9/24 Kitty Boo AMPS 371 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

OK, I've looked at the spreadsheet.

An important note about Levemir - the nadir may be later than +5 to +7. It can even happen at pre-shot. You might want to check a +9.

With the tiny dose you are giving, I'm wondering if a day or two off of the Levemir might let us see just how much he needs insulin. he may be bouncing because he doesn't need it. Its an idea; it could be wrong.

Have you been testing the urine for ketones and/or glucose?

And the 49 yesterday morning provoked the high numbers today; there's your bounce.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

It may be helpful to learn drop dosing.

Drop method of dosing:
Practice by filling the syringe to the first non-zero mark using an easily visible liquid, such as coffee. Carefully squeeze out equal sized drops - you may find twisting the plunger helps - and repeat until you can get the same number of equal sized drops each time. Now, when you dose the insulin, you can discharge drops (into the sink) from the dose, based on your cat's response.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

No, have never checked the urine. No one has advised that. Even when he was extremely high the Vet checked him for ketones and he didn't have any. I have the ketone strips, but never tested him.

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

It doesn't look likely for ketones, however it is good to check when you see high numbers. Ketones form as a by-product of fat breakdown for calories. Too ,maney ketones may indicate diabetic ketoacidosis, a potentially fatal, expensive to treat, complication of diabetes.

See my signature link Secondary monitoring Tools for some tips on testing urine, as well as some other assessments you may wish to make to evaluate your cat.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Don't shoot unless he goes above 300 and then just a drop. Just what the plunger will draw in when it flexes back into place. But you might be looking at an OTJ trial really soon. Lev can be shot on an as need basis.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

BJM you came to my house and met Kitty Boo. He is active and doing OK..it is just I get him down and don't know what to do..if I don't shoot him he continues to rise (Blood sugars) and if I shoot he bounces...and sometimes I don't shoot and he bounces..I am down to do on a smidgen....I call it .15 as it is only a small amount..but now he is staying up.

Emma

Just don't know of a schedule for him...if I feed him every 6 hours, he BS goes up..if I feed him every 12 it goes down but bounces..

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

I think part of the erratic numbers is because he may not need insulin, or not need much. You've made the changes to his diet and he has had insulin long enough that he's getting ready to go off the juice.

Mel just suggested above giving only a drop when he is over 300. You just "chase the numbers". That means that you wait until he's over 300, then give a drop.

Will he graze or does he eat it all at once? If he eats all at once, a timed feeder may work, like the Pet Safe 5 (its on Amazon - then price match at PetSmart).
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Emma

Look at Autumn's spreadsheet I'm going through the same thing with her. You've gotta stop the swing to see where the dose truly is better. Its much easier to raise a dose if not enough than chase a bouncing ball down the scale. You need flat right now even if that's higher and flat.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

So what do I do? I can't get flat..I have reduced and reduced and reduced...from 1.5 units to 1 unit to .75, to .5 then .25 and now just a smidgen.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

I think Mel is saying:

If Kitty B00 is 300 or higher, shoot 1 drop.
If not, wait.
Test again 12 hours later


Nope. She's saying to give it a break for a couple of days.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

You hide your syringes and STOP shooting for a few days. Give the Lev a chance to clear his system he could be bouncing off the insulin itself. If he flat lines even in the reds just let him go flat. As long as he's testing negative for ketones just test him but withhold insulin.

In fact now that Autumn is back to blues that's exactly what I'm doing with her. Tapping her down if she goes above 250 but otherwise leave her alone and give her pancreas a chance to show me what it can do on its own.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Ok..stop shooting but still test...watch for ketones if he goes high...but how long do I wait?

3 days, 4 days?? how long?
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Give him a good 3 days off let him clear the insulin out of his system. Shoot only if he goes over 300 to start until we know how low a drop takes him and to help clear the bounce

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Glad you found your way back here and into excellent hands. :thumbup

If you want to keep this same post tomorrow, you can change the subject to the current date and maybe something like "Dosing Questions" and keep posting on this same thread if that makes things easier for you. Then, if you have a change in topics or questions or if this thread gets overly long, you can just start a new one.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Ok let me get this straight...I shot a smidgen tonight..he was 382. As long as he is up there do I keep the smidgen? I am confused.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

For 3 full days, give no insulin.
Test at AM and PM (AMBG and PMBG) and when possible, about 2 hours after fresh food is put down. (likely food spike)
Test for urine ketones (KetoStix, KetoDiaStix, or generic); if ketones, give 1 drop of Levemir
- Just what the plunger will draw in when it flexes back into place.
Feed mini-meals or allow Kitty Boo to graze.

