9/24 Ollie PMPS @+24 205, +4 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O) Looks like I won't be going btb!!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)

It seems Ollie is back in the saddle again! After skipping thursday's PM shot due to a 55 reading and staying at low 60's for 2 hours stalling....he's starting it again. This is what happened the last time (7/7/11) we started reductions....and the vet had us take them too soon...maybe. Looks like I get a do over and hope to get some experienced voices now that I've found the board.

I'm okay this morning and am stalling and hope to be able to shoot a full 5 unit dose....thankful it's the weekend. He woke me at 3am for food...empty bowl...fed him a can of FF and went btb without getting a test (should have tested...a lesson learned). So the 61 has a bit of food behind it....1 can 3 hours ago...and a couple of test treats.

I'll keep testing every 1/2 hour and can stall (is there a limit on stalling...2 hrs?.... or could I stall 3 to 4 hours? Siince he got back in the saddle from thursday PM so quickly should there be another dose reduction....how low did he go last night (darn I wish I tested @3am!).

I know it's early on a saturday morning and I don't expect quick answers. I'm confident to handle this AM situation and will post as I do. What I do need is some advice on what to do about a dose I can shoot consistantly....or am I just wimping out ,
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61...Stalling & Dose?

I just gave my cat his insulin and was going to go back to bed, since it's my only day off, but thought I would look at the board real quick to see if anyone needs any help early on a Saturday morning, and here you are. :-D

I believe the maximum stall time is 2 hours. Let's see where he is at +12.5. Hopefully, he has risen. I'm going to set an alarm, and get up and check on you. What are your limits on how long you can stall, without affecting your 12 hour shot schedule when you go back to work? I know you recently stalled the shot, and are probably a bit behind on your normal schedule already.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61...Stalling & Dose?

Dyana...you are kind but it's your weekend and go btb....just get your thinking cap on for later in the day.

He's 66 at 12.5...much better than thursday. I hope for higher reading at +13. I'm getting insulin in him this AM...even a reduced shot if necessary.

Pretty flexable with schedule.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61...Stalling & Dose?

Okay. If he's risen again at +13, then I think it's okay to shoot. Hopefully, someone will be on the board then to help you decide on a dose. Let's see, I am hoping for a nice 78 for you to shoot...how's that :razz:
I'll set an alarm anyway, just in case.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +12.5 66 Stalling & Dose?

78 or even 75...I would shoot full....I would put my big girl pants on and shoot a 70. You all are teaching me right!

Get some rest and we'll see what happens...you have a busy day with JD....interesting stuff!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +12.5 66, +13 62

We are continuing to stall. At +13 he went down to 62.....so he's stayed the same....flat kitty.

My thought is at +13.5 as long as he is above 60 I'll shoot a bcs of 3units, maybe 4 units. I don't want to skip and mess his shed up. I don't have the guts to shoot 5 units in the 60's ...yet.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +12.5 66, +13 62

I wouldn't either. I was thinking if he was 78 at +13, that I would only be comfortable with a BCS of 4.5, and that would have only been because he would be rising at that time, but he's not :roll: , so continuing to stall is the right choice.
I have coffee going, and am up.
Let's see that the next test tells us.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61,+13 62, +13.5 53

I guess his shed has a message for me....53 at 13.5.....that's quite a drop and I didn't expect that!

The sound you hear is me eatting my words that I don't want to skip....I think I'm skipping. Thoughts??
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, 13 62, +13.5 53

I'm thinking you're skipping, too :(
I am assuming he has quite a shed built up, but I thought it would have drained from the last skipped shot.
I think Ollie just earned another reduction, for tonight's shot. Please confirm that with others, today.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Go Ollie! Somebody is being sweet and letting his mamabean not have to poke him all morning!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Reduction tonight indeed! Woo hoo! :lol: Down the dosing ladder you go!

What a nice start to the weekend! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, 13 62, +13.5 53

Dyana said:
I'm thinking you're skipping, too :(
I am assuming he has quite a shed built up, but I thought it would have drained from the last skipped shot.
I think Ollie just earned another reduction, for tonight's shot. Please confirm that with others, today.
sounds like a plan to me! :mrgreen:
good luck with the reduction...
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

That's what I thought too Dyana....he must have a huge shed....I've been pumping a lot of insulin in him the past months.

