9/24 Kitty Cat AMPS 371 PMPS 277 Dosing advice?

Christina & Kitty Cat

Active Member
9/23 thread , History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit after new seafood flavor
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, fed MC, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u
  • 9/24 8 cycles at 0.75u by end of today
Yet another day in the pinks. Aside from that, ketones are still neg, poop is normal, he's been drinking more at the fountain. He's also eating like an ABSOLUTE MONSTER today! Which I guess is good to put on more weight, I'm just paranoid about him throwing up. Hope these numbers come down soon so I don't feel so confused.
 
I'm making a catio outside the window where my air conditioner goes. Just need to add some window screening to keep him in and keep the bugs out. Kitty Cat used to be indoor/outdoor but stopped going outside around 2 years ago after he got attacked by something. I thought by having him indoors he'd be safe from any harm, but then diabetes came and said NOPE! Hope this little cat patio brings him joy while the weather is still nice.
 

Attachments

  • catio.jpg
    catio.jpg
    68.5 KB · Views: 89
I’m glad he’s feeling better. I’d consider increasing tomorrow morning unless things change tonight. See what others say.
Yes, I'm thinking that too. He got the 0.5u reduction on 9/18 but the days prior to that he was still high 300s, 400s. It happened to be the day after the vet so I wonder if they gave him something that caused him to go lower than usual which prompted the reduction. I'll see how it goes tonight and post back here for dosing advice. I assume if he continues to have nadir over 300, I can increase by 0.25u to bring it up to 1u.
 
I'm making a catio outside the window where my air conditioner goes. Just need to add some window screening to keep him in and keep the bugs out. Kitty Cat used to be indoor/outdoor but stopped going outside around 2 years ago after he got attacked by something. I thought by having him indoors he'd be safe from any harm, but then diabetes came and said NOPE! Hope this little cat patio brings him joy while the weather is still nice.
What a lucky cat!! This catio is awesome.
 
Kitty Cat has already eaten 3.5 can FF LC today and it's only AM+7.5 (5:30pm here). Is there any downside to him eating too much? I know with the pancreatitis I need to space out his meals into smaller portions but now he's just eating a full portion every time.
 
Kitty Cat has already eaten 3.5 can FF LC today and it's only AM+7.5 (5:30pm here). Is there any downside to him eating too much? I know with the pancreatitis I need to space out his meals into smaller portions but now he's just eating a full portion every time.
Hi Christina! You may want to edit your title to be your question and throw up the ? from the drop-down - this helps get more eyes on your question.

FWIW, that sounds like a lot of food but when numbers are high cats can't absorb the nutrients they need so they eat more...I'm not sure as to any advice to give you so I would do the updated title and ? so someone experienced can weigh in.
 
Hi Christina! You may want to edit your title to be your question and throw up the ? from the drop-down - this helps get more eyes on your question.

FWIW, that sounds like a lot of food but when numbers are high cats can't absorb the nutrients they need so they eat more...I'm not sure as to any advice to give you so I would do the updated title and ? so someone experienced can weigh in.
Thank you, just updated! That makes sense that they would have difficulty absorbing nutrients. It's just want to make sure I'm not missing something. (Before he got diagnosed, I thought him suddenly drinking a ton of water was a good thing!) He went from hardly any appetite, to puke fest, and now suddenly eating like crazy. I picked up some more ondansetron but haven't given it to him yet because I'm not sure if he needs it or not?
 
Back
Top