9/24 Kitty Boo AMPS 371 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Usually they drop the lowest between +6 to next preshot on Lev. But I've found with my kids I need to stay with them and watch them close if they are already dropping at +3, since they normally should be rising until +5 ish

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Funny you should ask, because I'm actually still awake to answer because I'm in that situation with Autumn right now. Usually with my cats on Lev if they are starting to drop already when I do my normal +3 lights out test, I'm in for a long night of testing and steering. However especially Autumn nadirs very late so she is her lowest at about her next preshot or on her preshot. And right now because he's just starting back on we aren't sure where his nadir is but I suspect looking at his spreadsheet he's much like Autumn with a nadir almost on top of his preshot. So you're basically shooting his preshot number and he should be rising until right around +6 ish. I didn't take a real good look as I'm about to need to go poke a kitty here shortly. But wanted to get you a fairly quick answer.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
This morning he was 45 pre shot. Didn't drop lower, but he ate well and shot only a drop...because I don't want him in the 300's...gave him a little more food...so I will see where he levels today.

Emma
 
just read all your posts, I see you have great coaches already!! Just wanted to see how your kittyboo is doing this morning (night for me in Ukraine, already).

I think I read all the posts, but wanted to mentioned that as you can see from your ss, on Sept. 16, you made a curve with Lev for the first time. Lev is more like flat numbers instead of a proper curve. And nadir can vary a lot from cat to cat, but more important is to have couple more tests between +6 and pspm. It sounds super scary, it certainly was for me, but since Lev is more flat, I learned to shot on a low ps number, since I knew my cat will not get much lower than that, and I was ready to fed him in case I saw a big drop at +2.

When I switched to Lev, somebody also explain me that Lantus (our previous insulin) depot was emptying and Lev depot needed to be filled. I hope those 3 days with no insulin helped to clear the leftovers and you can start from 0.

Bruno was also on 1 drop and tiny more (shooting on the 0 line of the syringe) it seems like nothing but sometimes they do need it, you see what happens when you skip. I know it sounds mission impossible, but maybe instead of skip you can shot half a drop somehow? Not even sure if that's possible.

Good luck for kitty boo and you Emma, be patience. I hope Lev will do its magic for you two. ;-)
 
thank you Ann, yes I shot at the 45 this morning and fed him...I then also feed him again at+3 and I will test him again at +6 to see how he is doing.
 
Ok...Could someone review today's numbers? He is at 74 right now and it is 2 hours till food/shot...I moved him back to the original 10 & 10 because of football...instead of the 8 and 8. So here at 8:00 which is +10 he is 74. He was 45 this morning and this time I gave him a shot..and food, and then at +6 1/2 he was 108 at +3 I fed him more...because of the low number of 45 and giving him a shot.

Please review.

Emma
 
Generally, getting anything below 50 mg/dL earns a reduction, but you're already down to 1 drop.
You've seen that no insulin results in higher numbers. You might try shooting once a day.

You'll recall I mentioned chasing the numbers. This means waiting until the glucose has gotten high enough to shoot. That is one option.

Another option is to very, very slightly increase the carb content so you can get shootable numbers. You might do this by mixing 1-2 teaspoons of medium carb food with the low carb food, then portioning out the amount you feed.

A third option is to switch to a non-depot, U-40 insulin such as ProZinc or BCP PZI. With a U-40 concentration, it becomes easier to give very tiny doses.
 
thank you BJ, but I think feeding him more has helped. It is only at night that he may drop because I am not awake to feed him during the night. But if I feed more during the day to see if his numbers are higher at night like last night..he was 45 this morning. I will see here in half an hour what his numbers are..

Emma
 
His PMPS was 258 and it was because I fed him at +10 so it hadn't been 2 hours since he had eaten..but he ate more and I gave him his drop...will see what the AMPS are.

Thanks.
 
108 after feeding is a very good number!!! feeding small amounts is a good call to make the curve more flat.

BJM mentioned the SID, shooting once a day. I did that for around 10 days because my working schedule was crazy. Bruno was also on 0.1u. This helped him to start working more on his own and now we are on OTJ trial (only for 2 days).

I think that with so little insulin, it might be worth it to try SID. I did it every morning at the same shot time than before, it was hard to resist and not shot, the days I was home at pm shot time, because his numbers could go a little bit higher, but within normal range, even 150. But you should hold your shot and let him try to work on his own.
 
This morning he had another below 50 reading, fed then shot...later it was 74 and then +9 was a little above 150...

Will post at his 12

Emma
 
I was nervous too, but he would go up really high if I didn't..and the two times I have done it he has been ok as I feed him right then. I wish he would stay more on an even keel, but at least he isn't bouncing. when he is lower I feed him like 1/2 can and also give him some more at +6 and he seems to be doing ok. It is just the long night that he goes lower in the morning because of not having food during the night. I think tonight I will skip the dose and see what his mornings are without the shot? Then maybe he will just get shots in the AM for his eating during the day???

Emma
 
Can you feed him more at night? Or maybe feed him something just a bit higher in carb level? Maybe the Friskies Mixed Grill @ 11% calories from carbohydrate?
 
He wasn't still down..he went up to 302 again not as high as the other bounce...guess I should have fed him about an hour earlier instead of trying to wait for the +12 to do the pre shot. So I went ahead and gave him the regular dose, as he wont be low in the morning...but he will be back down by tomorrow night...his recovery is faster too...he gets back into the green..so tomorrow when he is down in the 113 to 130 range I will do shot and feed him mixed grill and see how his AM is...???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top