It's seems strange the way this is going. He tends to hit a wall with the large dose and then wants to tumble down. So happy to be here and have the opportunity to reduce him with experience.

Just did another test @ 13.75....52

Ollie gets to eat...he's running to the kitchen.

Good luck at the vet today. We use adequin on our racehorses....expensive but worth it I'm told. Sorry to have kept you from btb :sad: It was my plan too!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Yay...Christie and Jill are here too...just saw your posts....please help me with a dose for tonight.....when you have some time check his spreadsheet around 7/7....I swear he's doing it again!

Ollie has food....I need more ~O) ~O) ~O) .
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Thanks Sandy...we are skipping along! Ollie seems to like high or low...me...I like the middle!

ETA... I meant Angela.....it's the black kitty thing...see it and I think sandy.....need more ~O) but at least I saw it quickly. ;-)
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

What you're seeing isn't at all unusual. For whatever reason, something often just clicks and suddenly it is GO TIME!!!! down the dosing ladder. The key is getting the reductions to hold, which can some times take manipulation of food cycles, feeding choices, etc. Keeping the reductions small (0.25 to 0.5u increments as opposed to the 1u decreases that so many vets seem to recommend) allows the Lantus to maintain a relative level of consistency, which I think really helps, as does our accelerated dosing plan, which prevents kitties bodies from getting too used to higher numbers.

Just got to arm yourself with patience pants and the knowledge that while you may be Ollie's partner in the sugar dance, he's always in the lead! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Wow Patsy - another one of these mornings!! YEAHHHH!!! And - you handled it beautifully!

I haven't had a chance to peak at your ss but will after I go handle my morning dance with Boo this Saturday :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Okay Christie, that sounds good to me. I have never been able to dance :oops: kinda like Elaine in the Jerry Seinfield Show! It is nice to hear it's not too unusual.

Since he is at 5 units...or was...and that was a reduction from 5.25 units that he earned thursday night...his new dose should be 4.75 units or 4.50 units.

Would it help if I get a few test in today...to see where he is without his am shot...that might help decide a good new dose?
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53

Good morning Jessica ~O) ~O)

Hope Boo is being good for you....Ollie is making my hair grey...to match him!

ETA...it was grey already...who am I fooling!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

Ok Jill, I understand. The 4.75 units shot tonight will help refill the shed from today's skip and hopefully be a good dose for a while longer.

If he needs to go lower he'll show me...right?...like he did today. Would you have done anything different today if he were yours and you had the data I have now? Just curious...you have years of experience here so I would love to know your thoughts...if you have time.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

Hi Patsy! Looks like you & Ollie are doing GREAT!! Sometimes it just happens that a kitty's pancreas starts to work & surprises us all! The art of going slow here is what works--Of course every bean thinks their cat will be OTJ in a few months(that's what I thought), but going slowly down the dosing scale is the key!
The slower you go, the more likely the reductions will work.
Ollie is such a beautiful boy! You are getting great guidance & you are managing this so well!
Congrats on the dose crease--Looks like you are doing everything right! Have a great day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

He's doing very, very well!!! With the help of those on here, he'll be fine, and so will you. I, too, need more ~O) .

Blackie's on the downhill ski slope, too. :mrgreen: It was just 2 weeks ago that she was given fat 4.00u, and now she's down to fat 3.50u. 3 more days and it looks like that she'll be reduced another 0.25u. :mrgreen: Talk about patience pants, I'm going to need a ton more where that came from. :lol: It's like Ollie and Blackie have been talking lately behind our backs. :lol:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

Ollie is doing great, wow!

I'm not Jill, but you asked if she would have done anything different. ECID - with a cat on a higher dose, the shed can be pretty big, as you've seen. Sometimes I have skipped shots with Jazzy and seen no effect whatsoever of missing a dose, or maybe the effect shows up a day later. The low dose folks can't usually get away with that as easily. ;-) You can see that on Ollie's spreadsheet after his last missed dose - he was still blue the next morning, but went to yellow that evening. He got back on track soooooo quickly after that, though, that really it didn't hurt him at all to miss a dose. So nope, with your data, I wouldn't have done anything differently.

