Re: 9/24 Kismet AMPS 68, +1 83 - Skipped Dose
Courtney
Back from looking at Kismet's SS. Thanks for getting that up so quickly and sorry I missed you last night. I'm glad you skipped this morning...and last night. That was the safe thing to do.
First...welcome to Lantus Land. We are a close-knit group and, as you have already seen, everyone is very generous with their time and willing to help.
Second...I don't think we're quite at an OTJ trial yet. He might get there quickly but we don't "usually" stop giving insulin at 2u with just a few green cycles under the belt. I'm not saying he won't surprise us but I think
we need to take it a step at a time and see what he does in the next few cycles.
In order to understand why I say that, you have to understand how lantus and levemir work. They are long-duration, depot insulins. Unlike ProZinc where the insulin goes in, the cat uses the insulin, and then the insulin is gone until the next shot, the "L" insulins have a cumulative effect so one shot builds upon the preceding one. When you give a shot of lantus, it forms a precipitate in the subcutaneous fat and then slow releases. This is the depot action. When you start using these insulins, it usually takes about six cycles (every cat is different...ECID) for the shots you are giving to fill the depot and then the cat starts to use the shots you give. When the depot gets overly full, numbers come down like you've seen the last two cycles. This informative post on
Lantus and Levemir Insulin Depot will provide more info.
So when we are looking at low numbers, we have to consider that they are affected by the higher dose....in Kismet's case, 2u. So we know that 2u is too much for him. Normally, we would decrease the dose by .25u but I think even 1.75u might be too much for him.
I think the best course of action for now is for you to test him as soon as you get home and post his number. We'd also like to see a number about an hour before you normally shoot which would be +35 since it will have been that long since you last shot. If he's still running in green, we might step the dose way back to 1u or we may choose to have you not shoot for six cycles to drain his depot and see what he does on his own. So it will be important to see what he does today. He is slowly coming up and I do stress slowly....normally when cats get in those low numbers, they bounce back up. Paws crossed!
In the meantime, if you could let us know....was he on dry food or did the vet have any indication what caused his diabetes? Steroids? Illness? Bad teeth?
Thank you! And just post later with his updated numbers. Be sure you put in the subject line "Need dose advice" so we'll see it.
ETA: I just read the Health condo.....so he was on dry food AND steroids!! Good move to get him off both. Let's hope a little bit of insulin plus the diet change and taking away the steroids will get him into remission quickly.