9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 pmps 218 +3 152

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235

Looks like a good start of the day for Michael. You may want to get the blue suit pressed and ready.
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 BIG QUESTION?

Big Question?
I use the Relion prime Glucometer.
My vet wants me to do a curve and to use the pet glucometer ( Alpha Trak)
I understand that ther is a Difference of 30-40% between the two meters.
Do I add 30 pts to the #'s that I get with the relion meter or leave as is :?:
I read BJM's info on meters. I just need clarification.
Thanks a bunch :!:
Paula & kitty Michael :smile:
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 BIG QUESTION?

Pleas e look at m's SS.
Michael has been on 1.5u for 14 cycles. I cannot determine if he has bounced and if the bounces have cleared.
(This is so confusing to me.) Most of his #'s have been in the yellows & pinks. he seems to be stuck.
I have had the insulin for almost 6mos. and have kept it refrigerated. (Not cloudy and no floaties), could it be losing it's potency :?:
Any thoughts on dosing :?:
Thanks,
Paula :?
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Thanks, Darin
Has the bounce cleared :?
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

There are a couple possibilities....Michael may be doing some bouncing, yes. Overall, though, it does look to me like he could probably use some more insulin.

6 months is a good amount of time on one vial, too - it is possible that the insulin may be done.

However, I would change one thing at a time...either try a new vial of insulin, or increase his dose. Wait for that change to settle out, and if there is no difference in Michael's numbers, then possibly consider changing the other factor. I hope that makes sense.

Is there a reason your vet wants to run a curve? With you home-testing, there really is no need for a in-offce vet curve. As we know, kitties get stressed at the vet, and the in-office curves are usually not very accurate because of that. Since you test at home, running a curve at the vet's office is an unnecessary expense.
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Is the vet paying for the Alphatrak strips? If no, I'd just use the Prime and tell them it's 30 to 40% lower and let him do the math.
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Thanks for the replies.
The vet wants me to do the curve at home but with the alpha trac meter. She wants me to purchase one for this.
If I tell her I used the relion prime and it is 30-40% lower I'm afraid she will tell me the curve is no good.
I'm not going to tell her what I used. if she asks I will tell I used the relion and that I can't afford the alpha trac.(which I can't)
She wants me to email her the results, so she may not ask.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

It does appear to be clearing/cleared last night's cycle had low 300's and today low 200's
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Paula said:
Thanks for the replies.
The vet wants me to do the curve at home but with the alpha trac meter. She wants me to purchase one for this.
If I tell her I used the relion prime and it is 30-40% lower I'm afraid she will tell me the curve is no good.
I'm not going to tell her what I used. if she asks I will tell I used the relion and that I can't afford the alpha trac.(which I can't)
She wants me to email her the results, so she may not ask.
Paula :smile:

Sounds like a very good plan...the vet wants to make a sale, but it's ridiculous to require you to purchase this very pricey meter when you already have a perfectly good meter!
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Thanks, Darin & Amy
Amy, I agree!
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/24 Michael amps 235 +6 210 BIG QUESTIONS?

Actually, I agree with Wendy that I would give her the numbers on the Relion Prime, tell her they are 30-40% less, and let her convert them. Why should you do all that work? I'd also hand her the protocol which used human glucometers. Just because you don't use an AT to do the curve, doesn't mean it isn't valid.

What I would do, IMHO, is email her his SS. The other thing is, you don't really need to do a curve. We get more info with spot checks than curves. And...if you do a curve and she suggests something different, which she may very well do, that puts you in an uncomfortable situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top