I think 4.75 is a good plan. Going down the dosing scale as slowly as you can should help him maintain the reductions. He'll let you know if he needs another reduction. But yay!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

Thanks Libby...that's the kind of input I was looking for. I don't want to be a wimp because I'm new to the dance. Ollie is quite the boy. I really have had no hopes of getting him OTJ but maybe he does :lol: I'm committed to helping him live with this disease....I just love him and will do what he needs done.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Just did a +17 and Ollie is 105. Some of this is food spike but he is coming up.

Anything I can do to lessen the impact of the dreaded skipped dose?
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Nope, you just let him be. This patience this is killer, no?? :lol: :lol: :lol: Go out and enjoy this beautiful Saturday knowing you don't have to poke Ollie again until shot time tonight! Whatever the number is, it is. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Since that's the case it might be nap time very soon. I planned on btb but Ollie had his own plan @6am. Overcast and showers and extremely humid here today...good day for the couch.
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61, +13 62, +13.5 53 Skipping dose

Libby and Lucy said:
Ollie is doing great, wow!

I'm not Jill, but you asked if she would have done anything different. ECID - with a cat on a higher dose, the shed can be pretty big, as you've seen. Sometimes I have skipped shots with Jazzy and seen no effect whatsoever of missing a dose, or maybe the effect shows up a day later. The low dose folks can't usually get away with that as easily. ;-) You can see that on Ollie's spreadsheet after his last missed dose - he was still blue the next morning, but went to yellow that evening. He got back on track soooooo quickly after that, though, that really it didn't hurt him at all to miss a dose. So nope, with your data, I wouldn't have done anything differently.

I think 4.75 is a good plan. Going down the dosing scale as slowly as you can should help him maintain the reductions. He'll let you know if he needs another reduction. But yay!
sorry, patsy. i left the house after posting earlier.
libby summed things up quite nicely. ollie's doing great... and so are you!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Wow! I've missed the excitment here!
(connectivity problems)

Like the others have said, with higher dose kitties there can be a lot of shed action when going dowon the dosing ladder.
We experienced phases llike this. We even had to skip 2 doses in a row once, and that was immediatley followed with BCS shots the next 2 cycles!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Thanks Jill and Sandy :-D

Sandy...he must have a huge shed. :shock: I am relieved to hear this is not too out of the ordinary. On the board I guess I've just watched the well behaved ones go down the ladder and they never seem to miss a shot, just earn a reduction and go forward. Ollie and I well....does he really feel the need to go so low he has to skip. I feel like we are not doing anything near normal...huge dose, shot skips...we are the board rouges!!!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

i used to think looking at Gracie's ss while she was still on lantus that it was more like she had a 48 hour cycle. that's probably nonsense, but she did go down and up with great regularity.

looks to me like you did great today, patsy! ollie's not doing too badly at all with a skipped shot. that's pretty good.

sandy likes to say the Big Dosers have a shed the size of Lake Michigan. seems like a pretty appropriate description!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie AMBG 61 +14 52 , +17 105

Way to go Ollie & Patsy!! Congrats on the decrease. I hope he holds ok with the skipped dose but his shed appears to be overflowing. We have done the up up up, now down down down thing as well. Quite the roller coaster ride! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie PMPS @+24 205

Ollie is at 205 for his PMPS which is being given at +24. :smile:

We'll see what happens with the new dose 4.75 units. He slept most of the day and is now grooming after his test, dinner & shot. :smile:

Thanks for all the help and encouragement. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/24 Ollie PMPS @+24 205

For being 24 hours without a shot, an almost-blue 205 is a GREAT number! Even when Willie was on 3 drops of insulin and was non-stop greens, a single missed shot had him in the 300s. If I were you, I'd make sure you were well stocked on strips the next few weeks. Might be a bit of a pokefest!!

Have a great night!
 
Just checked Ollie for +4 and he's 155. Not too bad for a skipped shot...thought it would be higher than PS.

I picked up a package of 100 test strips today so we will be ready to roll. I may try to get a +6 tonight but might not be able to stay awake. Never got a nap in today :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top