9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48,71,78,114 help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
I am giving her I/D dry--highest carb food in the house

et says no insulin when it's under 150. What should I do now it's at 144?
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

I did indeed shoot. I plan to test her at +3 and +4, I'll be home.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

As some folks say down here: I'm as nervous as a cat in a hen house...... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

I too am following this thread. What do you mean by, "if there is a drop at +2, it might be an "active" cycle?

Judy
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

Hi guys .. well nice shooting for sure! Judy, if they grab a spot check at +2 and if it's lower then amps, it might indicate an active cycle .. meaning fast drops, or steep drops .. "usually" a cat is higher at +1 or +2 because of the food spike from breakfast .. hope that helps! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

Hosanna, please modify your subject line on the first post to (if that 56 was at +3)
9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 help

That way everyone can see what's going on. What have you fed her since the shot? A drop of karo is a good idea.
Liz
 
9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help
I don't know how to edit subject line
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

Give 2 drops of karo and 1 teaspoon of food then retest in 20 minutes.

To edit the subject line, go to the very first original post and click the Edit button. Then you can edit the subject line and click on Submit.
Liz
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144

Martha is fine, as long as you are there to test and give food. Read over the sticky on Handling Low Numbers. It's best if you print it out so you can make notes and have it if the internet goes down. And mostly, be sure to breathe. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Aside from Karo or honey, do you have high carb food (foods that have gravy) in the house? I'm at work and can't stick around.

You want to feed a teaspoon or two of food (either high carb or low carb + a drop or two of Karo/honey/etc.). Then re-test in 20 min. If numbers are still below 50 repeat.

I believe Marje is going to be by to lend you a hand.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Martha just tested again, this time at 48. I searched the house for some high carb canned, and all I have is low carb. I
HATED to feed her that dry after I've weaned her off of it. She was like a crazy thing wolfing it down, she's such a dry food addict.
What would be the best high carb canned food to have on hand? I will go out THIS VERY DAY and buy it.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Ok.....deep, slow breaths. She is fine!! It's ok. I know the first time this low is scary.

Tell me, please, what you've given her most recently and how long ago was it?

We want to feed a tsp or so of HC or....LC with karo or honey (a drop) if you don't have HC. Then retest. I'll be here, ok?
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Hosanna said:
I tested her at 11:10, got 56
retested her at 11:35, got 48
then fed her 1/2 cup of dry I/D food

I grabbed this from another condo you started. We need to keep everything on this one, ok? :-D

First, let's talk in terms of hours since shot, not your local time because we are all on different time zones.

Do you have any syrup in the house? That is better to use with her regular food than dry food.

When we are controlling low numbers, you don't want to use dry food. It takes a long time to kick in and then her numbers will skyrocket. Even giving vanilla ice cream is better than giving dry.

How long since you got the 48? Are you at +4 yet? If so, please test and post.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

I tested her at 11:10, got 56
retested her at 11:35, got 48
then fed her 1/2 cup of dry I/D food----ugh!
Just tested again, it is now 71-----
wondering what effect that 1/2 cup of dry food will have ?
I'm breathing..........Marje
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

It's going to send her up pretty high. Even a few kibbles will do it.

I'm glad you are breathing. Now that she's up a bit, I'd like you to please take just a few minutes to read back through the condo for anything you might have missed, ok?

Then let's get another test in 30 minutes....I bet she'll be way up but let's just be sure.

So just to confirm...the only thing you gave her to eat today is dry food? You did not give her any karo, syrup, honey, right? I just want to make sure because these wear off quickly. The dry food will not.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Sorry about that new post I started.....I hit the wrong button.
No she has only had dry food. No syrup or honey.
I flat panicked.
Will read back through the thread now.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

here's a list of canned foods that it would be good to stash. I write the carb values on the top of the can with a sharpie so I can reference them quickly.
I list friskies because they are the easiest to find almost everywhere.....

19% Friskies Prime Filets chicken and tuna in gravy
16% Friskies Prime Filets with chicken in gravy
13% Friskies sliced chicken dinner in gravy
12% Friskies Shredded Turkey and Cheese dinner in gravy
12% Friskies Carved Chicken and tuna dinner in gravy
8% Friskies Mixed grill
7% Friskies Poultry Platter
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

I know that panicked feeling, I just had it this morning with Zener! :lol: :lol: You are doing great, Hosanna, testing is a big deal. The good news is that Martha gets a reduced dose tonight. Yay! :-D Marje will confirm what it should be.
Liz
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

It's ok....it's scary the first time. You did fine...you are just worried about your girl. You will know nest time...and there will be one...to breathe and feed some food.

I think it's a good idea to print the "handling low numbers" link that Liz posted in this condo. It will help you next time.

Also...Dr. Lisa has updated the food charts so you can look at them and get some MC and HC foods to have around. Ni suggest some of the HC foods with gravy like the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers.

Are you ok now and is Martha? She acting ok?
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

Okay, it is now at 78. That’s 7 points rise in half an hour. I think she's going to be okay.
I don't know about testing her again because she tried to bite me this time. She says she's had enough testing.
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

I'd give her an hour but be sure you test then.

A couple of follow up points.

1. We recommend that you get a +2 for every cycle....this will tell you which way she might be headed. If her +2 is much less than her PS, you can expect a drop early on and a more than normally active cycle.

2. When you get a low number like today, you should get a +1 so you aren't surprised with a low number later on. It's good to be proactive...you can often manage the curve just with her normal food.

Questions? I'm glad all is ok. It's a learning process and that's why we are here. :-D
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

You're doing great! Pretty much everyone panics the first time they see a number below 50. What that number means is that Martha gets her Lantus dose reduced to 1.25u.

What I also want you to consider is that we follow a dosing protocol that has published research to support it's use and it's safety. With that protocol, in order to reduce the dose, your cat's BG numbers need to drop below 50. If this wasn't safe, the research would never have been approved nor would it have been published. It's also why I've been such a nag about testing.

When you have a chance, you may want to put the additional test numbers and times in their respective cells on your spreadsheet. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see one way to do this. (You will need to color the cell manually.)
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

One other favor to ask please is if you can delete the other condo...just open it and click on the x to delete it then respond yes that you want to delete it.

And lastly, could you p,ease update your subject line in this condo to show her most recent BG test and to rem
I've the "help". Thanks very much!
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 114 help

Gabby's SS is absolutely beautiful. How do you get it into those sections? I got some kind of notice that mine is getting too long and I have to do something with it. I could not get the numbers to do right.
Martha seems okay, she absolutely hated me for awhile for all the testing. Hissing and growling at me and trying to bite me. She is grooming now but won't eat. That little bit of dry food this morning has her spoiled all over again.
Thank you all for all your help!
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

((Hosanna))

Yes, the dry food can take a while to clear out of her system. But as Marje and Sienne have reassured you, it's normal and understandable to panic at the first low number. Next time, equipped with the Low-Numbers-Sticky and the knowledge you gained today, you will know better, and react less drastically.

Take the time to read over this thread, ok, with the Sticky nest to you to compare, so that you are sure to understand where you can be more careful next time. So many of us have reacted the way you did, and you really need not feel bad. We all learn from it, and move on.

If you have any questions about how things went today, just please post them so we can try to give you answers.

I'm sorry Martha got so annoyed with you! Underneath it all, I'm sure she knows you do what you do to help her :smile:

Hang in there! This was a good learning experience!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/24 MARTHA amps 144;+3 56 +3.5 48 help

I'm using the same SS template as everyone else. The text should wrap around in each of the cells. If you want to enter a 2nd line in a cell (and you're using a PC vs. a Mac), you hit Ctrl-Enter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top