren't many folks around right now...
but i know you'll get some input tomorrow...

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

Please update your spreadsheet. It will make it much easier for us to help you.

The one observation I can make is that you are holding on to your doses for too long. If you go back to the information in the Tight Regulation sticky, if the nadir is over 200, you want to increase the dose after 3 days. Sticking with a dose that's not working can make it harder to get the numbers to come down.
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

Hi Lylene!

What I would like to see before you do another increase is a couple more night spot checks, and also if she gets another yellow preshot I'd like to see some spot checks after that. Yesterday's cycle looks like a bounce, but we need to figure out what she is bouncing from. If she is bouncing off of blue numbers then it's ok to increase the dose, but you want to be sure she isn't going lower and you're just missing it. See how she went high after the blue on 9/18? And you don't know if she was lower than 153, but she probably did because most cats have nadirs earlier than +8. Did she go lower on the night of 9/23? Possibly, so maybe the high numbers on 9/24 are a bounce. Need more data to figure it out for sure.
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

just want to send you a little encouragement - it sounds like you're exhausted. hoping for a more restful day for you and paisley.

can you enter numbers straight into the computer after you test? i leave my computer open and just do it then, otherwise it gets so overwhelming! good luck to you today!
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

Any new tests today? Julie is right just keep the SS open and enter the info as you go, much easier. I keep Tess's SS, her condo and the Lantus forum open in tabs all the time. It is just a keystroke to switch and keep things updated.
 
Re: 9/24 Paisley AMPS~354, +4 416, PMPS 507 -Dose? please he

Sorry I only got one test after her am shot. Did chores and laid back down with Paisley and Scottie in Paisley's room and just woke up. Did a +11 test. Have to do chores again.Then will work more on the SS.

Someone mentioned the 153 on 9/18. It jumped back up and 9/13 there was a 152 and 9/10 there was 159 and on 8/25 a 199. Everything else is above, way above sometimes.

Thanks for helping. Sorry I not being more helpful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top