Evaluate how the glucose is after 3 days.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Ditto what BJM said. Tonight was fine because he's high enough but tomorrow especially if he's low stop shooting for 3 days. Don't worry if he goes even really high as long as he stays ketone free.

If you're unsure post here first we'll walk you through.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Kitty Boo won't graze..he grubs. He will eat what I give him and even eat what Pumpkin will leave or he roots Pumpkin out and finished his if I don't watch him while he eats. Are you saying keep wet food down for him all day? Let him eat as much or as often as he wants and just monitor his blood sugar? With given nothing for 3 days and watch for ketones? Do I have that right?
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

You can feed him in mini-meals - half at test time, half about 4 hours later.
No insulin; check for ketones.
For 3 days.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...3/20 continue dosing problems

Ok so this morning he was 331 and +6 1/2 he was 370. This is with no insulin. I am still using the same schedule for testing and eating. Since he likes that schedule and he comes to me and tells me it is time for testing and eating..LOL. But he is in the 300's.

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Give it time to settle down and clear out the Lev.
He may be bouncing because he didn't need the insulin you gave last.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

I am doing as you say, but I know he isn't bouncing. This is his regular highs...in the 300's. I was stuck in the 300's for a long time when we were doing Lantus in small doses.
 
9/21 Kitty Boo test 374 please review..he is drinking water

Kitty Boo is now drinking water and peeing excessively. His pee is strong, but no ketones yet. But, he is sleeping and lethargic.

His morning blood sugar was 374.

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

I know how tough this is for you, Emma! Especially since I know how bad you want to bring those numbers down. Just a little longer. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Yes, it is difficult. I love my Kitty Boo very much and it pains me to see him not feeling well...But I have my patient pants on...being patient.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Hi Emma
hope your baby comes down soon and feels better. I know how hard it is when they are sick . It breaks your heart.
hang in there. Sending healing your way.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
9/22/ Kitty Boo down to 294

This morning he is finally below 300! Only 294 but better than the high 300's...so continue no insulin?

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

OK, great. Based on your previous tiny doses, plus what Mel suggested, I think that doing drops, plus chasing numbers is where you might go.

You might try Mel's trick - press the plunger down firmly, insert in insulin container, and release the plunger. This will draw up a tiny bit of insulin. If it is as low as you 0.15 doses, or lower, we'll see how that works.

Or, you might dry drop dosing as I explained previously.

Then, test around nadir to see how low he goes on just a tiny bit of Lev.

We'll plan more after that.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

So when do you want me to start this...tomorrow morning? If I do it at the feeding tonight, then I won't be testing until feeding time in the morning, as if I get up early to test him..he is wanting his food right then...LOL
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Since you won't be able to monitor tonight, I think tomorrow morning would be the best option. :-D
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Starting in the am should be OK.

I've sent you a pm.
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

He was 301 did a drop and this afternoon he was 273...Which means he ate and also saw a drop of 28 points.

Good drop for just a drop of insulin..

Emma
 
Re: 9/19 Kitty Boo PMPS 382...

Not bad at all. It's going to take about 5-7 days before we really see how this drop is working since we emptied the depot, but I'm liking the numbers so far. :thumbup
 
Stick with it. Remember, depot insulins build up in the body over 5 to 7 days when you're starting over.
 
Nice drop for just starting back on insulin and its an easy drop so shouldn't <anti-jinx> start him swinging again. That is exactly what we want to see a nice easy slide down and hopefully a nice easy slide back up at preshot.

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
I was afraid to shoot with him being at the low hundreds and it was at night and I knew I could not stay awake all night to watch him..is that bad of me?
 
Not bad of you at all; completely reasonable, since you're restarting him.

Are you interested in learning to shoot at lower numbers? It is possible to give insulin when the pre-shot is below 150 mg/dL if there is mid-cycle test data to show it is safe.

The trade off is being quite vigilent in checking for low numbers and being ready to intervene with higher carb foods to steer the numbers and keep them safely above 50 mg/dL.

You would do this by slowly lowering your no shoot number a little at a time. Doing this gradually might reduce the wide swinging and get him down to more sustained lower glucose levels.
 
No its not bad, always better to err on the side of caution. It just explains the high morning preshot number is all.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Tonight his PMPS is 131..tonight I did do a drop...I will be able to watch him tonight.

What hours are the most dangerous? He is eating now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top